We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #23 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Came to San Diego on a very quick business trip and the hotel was picked by my colleague. I didn't expect much because it was located so close to the airport, but wow, what a nice find. It's situated on the back side of a shopping center type of area with some good restaurants across the parking lot and nearby, but the best part is the walking trails and canal behind the hotel. Absolutely gorgeous and you can literally walk over to the harbor and see the incredible display of boats docked up. The airport wasn't even that noticeable quite honestly.

Rooms all have a balcony, mine was overlooking the pool and canal area from the fourth floor. Very clean room with plenty of space to spread out. Desk had a nice quad outlet setup right on top of the desk making it very easy to plug in the laptop and other electronics. Very comfortable bed, plenty of hot water in the shower and extremely pleasant front desk staff made this a very nice, albeit brief stay at the Courtyard.

They have a full restaurant and bar in the lobby and the only weird thing is that the lunch / snack bar area that serves coffee shuts down at 1 or 2pm. Would have figured they would keep the coffee bar running till at least the time the main bar opens. But that's the only quibble.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again when I return to San Diego, especially if I'm coming in for business again. Extremely close to all things Navy as we saw a lot of midshipmen in the various restaurants. This is a former Naval training center, so it makes sense.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor overlooking the pool / canal if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biscardicreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for mentioning the lack of noise from the airport! That is a common question, so it is nice for everyone to hear this response from another guest. It sounds like you were upgraded to a premium room, with a balcony & facing the water! We love to treat our guests whenever we have the chance. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel was very clean. Front desk personnel were very helpful and gave excellent dining and entertainment advise. Hotel has a breakfast buffet worth waking up for each morning for a great price. Shuttle bus available to take you to most local areas if they are not making free shuttle service to and from airport . I would stay here again .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennamrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for mentioning how clean the hotel is - our housekeeping staff work very hard to make it so and will appreciate that you noticed. Glad we were able to start your day off with a great breakfast and that the rest of the staff were so helpful. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here 5 nights on a business trip. This is a relatively new property, so everything works and is clean. I was concerned about noise due to the flight path of commercial planes. However, I never heard them! It is within walking distance of at least 5 restaurants, which was nice. Be aware that the hotel restaurant prices are quite high (e.g., $11.95 for continental breakfast). There is also a park adjacent to the hotel with walking and open spaces.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank -_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for mentioning the lack of noise from the airport! That is a question we receive often, so it is great to hear how our guests feel, firsthand. The restaurants within walking distance are very convenient for guests looking to try local San Diego food, with the well-known Stone Brewery being within 1-2 mile walk! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trip. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful location on the water, with fairly nice rooms to end off your day. We were close to the airport, Sea World, and Balboa Park. The staff was by far the best we have encountered in quite some time. Friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. Our room was well kept and always restocked properly which doesn't always happen when you stay several days at a time. While on our ten day vacation in California, this was by far our most favorite hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notmould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for staying at our waterfront hotel! We agree that our location is convenient to many of San Diego’s attractions; including Seaworld, Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, the airport, and many beautiful beaches. Thank you for the great review, and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arrived and checked in with no problems. Customer service was great, while we were unloading our vehicle one of the employees actually offered to help us before he was on shift I thought that was awesome. The lobby and rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. We also sat in the bar area a few nights and Jim's margaritas were awesome. We had the buffet breakfast one of the days we stayed and it was good as well. Overall I had a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdiaz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in San Diego! We always try to go above and beyond with our customer service to provide relaxing vacations. You’re right that Jim’s “famous” margaritas are fantastic, and always made with the freshest limes! Please feel free to give us a call next time you’ll be in town and our front desk staff can personally set up your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was fantastic. We had a large Army event being held at this hotel and I'm very glad I decided to stay in the hotel instead of on post nearby. It is in a wonderful location that includes many popular running routes nearby. The Libety Station area is gorgeous and had good history you can see while you run by. The hotel itself was very nice and I will certainly be staying here during my next San Diego visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeStanphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are honored to have had the Ball held at our hotel! It is such a relief to be able to have an event here, and then just head up the elevator to your room. The options for exercising outdoors are endless here in Liberty Station, and with the beautiful waterfront path, exercising becomes a treat instead of a chore. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This Courtyard offered nice rooms and several special touches. Upon entering the hotel, just past check-in is two containers with flavored water (fruit and cucumber).

Free parking!!!

For dining options there is two options:
- there is a full buffet breakfast with drinks included in the price...made to order omelets, waffles, pancakes, eggs. Buffet line has eggs, meats, potatoes, bread, fruit, etc. A good value. at 12 or 13 dollars. Also, a Starbucks has coffee options with a few breakfast-to-go items.

Had the opportunity to eat dinner here the day of our late arrival...was actually very good at a reasonable cost. Jim, their "famous bartender" was a pleasant fellow who they keep rather busy and he does a nice job of keeping the guests supplied with drinks and food items.

The hotel is located conveniently to downtown, Gaslamp District, U.S.S. Midway, and all things San Diego. If you are into breweries...the well known Stone Brewery (not the original location, but the Liberty Station site) is within walking distance or a very short walk. Several dining options at Liberty station as well.

The room was well afforded and clean. They provide Paul Mitchell toiletries and Keurig coffee. A small refrigerator also is in the room. large bottles of water are available in the room for 3.50 each as well.

They only semi negative comments that could be made:
- requested a king room and recieved 2 queens instead. Was given a room by the pool that can be a little noisy with normal pool use and activities. Our patio backed right up to pool chairs. There was not any noise late but if you are an early to bed person you might want to avoid this location as guests will take advantage of the pool.
- the Starbucks had only one young man running the show in the morning. Although he was capable he is only able to wait on one person at a time and the line can start backing up.
- the bar area can get busy as well and on the night we enjoyed dinner the bartender had to wear many hats. Jim was the solo person manning the bar, the bar dining area, bringing drinks to the outside area, and fixing TV's in another section. He handled himself well and with a smile, but the one person "helping" him with food delivery was not a real go getter.
- house keeping seemed a little stingy with the Paul Mitchell hair products. While I am darn near bald, my wife has long hair and could go through the hotel size bottle of shampoo each day. Had to write a note for more product and to replenish the water bottles available for purchase. I am accustomed to tipping the housekeepers but stopped when the normal toilitries were not provided and instead resorted to the note process.
- although others have said there is NO noise from the close airport...we would have to disagree. You will periodically here jet noise. This never woke us up or disturbed us in anyway...usually noticed it when getting ready in the morning. But just wanted to let you know that there is SOME jet noise, not soundproof.

In conclusion, we would stay here again if ever in the San Diego area with no reservations

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your thorough review! We love to put forth the extra effort and do touches like infused water for our guests. And yes, we have free parking- a rare added value for a hotel in San Diego! We always strive to give every single guest the award winning customer service that Marriott Hotels are famous for. From Housekeeping to your room location, if for whatever reason your room is not what you expected, please let the front desk know, and we will make it right. We hope you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Motel
#37 of 278 in San Diego
1,117 reviews
The Pearl Hotel
#48 of 278 in San Diego
979 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £115 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing