We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy rooms and low service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Ranked #180 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I checked in three days ago. The entrance was easy to find. The parking lot is under ground and my Mustang was a bit big and when I asked the owner f I could park outside, he sais, yes outside is possible but your Mustan could fit in the garage. The owner walked with me to the garage to help me park the car, but I parked the car very easily in the reverse next to another car.

After a few hours I returned back to my car and I saw a big scratch at the door of my car. It looked like the owner of the car next to mine opend his door, but the car that scatched me, was not there any more. So I walked to the desk to ask the owner if he knew who the owner is that was parked next to mine, because the parking lot was very small and there were just a few spots, so the owner might know whos car it was. Also you have to fill the license plate of your car at check-in, so the owner could easily find the one that drove away,

The owner said: There was no car parking next to you.
I was furious. I parked my car and the owner was with me when I was parking the car.

I think the owner knew who it was, but did not want any trouble so he told me that he will find out who it was.

I never heard from him any more.

After 2 nights i checked out.

The room was old but okay, the bed was okay, only the building is to noisy, you can hear everything. The walls are thin.

But the scratch and when the owner said that there was nobody parked next to my car, made my 2 night stay at this motel not so good. Also because he said that he would find out and he never talked about it with me anymore, even when I checked out he did not say anything.

Bad service! If you can not keep your word, don't promise things that you can't or don't want to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoubeir87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Wonderful place, old San Diego charm. Clean & very comfortable. Office staff very helpful and friendly. Handy to food, drink, bus, and harbor. Easy drive from I-5. Pt. Loma is a favorite of mine, glad I could stay and hope to return. Dazzling patios, felt like old Mexico, colorful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pt_Loma2, Manager at Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the kind words and we will be renovating our rooms at the end of summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a fun place to stay. It's walking distance to just about everything you need and There's a private beach just up the road before you get to the Naval Sub Base. We were on the third floor with a beautiful view of the bay. If you stay here check out Harbor Town Pub across the street. The calamari tacos are amazing.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or restaurant but there's access to the bay within walking distance and restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I just recently stayed here and was very well pleased. Is it a Hyatt? No, but it also costs about $100 less. The room I stayed at on the third floor was spotless. The bed, furniture, carpets and the bathroom were very new. I found a big plus which was the incredible view of the city and bay from the terrace; you can even see Mexico lights at night. There were several chairs and tables available on the terrace, which was a great place to have a glass of wine in the evening. Another plus is that there are at least ten excellent restaurants within walking distance and most are moderately priced. Miguel's, Old Venice (best spinach lasagne I have ever tasted), Red Sails Inn, Brigantine and Fiddler's Green are local favorites within an short walk from the hotel. The management was very nice, cordial and helpful. The parking is a little tight but all in all I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortACheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Find anywhere else - even a park bench -- just a horrible hotel the list is endless and looks like the hotel management has never upgraded or spent any money on repairs - you can start with the multiple tears in the carpet - the ripped and shredded curtain - the ratty bed cover and blanket also with numerous holes and rips - the bathroom floor with a pocket of mold on the tiles - no cover on an expose bathroom light fixture - numerous chips in the bathtub - and the bathroom toilet and shower are separate from the wash basin - we went screaming out of this horrible place - don't believe any pictures they must be from 20 years ago

Room Tip: try a brand name hotel - best western or ramada are near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeB8967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pt_Loma2, Manager at Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

We would like to say we are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced staying with us. However we have a no pet policy and this room was issued because you had a pet. This hotel is an older hotel and we keep it clean and our rooms are all compliant with all safety standards. Our pictures are very accurate. We apologize again that you were given the room that we accept pets in. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have enjoyably been visiting this small family-run Inn in the sleepy Point Loma Village, for years. There have been some 'unflattering reviews' published on the property however, it has been my increasing experience the problems are most with many poorly mannered guests - not the Inn itself! Contradictory to (other) comments, the place is very nicely kept - considering it is an older bldng. The Housekeeping is spotless, the in-room amenities are basics not "4-star", but all work together well. The view of the San Diego bay and glittering skyline from the upper deck, rivals none on all of Point Loma. The Inn itself used to be a quiet place to come and rest, where most everything falls silent in the Village after dark - only the sound of the Pt.Cabrillo foghorn in the distance can be heard. The REAL problem is the increase in ill-mannered, poorly bred guests. Because the property is built around a small courtyard, all sound carries - particularly after hours. There has been an influx of annoying, rude guests running outside @ all hours to talk on their Cell phones, recent stays. Naturally, the acoustics do not support this well and many's the time I have had some moron walking about late into the night or early morning hours, speaking @ full volume as they stomp past the windows. The reception both WiFi and Cell has never posed a challenge therefore, it is simple to stay IN the room to make Cell calls. This is just an ignorant and very stupid habit many people practice nowadays, of running outside for the whole world to hear their rambling babble. I have complained many times to the Mngr. and he is quick to scold the offending guest. I recommend it has become necessary to post signs around the courtyard/common areas, reminding Guests to be courteous around the rooms & no outdoor noise after hours; the sole problematic situation I have been disturbed by. As for the rooms, heavy reno. is underway at this time, and some of the odor issues will soon be vanquished. Their parking can indeed be tight no doubt however all in all, this place still gives you the most bang for a buck, close to Shelter Island.

Room Tip: Close to Shelter Island - just across street. Restaurants, Village, & Post Office, easy walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewportBeachWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pt_Loma2, Manager at Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your honest and helpful review. We are taking many steps to improve our hotel as well as the upcoming guests. We appreciate you staying with us and being so thorough in your assessment. We hope that you will come back and stay with us as our hotel will be very different in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Granted it was less expensive than some other offerings, but it was also Cheap!! Smelled, dirty and was an old hotel. The staff was friendly, the parking was very cramped, but it is San Diego. We needed a place to stay for our sons graduation from Marine Corps boot camp, and this did provide for that need.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpkin_Hollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#145 of 278 in San Diego
1,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#37 of 278 in San Diego
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#159 of 278 in San Diego
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#48 of 278 in San Diego
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport

Address: 1150 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2660
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £60 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabrillo Inn & Suites-Airport is located in Point loma Village and Shelter island. Walking distance to bay,Sports Fishing and America's Cup Yacht Harbor.Near airport,seaworld,zoo and major attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport Hotel San Diego
Cabrillo Inn And Suites Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing