We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel-perfect for airport traveler and business!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #28 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2010

What a great ending to our vacation! We stayed here for just one night before our flight out of San Diego airport. The location was ideal for us. The hotel, while not luxurious, more than met our needs and we are happy to recommend it.

The hotel itself has contemporary styling. Not to my tastes, but it was clean, comfortable and very functional. The bathroom was great. It looked like they put a lot of thought into the needs of the business traveler, with easy computer hookups and a comfortable work chair. The flat screen tv was great, with HD channels---something our much higher priced hotel had lacked. Don't expect fancy sheets or towels, but do expect a comfortable sleep. We were pleasantly surprised that the airport noise didn't affect us at all. Free parking, too.

The hotel is in the Liberty Station area. It is next to Homewood Suites, but is newer. We didn't need a suite and didn't need or desire to cook our own meals, so Courtyard was just fine with us. There are plenty of chain type restaurants within walking distance, but the hotel restaurant was an absolute gem! We ate dinner there, but had an excellent meal. After eating overpriced, ridiculous meals for a few days, the meal in the Courtyard was a welcome surprise! The wine list, although not extravagant, was well thought, and reasonably priced. The bar was also a welcome relief. The staff was excellent, friendly, but not over the top. Well done, Courtyard!

If you have extra time, you might consider driving to the Cabrillo monument. It's an easy 15 minute drive through a mostly residential area. They have limited hours (9-5?), but it's well worth even a short visit to Rosecrans cemetery and the monument. The views are spectacular. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noplainjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2010

This hotel is right next to Homewood Suites Airport/Liberty Station - so they shared the same benefits of location, convenience. The shuttle driver told me that the owner owns both hotels, therefore they shared the shuttle service.

This is a BETTER hotel than Homewood Suites next door. It is very clean, rooms are spacious (note they don't have suites), and they are much newer. We arrived late and the complimentary shuttles picks us up at Terminal 2 within 10 minutes since I called. Check in was a breeze. The carpet in our rooms are new and bathroom is spotless. Staff are also very friendly and helpful.

Any dark side? Hum, a little bit - since it is right next door to Homewood you would expect the airplane noise. It is slight better though (maybe better insulation?).

Homewood offers free breakfast, but the restaurant in Courtyard offers the same continental breakfast buffet for $10 USD. We ordered American breakfast for $12, that comes with a toast, 2 bacons, and 2 eggs. I'd suggest saving the money and go outside for breakfast.

Anyways, this is a very good hotel (compared to Homewood which we stayed prior to our departure)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggroofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

This is a new hotel and probably one of the nicest, cleanest hotels you can stay at. The hotel staff was very accomodating and the location is central to all my needs. Some may get turned off by airplanes taking off, but I did not have an issue with it. The grounds are great and there are restaurants close by that you can go to that are very good. There was only one night that I have to complain about and that was noise that sounded like a disco going on for a couple of hours. The next night things were quiet. If I'm here on business again I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flip24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

One of the best Courtyards I've stayed at - clean, quiet, comfortable, modern. Room was spacious with newer ameneties (i.e. high def TV, wireless, in-room espresso). Staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent work out room (4 treads, lots of equipment). Location is convenient to everything, and there are even some restaurants within walking distance. Only thing I would improve is free airport shuttle, in-room check-out (I had to go to the front desk) and a paper at the room door. Other than that, it's a great hotel.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
Thank cinncitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Before our cruise to Mexico we stayed here and really liked the hotel, grounds, restuarants and closeness of the airport. We spent two nites here. The first nite we thought it best to be on the parking lot side of the hotel in room 328; bad idea, the hotel airconditioner//compressor was right outside out window and very noisy. The next day we asked to be transferred to the poolside of the hotel that is also closer to the airport. It was heavenly as we left the patio door open all nite and had a nice cool breeze off San Diego bay. Surprisingly we couldn't hear the airport in the morning before 8 AM and would recommend this side of the building for the view and quietness. We ate one nite at the restuarant and found it to be very good and above 'hotel food' we were expecting. There are great restuarants in the area within walking distance, ie Starbucks, Pizza, Suchi and even a Trader Joes about 5 blocks away. The hotel had free internet and free parking which was a plus along with the price of the room, about $150 per nite for two queen size beds. The hotel is in almost new condition and very comfortable. We would return on our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickKalispell_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Paid approx. £100 a night, but can't help but think this is overpriced for what you get. Rooms are nice enough - ask for one with a view of the pool/city. Staff at front desk are polite, but seem to lack the personal touch. Petty point, but towels are awful - clean and plentiful, but felt like rags and smelt of bleach. Guest laundry facilities for only a few dollars and they provide free washing powder and fabric conditioner. You need to drive if you are staying here (free parking) and downtown is probably a 10 minute drive, with the wharf a bit closer. There are a few decent places to eat only about 2-3 minutes away, including Thai, Pizza, Greek, Sushi cusine as well as a Starbucks. So, whilst the hotel is o.k, it could probably be better or reduce its rates to bring them more in line with the standard you get.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We stayed at this hotel from 11/3 - 11/5. This was our second visit here. Check-in was quick and we were given a room that was over looking the bay. This hotel is near the airport and freeway and is a short drive to many beaches and parks. There are ample places to eat around the hotel and a Starbucks within walking distance. We did not use room service but did have hamburgers in the restaurant the last evening and they were good. This is by far our favorite hotel in San Diego. The location is great and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talimoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Courtyard San Diego Central
#26 of 286 in San Diego
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £100 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing