We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego Potters Guild”

Spanish Village Art Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$149.00*
and up
Private Tour: Balboa Park in San Diego
Ranked #70 of 430 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Balboa Park, this center is home to many art galleries and working artist studios. Presently we house 220 local San Diego Artist who create & demo their artwork such as: Fine Art Paintings, Photography,Art Glass, Pottery, Metal Arts, Fiber Arts,Paper Arts, Enamels and more.There are five Guilds on site: Art Glass,Potter's,Wood Carver's, Enamel and Sculptors. We offer classes for all ages and Summer Camp for Kids in our beautiful historic courtyards.Open Daily 11am to 4pm Free WiFi Open to the public Pet Friendly
Princeton
Level Contributor
245 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“San Diego Potters Guild”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

So many gifted artisans - we had no idea what we would find when we visited the Spanish Village Art Center in Balboa Park. We were told that only artists living in San Diego County could sell their work in the Village. You'll find artists working in clay, with paint, glass, fabric, jewelry - such a wonderful variety of crafts selling for a wide range of prices. We went home with several gifts, including some for ourselves!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cleomissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    39
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent for "something different" gift shopping”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This unique shopping area located in Balboa Park is so nice. The numbers of unique venders with unusual hand made items is great for when looking for a unique gift for yourself or for giving to someone else. The photo opportunities are great in this area and the music playing really adds to the atmosphere. A nice way to stroll and browse and shop too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
248 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Amazing Village in Balboa”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We had the pleasure of spending a day in Balboa Park on Easter Sunday. The Spanish Village Art Center was one of the many sites here we enjoyed. Spanish-styled buildings around a colorful checkered patio which also houses an art center featuring all kinds of juried local crafters, including painters, sculptures, jewelers, glass blowers, and so many more unique craft persons – all busily creating and selling their wares. Delighted we stopped here, it was great fun to poke around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great art, many good prices”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Really enjoyed our stop at the Spanish Village Art Center. There were a bunch of small art shops that all had a lot of art done by local artist. All different types of art was on display. All of the people there were friendly and helpful. I ended up buying a few nice pieces that I am very happy about, and the prices were good. Some things their are a bit pricey, but there is plenty that is very reasonably priced . Next time I am in SD, I will be going back there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Very average for an artist centre”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Located within Balboa Park the Spanish Arts Centre is probably 1-2 acres in size and comprises several dozen artist spaces where work is both done and sold. While it is visually charming, the quality of the work offered is typical for these sorts of places. I would rate it slightly better than the sort of work you see at the outdoor arts and crafts fairs - much of it was small glass work, pendants, photos, small paintings, small pottery items etc... A pleasant detour but not a destination in and of itself.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spanish Village Art Center also viewed

 

Been to Spanish Village Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing