We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Funky Fun”
Review of Vintage Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vintage Sol
Ranked #15 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
New Orleans
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Funky Fun”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Like so many other reviewers we totally enjoyed the look of the inn and Paisely was full of information and knowledge. The food is delicious and freshly made, unique and pretty to look at as well as to eat. The courtyard with all the art and decorations is a feat for the eyes. Neighbor is great close to everything and friendly. We did find the place a little clutter and while we are both pretty small we were on an extended stay with two suitcases which we had ti keep shoving under the bed so there was room to walk around. The courtyard is at a bit cluttered and dusty a great find but if you need wide open spaces this is not your place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innkeeper2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
40
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here in February 2012 and after reading reviews from Tripadvisor we were not disappointed. The casita was small but cosy. The decor was never ending and took many pictures. The breakfast was excellent and we had everything we needed to store and cook our own food. Paisley helped us with attractions and great places to eat. We would recommend this great gem to couples wanting a change from stero type hotels. Thanks Paisley!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBFinWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Vintage Sol is a unique bed and breakfast experience! Paisley has filled this tiny guest cottage with Mexican folk art and also her own creations, creating an oasis of color and charm. The location is in a residential neighborhood with plenty of parking, and within easy walking distance of many restaurants. The tourist information provided in the room is excellent, and Paisley offered lots of interesting suggestions each morning as she served us our plentiful and delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here in September and were scheduled to stay with friends at the end of the trip up in Oceanside. One thing I can say is I wish we would have stayed here the entire time.

I cannot say enough great things about Vintage Sol! From the fantastic location, to the charm of the casita, to the hospitality of the owners! Paisley is an incredible cook and hostess! The breakfast every morning was a sheer delight. We didn't even have to eat lunch a few days. The casita has so much charm and character. We got up and saw something new every day (before we ever left). The location to many great restaurants and bars in Northpark was so easy. And the ease of getting to everywhere else in San Diego was a relief.

If you want to stay somewhere and get an authentic vibe of San Diego, I would recommend staying here. It's as if you actually are living there, even if it's only for a few days.
We loved it and cannot wait to go back!!!! It's one of our all time favorite places to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank married_n_Tortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I went to San Diego for the first time and we chose this little casita for its location and its eclectic charm ! We had a lovely time in the private garden, our room was full of colors and antiques; angels were everywhere... Our host was very friendly and helped us plan some activities. She had a lot of material on what to do in San Diego and full reviews on the best restaurants and places to hang out. WE love the casita because it has everything in it : the bed was really comfortable; it has all we need to make our own meals; her breakfast were delicious and generous. We felt welcomed and very happy.

Linda and Jean

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Vintagesol is the most creative, charming and happy place you could ever imagine -- chocked full of colorful mexican folk art! The accomodations include a private courtyard with fountains, interesting places for sitting -- all candle lit by night. The room is amazingly romantic with THE most comforatable bed, full of artsy mexican folk treasures, full kitchen, refrigerator and pantry fully stocked -- all gratis. There are games to play, numerous books on the area, and videos all for that late night down time! The owner is delightful and extremely knowledgable of the area. She gives great advice on local attractions. Oh -- I can't forget to mention the breakfasts -- you will die and go to heaven!

Room Tip: only 1 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I came down to San Diego to celebrate 9 glorious years of marriage. Vintage Sol is located in a residential area and when you pull up it looks like the rest of the homes on the quiet block. But, once you meet Paisley and she opens the gate into your own private courtyard leading to the guest house, you may think you have been transprorted to a little slice of heaven. Beautifull decor and awesome sights greet you before you even go into the room. The room is so comfy and beautifull. This feels more like HOME than a hotel room. Everything you need is in the room waiting for you. I loved the fact that there was a fridge and a kithchenette for your lunch and dinner needs. There is a TON of places to eat very close to the property and Paisley provides menus and literature regarding places to eat and things to do. So helpfull. The food we had during our 2 nights was SO GOOD. My wife and I are vegan and the food that we were fed was truly AMAZING. Vegans are so welcome here! I will absolutely be back and will tell everybody I know to stay there while in San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,065 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Berkshire Motor Hotel
#177 of 279 in San Diego
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Sol

Property: Vintage Sol
Address: 3606 Felton St, San Diego, CA 92104-3811
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage Sol is a unique artsy Spanish Bed and Breakfast. A fresh new approach to the traditional B&B. Stay in your private tiny Casita filled with Mexican handcrafts, revolving vintage collections and local artists work. Eat alfresco in the color drenched courtyard with fountains, herbs and fruits. We use organic cage free eggs and organic herbs in our dishes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing