We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #121 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in the hotel, upstairs in an one bedroom appartment on 21st March 2012. It was really nice, very clean; the kitchen was fully equipped, had all the stuff, even the washing up liquid.

You may get a bit of noice from a bar next door, but we stayed during the week so it was ok. The cottages on the peir booked about 7 month in advance so almost no chance there. The owners of the place very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: the cottages need to be booked well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coollondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at Crystal Pier last week for only 3 nights, and then went up to coast a bit for a few more days. If I had known (and if there was vacancies) I would have stayed all week! It was awesome...Nothing like it!
I stayed in Cottage D, which was over the water even at low tide. When the tide was up, you could see surfers riding waves right by your room as you sat in the living room.
The sound and feel of the waves crashing beneath you are just the coolest most relaxing thing ever.
When I do return, I will want that same cottage. A&B are the 2 on the end, but you get more privacy from the public pier on the end.
Another great feature is your car is parked right alongside your cottage (easy for loading/unloading!)
The staff was amazingly friendly, and has your safety and privacy priority!
Thankyou Randy for all your helpful tips on tours, eateries, and directions. I will look fwd to becoming a regular here as I know many people have!

Room Tip: As you see above I loved Cottage D, especially because it looked North, which I think was more sceni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have stayed at the Crystal Pier in both the cottages and “motel” suites over the past ten years. This week, we stayed in cottage # 8 having taken advance of an off-season rate of $175.00 per night. There is no place like it – the cottages sit over the ocean, you hear the sound of the surf (what a pleasant way to go to sleep) and have a nice outside space with a table, four chairs, umbrella and two lounge chairs, overlooking the beach. The bed is comfortable, but I did not like the pillows so if you are driving in, you may want to bring a pillow you like. The views from your cottage or motel room are fantastic, but if you stay in one of the motel rooms, consider bringing ear plugs to cope with the noise level from the boardwalk, especially on summer weekends. Each cottage has a basic kitchen (refrigerator, oven with stove top and microwave – it didn’t have a revolving tray) and is stocked with Ikea glasses, plates, flatware, cooking utensils, pots and pans, off-brand toaster and coffee maker (my wife doesn’t like the coffee it makes). You have a parking space too (no extra charge). Kono’s (great breakfast place) is just outside the gate to the Crystal Pier and there is a CVS and Ralph’s grocery store within walking distance. You are just steps away from the beach and Mission bay. If you want modern appliances, flat-screen TVs or fancy bathrooms with rain showers or tubs, this is not the place for you. The cottages are showing their age – the plumbing fixtures were basic to begin with and now need to be replaced. For example, the shower head in # 8 could not be adjusted because of accumulated hard-water deposits and it was very difficult to adjust the temperature of the water. Also, it is apparent that the wrong shower stall was installed in # 8 (it should have been reversed to place the molded seat at the end opposite the shower head). There are no drawers in the bathroom vanity, but fortunately there is a dresser in the bedroom where you can put your cosmetics, etc. The TV in # 8 is a TV/DVD player combo unit that is no more than 19 inches and definitely not HD. While free wifi is offered, reception is problematic – neither of our iPad2’s could connect, but my laptop could. Still a wonderful place to stay, but don’t except luxurious appointments even though in-season rates are premium prices, just basic beach appointments and be sure to pet the pier dog.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage over the "motel room" if you can. The motel rooms are over the boardwalk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SOCIAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I will definitely stay here again! The cottages are on a pier stretching into the ocean. Every night you can hear the waves crashing against the pier and it is, honest to God, the most beautiful lullaby.

Our cottage was a one bedroom with a living room and kitchen and we could sit on the sofa and look out the patio door onto the ocean and even see the surfers! It was clean and nicely appointed with the decor keeping with the quaintness of the entire place. Although the pier opens to the public during the day, we had a privacy fence and felt entirely safe and secluded.

In the evenings, after the pier is closed to the public, there is a wonderful security guard and gates that makes the entire place feel safe.

LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Get the rooms at the end of the pier. They're always in the water, even when the tide is low
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiscMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Clean and private, the cottages on Crystal Pier are the perfect place for a relaxing, cozy weekend get-a-way. With a functional kitchen and living area and the option of a one or two bedroom cottage you can be entirely entertained without leaving you little sanctuary. From the cottage, which also has it's own deck, you can watch the activity on the boardwalk or watch the beautiful sunrise or sunset. At dusk, the pier is closed off to the public and you have your own space to walk and gaze at the ocean. You have the option to bar-b-que on the deck or cook in, as well as the capability of walking to some excellent restaurants on the boardwalk. The people watching is amazing. Count on a great nights sleep as the sound of the water beneath you is extremely soothing. We're headed back in the fall!

Room Tip: South facing gives you sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our 3-nite stay in the historic 2 bdrm, 2 bath cottage (#2) in the middle of the pier with another couple was delightful in every way. The cottage could not have been cleaner. It was cozy & well-appointed & private & quiet. The "roar" of the waves & the gentle shaking was unique and enjoyable. We watched surfers, sunsets, fishermen & dolphins from our lodging and from the end of the pier. The maintenance/housekeeping staff was courteous and quick. Walking the beach was a daily occurrence. Sharing the cost made it more affordable, but it's a once in a lifetime experience. Wish it could be an annual event!

Room Tip: Any on the pier would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thankful-desertite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

In early December I visited my very good friend who lives in the San Diego area. I had a few requests and one was to spend some time at the ocean. She booked the Crystal Pier as she had heard good comments from friends and we both were totally impressed with how fresh and clean the cabin was. Both of us are in the Interior Design related business and have an eye for details and finesse. The rooms were not over designed to say the least ...the futon sofa and rattan chairs were average but plenty good..but more importantly, the cabin was impeccably painted,very clean,we had everything from wine glasses to a fully appointed kitchen and bath. The heater did the job well and the shower was powerful. The scenery was the best on the beach as the pier decks overlooked the surf in both directions! It was a fabulous trip...so good I had to write the first travel review of my life....you just read it!!!

Room Tip: Recommend the Southern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,067 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,014 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#140 of 286 in San Diego
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#99 of 286 in San Diego
707 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 286 in San Diego
1,072 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#220 of 286 in San Diego
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

Address: 4500 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2459
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £168 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Crystal Pier Hotel And Cottages
Crystal Pier San Diego
Crystal Pier Hotel San Diego
San Diego Crystal Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing