We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Primo Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #26 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Beautiful waterfront location with excellent rooms and service. Very nice patio to enjoy morning coffee and watch the world go by. Our room was spacious with a nice view -ask for waterfront room (and try to get a balcony). Close to Liberty Station shops and restaurants and a fifteen minute drive to the San Diego waterfront. And yes, Jim is quite the mixologist.

Room Tip: Select a room with a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello, and thanks for the nice review

Thanks for recognizing our fabulous location and service. I could feel that you were able to relax and enjoy the calm environment we are fortunate to have.

Also, thanks for mentioning Jim, our "mixologist"...Jim has been with us from the beginning almost 7 years ago. We were fortunate to hire him ad he has been an icon in San Diego working at the Hotel Del Coronado for over 2 decades. He is a wealth of knowledge on San Diego, as well as the most knowledgeable person I've met regarding beer and alcohol.

Thanks for the business, and we hope you return soon (we need the money! lol)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very convenient location just outside the madness of the city... with free parking which is very rare. This is a newer hotel with some great modern features. Our room was very clean with the signature Marriott comfy mattresses, sheets and pillows. The outdoor pool and surrounding sitting areas are beautiful. Liberty Station has a lot to offer for those without a vehicle. The breakfast buffet was average. A great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kush33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Mr Boston! A great town as well! I spent 10 years out there..in a small town north of there called Westford, I loved it.

Thanks for staying with us and for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed our location...and yes PARKING IS FREE!

We hope you come back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Just a ten minute shuttle bus ride (ring hotel when you land to organise) from the airport and close to city centre.

Hotel has good rooms (most with balconies), a pool and is close to the shore. A few good places nearby to grab a bite to eat and an ATM if you've got off the plane it's no cash!

Breakfast buffet is good.

Hotel lacks a bit of character but so many other positives. Has become a regular haunt of mine.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello, and thanks so much for the nice review!

154 hotel reviews....WOW! You are a traveler for sure! This review means a great deal because of that fact. You see a lot of hotels, so the positive review is very respected, thanks!

I agree that our lobby area needs a shot in the arm. Starting in November, we are renovating the entire area! You won't recognize the place!

Thanks for the shout-out!

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The staff at the hotel were some of the most helpful and friendly people we met on our holiday. The view from our room and the surrounding area were fantastic - we all felt relaxed and safe. The breakfast at the Marriott was excellent and the waiters and waitresses were more than happy to help. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Diego.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks Laura!

You hit the nail on the head when you talked about feeling safe here. I love coming to work...it's a calm and safe area that doesn't have a lot of car traffic. You can let the kids wonder around Liberty Station and feel secure.

Thanks for mentioning the food also...it's our secret weapon!

Thanks for the business, and tell a few hundred of your closest friends about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I came into town for a three-day conference just down the street. While that facility had many more featured amenities in a full service hotel, we moved to the Courtyard Marriott - Liberty Station because the conference rate ended the last day of the conference. We should have just stayed at this Marriott and driven two miles - we enjoyed this hotel a great deal more. We wanted to do a day touring around the area but we couldn't check-in until later that day. The staff were understanding our need to store our luggage on-site and not in our car and were quite helpful in getting us off and on the way. We discovered a small but delightful area within walking distance of the hotel where we had multiple choices of restaurants and stores to explore. It is located at the old Naval Training Center (NTC) which is still in the area although greatly reduced in size. We used the hotel business center to gets tickets and reservations. There was a well attended bar and restaurant on-site but we never availed ourselves of those amenities. The pool area was beautiful and lots of people were enjoying the cool water on a hot day. There is a medium sized conference center at the hotel which would make this a great place for a large family reunion or wedding reception. The room was great. The bathroom was the larger of the four hotels we stayed at during this California visit. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever had at any hotel - that was a nice surprise and it greatly improved the quality of our sleep. We could have stayed longer but Comic Con was coming into town and we evacuated before being overrun by Klingons. I am sure they found their accommodations suitable to their needs as well. If we ever get back to San Diego we will certainly be making reservations at this Courtyard Marriott.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks for changing hotels!

We appreciate the nice review and more importantly that you will come back and stay with us on your next venture our to San Diego.

Although we don't have Bell Service or a Concierge desk like some full service hotels, our associates are equipped to deliver against these every day. What it does is allow us to keep our prices lower.

Glad you liked Liberty Station/NTC...people are still discovering this new area of San Diego, and it's fun to hear people talk about it. It's a very cool place!

Thanks so much, and we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My family and I spent 8 days at this hotel. It was a great stay! Really comfy beds, a choice of feather or foam pillows, friendly and helpful staff! The location is GREAT, within walking distance of many San Diego activities. Short cab ride to the zoo or balboa park, and free (prompt) shuttle service to & from the airport.
The food is great! Fabulous breakfast buffet, delicious dinners, great bar staff and a deli that has lunch, snacks (including fresh fruit choices), and serves Starbucks coffees!
The pool isn't exactly spectacular, but we are from FL and my kids don't really care about the pool. They were more interested in playing in the huge park adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think there's bad rooms. The rooms overlooking the pool have little balconies. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Erin!

Thanks for taking the time to post the fabulous review! It means a ton coming from a guest that stayed so many days with us. After a week, you certainly get to see the good, bad and ugly of our hotel and service...so I'm thrilled that we nailed it for you and the family.

I'm glad you enjoyed the food and bar experience. This is one of our secret weapons. If you sit in our lounge, chances are that Jim will get you to eat something...and you wont be disappointed.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had booked this hotel for a 3-day training so I can comment on the conference side and the hotel side. First of all, Heidi and Nalani are absolutely top notch as far as customer service goes. Both of them have been incredible making sure our group is accommodated. Geronimo had our room setup just exactly the way we asked for it to be. It's difficult sometimes to find hotels that go the extra mile for customers even though customers is why they are in the industry. Our group enjoyed the facilities and the hotel. The restaurant had excellent food and amazing customer service. Thank you for making our experience pleasant. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay/pool. There is a nice balcony to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello there Lori!

Thanks for letting folks know about your experience with our meeting facilities. We have a top notch team that love what they do, and it shows in our repeat business. Most groups that try us, come back year after year, and it's folks like Heidi, Nalani, and Geronimo that insure they do.

We also have a wonderful culinary team led by Chef Mar, that rivals 5 star hotels. The food here is wonderful.

Thanks again, and I wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#16 of 286 in San Diego
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £118 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing