We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #26 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,693 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed one night this week. Very close to SAN airport but not really in the flight path. There are a few places around to walk to but most places require a car. The hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable. The lobby / restaurant was still the "old" model but I did not eat there. Good bar that was busy with NCAA watchers. The place was full, but when I checked in (as a Platinum) they had a great room for me even though it was nearly 10pm.

Room Tip: 4th floor is tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us. As a platinum member, I’m sure you’ve been to quite a few hotels, so we appreciate you coming to ours while you were in town. I’m happy to hear we were able to provide a great room so late at night, and that it was clean and comfortable. Come back soon to say ‘hi’ to Jim in the bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    333
    65
    23
    7
See reviews for
402
282
61
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Liberty Station area of San Diego is a BRAC'd Navy training area. Close by to Harbor and Shelter Islands and 5 minutes from the airport. Staff as friendly and helpful. One of the better Courtyards I've been in, and that's saying something, since IMO Courtyards are a model of reasonably priced consistent quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ks_h9308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and for the great review! I’m glad that you noticed our level of quality and service. To put your observation into perspective, we are in the top 10% of all Courtyard’s (and that’s out of 900 hotels)! Hopefully the next time you come back we’ll be in the top 5%!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our family chose the Courtyard for our 3 nights in the San Diego area, following stays in LA and Anaheim.

This hotel and its location are family friendly, and a good central location for seeing San Diego (for us--driving to Old Town, Balboa Park, Pacific Beach). In the evenings, we walked through Liberty Station and along the Esplanade bordering the canal. Great restaurants and shops were in walking distance for what we needed. Our children enjoyed the playground just steps from the hotel, and we used the pool even after our days at the beach. The hotel is in a very inviting, safe area.

The restaurant staff at breakfast and housekeeping staff were notably pleasant and helpful. We would certainly stay here again on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Water view rooms have a nice balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicococure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for bringing your family to our hotel as part of your Southern California trip! I’m happy to hear you were able to see so many of San Diego’s best spots, including Liberty Station and the playground next to the hotel! It’s so nice to be able to walk around outdoors and be in the pool in March! We are definitely fortunate to be located in such a great city. Next time you are in the area, come back and be a Liberty Station local!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks and it was amazing. The location was great. Rick Brown, the GM, Jaci and all of their staff were the best. A special thanks to Sandy, the friendliest shuttle driver ever, Jim, best bartender ever, to Lisa B for making my birthday so special, and Suzie in the Deli who started our day out right, every day! We will be returning next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to mention so many on our team! We truly appreciate your kind words, which we have shared with the entire team to thank them for their hard work. Come back and enjoy one of Jim’s famous margaritas soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have to agree with the other reviewers. This hotel was great. Seems to be fairly new and everything was neat and clean. The room was very nice with comfortable bedding. Bathroom was nice as well. Couldn't ask for anything more. The grounds were pretty with outside patios, a pool, and a view of the ocean. There was a wonderful waterfront park to walk along. The Liberty Station area is very nice with numerous shops and restaurants. Most were within walking distance. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! It means even more coming from someone that has reviewed over 60 hotels! We appreciate your comments regarding the clean rooms, which we have passed along to the housekeeping team to reassure them their hard work does not go unnoticed. Thank you again, and should you be in the San Diego area in the future, we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 weeks. Chelsea Carone was very professional and has exceptional customer service. Chelsea was very accomodating and made sure we had a great 5 weeks. All of the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very updated and clean. There is alot to do with the pool, outside seated area with firepit, a restaurant, bar area, cafe, and workout area. There are beautiful, extensive grounds (miles) to walk surrounded by water and palm trees. Beautiful place to walk, run, ride a bike, scooter, roller blade, etc. Lots of activities all around - people exercising, playing socceer, ball, etc. Hotel is very close to restaurants, grocery stores, etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn_h_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you! What a great review of our Sales Manager, Chelsea! I have shared your comments with the team to celebrate. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed everything from the room to the grounds and local area. After staying for 5 weeks, I’m sure you became very familiar with the property! Thank you again. Come see us (and Chelsea!) sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The Marriott is a very nice hotel. The room was large, nicely decorated & had a nice view. I enjoyed the infused ice water available in the entryway. They have several options for food & drinks within the hotel. I had the Chef Special & the risotto was yummy! I walked the extensive waterside grounds. The only downside was although their pool is lovely, it gets shaded by the building in the afternoon. (A little cold on not-so-warm days)

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank proctor992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the risotto; it’s one of our newer items! Come back and see us in the summer when the weather warms back up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.5 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#124 of 279 in San Diego
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
1.1 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 279 in San Diego
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing