We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay - San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #26 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay - San Diego”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Hotel had free airport pickup, friendly staff! The place was very clean, had an awesome breakfast buffet, and a nice place to grab an inexpensive snack. The pool and hot tub were clean, the gym clean with a number of workout items. Can't say enough about the hotel! Great place to stay with the family!!

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GregoryM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    333
    64
    23
    7
See reviews for
400
282
61
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

What else can I say. If you go, insist on an upper level floor with a poolside balcony. The views to the city are incredible at night. Yes, the airport is right next door and I suppose if you are a light sleeper you could have some issues. But with the sliding balcony door closed, I had no problem at all. Relatively new hotel with restaurant and bar, a little more expensive but nice. You have to try Oggi's Pizza which is on the backside of the parking lot. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOVtravelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

What a great location -- serene beauty, views of the water and Harbor Island -- from almost every room. This hotel is very "Southern Cal"; smartly decorated in contemporary colors, very clean, professional staff, etc. The Pros: reasonably priced rooms; harbor views; waterfront paths for walking and jogging; nice pool and hot tub. The Cons: Large windows, but they only open about four inches (unless you get a balcony room); the most uncomfortably firm beds I've experienced in a Marriott brand -- they're probably good for your back though. Cautionary warning, this hotel is located in a beautiful setting, but one that is directly in the flight path of the airport. If you like your windows open at night, and really hate the sound of jet aircrafts, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We felt ourselves very well in this hotel. Large, clean rooms, helpful staff, delicious breakfast, huge parking lot.
If you have a car, this is really the place to stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelmutHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We recently returned from San Diego in March. We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Liberty Station and were highly impressed with the hotel. The hotel is centrally located to all of the attractions where you can get to Sea World, the zoo, downtown, etc in 15 minutes or less. We did have a rental car which made it very convenient to get around. The hotel does NOT charge for parking which is a huge plus because many hotels do in the area.
Check-in was easy and they allowed us to check in early around 1pm. It’s a 5 minute drive from the airport so it was nice to get right to the hotel and unload after a long flight. The rooms were very nice and clean. We had two queen beds and a single sleeper which was perfect for our two boys (ages 3 and 5). Just allowed them to have their own beds at night. The bathroom was large, the TV was big and offered plenty of channels to watch. The room had a mini-fridge which was perfect to store milk, water, pop, etc. The room also had a Keurig coffee maker which was a very nice touch. Very convenient to make a cup of coffee and they offered plenty of coffee flavors. Our room did not have a balcony, but there are rooms that have them. I think because we got the room with the sleeper sofa meant there was not a balcony but we preferred the sleeper sofa option.
Yes the hotel is near the airport but when you are in your room you don’t really notice it. They built it in such a way that it blocks out the noise very well where it didn’t bother us at all. Most of the flights are done by 10pm anyway.
The kids loved the pool…was heated and also had a hot tub area as well. Lots of outdoor patio space with a fire-pit but we never used much of that. The hotel is very conveniently location near restaurants, Starbucks, grocery store, etc. There is a walking path right outside the doors that leads to a great playground for the kids.
The hotel had a restaurant, café, and bar as well. We never ate at the restaurant but it sure smelled good. The hotel does not offer a free breakfast so we just got items at the local grocery store and used our fridge in our room to cover the first meal of the day. There is a great pizza place nearby (Oggi’s) and Subway as well but most of the time we were out and about around San Diego.
Though the hotel was a Courtyard it felt more like a big hotel with all the amenities it offered. We were very pleased with our entire stay.
We really felt this was one of the best hotels we have stayed at for the money. I hope they keep up what they are currently doing with this property because I will surely stay here again in the future. I also heard the property next door (Homewood Suites) is owned by the same owner so we would also look to stay there as well. Both properties get excellent reviews so the owner and staff are doing a great job.
San Diego is an awesome city to visit and this property and location makes a great home base for a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2010

What a lovely hotel. Staff could not do enough for us and any request was greeted with a smile. From the booking of the rooms, right through to our departure, everyone in our tour party was looked after. The rooms were large and spotless. The airport shuttle made my life easier to get all 65 of us to the hotel. The tournament being held on the park next to the hotel also saved us a lot on transportation. Location was good and I was pleasantly surprised that we could not hear the planes taking off, even though the hotel is so close to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U20manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Only 3 miles from San Diego International, and located at Liberty Station, this hotel is often booked, so plan ahead. If your booking on the gov/military rate, the hotel usually books out about 3-weeks in advance. It's not in the downtown core, but close (4 miles), located across the street from the Point Loma FASWTC Naval base. Quiet location, standard (by which I mean good) Courtyard hot breakfast buffet, dinner (did not eat diner there), good open-layout bar with three TVs (and doesn't have that creepy business-traveller-bar feel), espresso cafe (brews Starbucks, but isn't an actual Starbucks) with cafe food (panini etc...), pool, hottub, private courtyard, plenty of free parking, free wireless, room service (5pm-10pm only), dry-cleaning, coin-op laundry with free soap (ask at the desk), modern rooms with LCDs and iPod/iPhone docks on the alarm clocks. They also have the network/video/audio connection strip that allows you to connect your laptop to the TV to review presentations or watch DVDs. Liberty Station also has a Starbucks located in it, and an Oggi's (microbrews, good food, great pizzas) that are a 1-minute walk form the hotel (I usually eat at Oggi's). This hotel has an excellent combination of ammenities that any serious business traveller looking for a relaxing base-camp would want. This location is everything that the "Courtyard" concept was designed for. I've stayed there three times, and it is now the first San Diego lodging I check for when I travel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gablestout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.5 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#114 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing