We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #21 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

I booked this hotel through marriott.com after seeing the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews were spot on. This hotel is exceptionally well-managed, very clean, and resides in a wonderful location less than three miles from the airport. Built in a new planned community called Liberty Station, it's surrounded by restaurants and shops, is flanked by a lovely inland waterway, and is very quiet except for the occasional jet flying over.

The earlier reviewer said she thought the place was expensive, but she must have bought last minute. I reserved a room here less than three weeks before my stay at a AAA rate of $119/night. I consider this an exceptional value.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalnutBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    324
    61
    23
    6
See reviews for
395
279
60
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

This was a great hotel. It was a little difficult to find after a long night of flying but its a beautiful well managed property.

The rooms were wonderful and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is very pricey I actually paid more for a night at this hotel than a night at the JW Marriott in Palm Springs.

The breakfast at the hotel was average, the food was very greasy and I had a hard time finishing my meal, my toast was burnt as well.

All things considered the hotel was very nice, the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busyasabeeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We stayed three nights and found this to be one of the best Courtyards we have stayed in. Friendly and competent staff, decent food, active bar, good exercise facilities, and an esplanade and park outside the doors. Nearby are shops and restaurants in the former Naval Training Center and a nine hole golf course.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JER66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Hotel is 2 years old and is absolutely gorgeous. Has all amenities such as on-site restaurant, small deli, bar, pool, several lounge areas outside, walking trails, nearby restaurants within easy walking, awesome playground, attractive grounds, excellent staff service.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

I looked at the ranking of this hotel and wondered if it could be true? After checking in, I realized why. It's not your typical courtyard. It has amenties like a restaurant and bar. Free WiFi. You can walk to some restaurants nearby and Trader Joes is in the neighborhood if you have a car. Overall, the location is perfect. Everything seemed so close to the hotel.

The hotel/rooms are very new and spacious. My only complaint was the mattress; too soft. And we didnt get a room with a view of the esplanade behind the hotel. If we had, that would have made our day. The esplanade is beautiful. The staff are polite and helped us get a rental car. The old town trolley bus tour picks you up from the hotel next door.

If I go back to SD, I will definately stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

I love this hotel. It is modern, clean, and welcoming. The staff is amazing - the cook to order omlettes are wonderful - that fresh fruit - ummmm. My room had two queen beds, a gigantic 42 inch flat screen TV, a roomy desk, free internet, free parking, free work out room, and a competitive room rate - with a shuttle to the airport..... Liberty Square is the Naval Training Center turned into a wonderful beautiful experience. . Check it out on the web . This was my second time at this hotel - I'll never stay anywhere else in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Simply Terrible to stick your hand behind a picture sitting on a ledge in the hotel and find 2 HYPODERMIC NEEDLES. Then after taking pictures i called and spoke with Joe the Manager, he wrote it off because he said probably insulin units.... My reply was are you kidding, what do junkies use and reuse!! They are very lucky that i had no young kids and the units had caps on the needle part. Joe made it up to our room and picked them up...NO GLOVES, weird? he than stated that the GM would be in on Sunday and they would call to discuss what could be done or simply an apology. NO ONE EVER CALLED!!
When we went to check out Monday I asked for the General Manager and they said he would be up in 5 minutes, when he showed up he did not introduce himself nor offered any apology, he just stood there like I was some crazy person..... I was very cool but do need to let folks know that this hotel simply had an attitude of not caring and pointing fingers do not work with me when it comes to health and safety. As a General Manager he should have been rolling out the red carpet, they did give us some breakfast coupons of which on Monday we could not use because the kitchen closes at 10am and we got there at 9:58... The waffle bar was already cleaned up..... I guess if I did not have to wait for the GM we would have made breakfast.... O well, not going to change my lifestyle but could change yours....
It is not the fact that I found the needles, it’s was the poor and very unprofessional manner of handling it and being so lackadaisical about the safety of my family....
Very Disappointing, Very Unprofessional and a terrible way to handle a business especially a home away from home......
Jeff Perrin

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Perrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing