We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$240
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$250
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$299
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$251
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$262
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$795
US$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$326
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
184
62
12
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
62
12
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom cottageprivate deckchaise loungeshigh surfsalt airhear the waves crashingthe pacific oceanbeach cruiserswell equipped kitchenfun place to stayliving arealight sleeperqueen bedstayed longerthe location is perfectwe've stayedcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Lovely little beach cottages on the pier. Very cute, well decorated. Great water pressure in the shower (why can little place like this get the shower right and bigger places can't?). The owners were helpful. Had to book a year in advance and they only take phone bookings - which was difficult to organise time wise from Australia, so instead of getting one of the cottages over the water ours only had water under it at high tide.
Wifi was meant to be available, but signal strength in our unit was almost non existant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The location is perfect...right over the water...waves breaking nearly all the time...great weather and great nearby restaurants. The staff are wonderful and worked hard to meet all our desires. Can not wait until 2014. The one bedroom with private patio was great. The studio units appear to have "shared" or non-private patios and the two bedroom are located similar as the studio units.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zeldazelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed in cottage "B" May 20 & 21 (and in Cottage 11 on May 19 because "B" was not available) for our 19th wedding anniversary. It was our first trip here. Like others, we booked about eight months in advance. We had been looking at the website for years, but did not know anyone who had been here before. The check in was extremely easy and pleasant, and we drove slowly to our one-bedroom cottage (unit 11) within minutes of arriving. The cottage (unit 11) can only be described as adorable, with blue and white nautical decor. There is a futon couch in the living room with a small table and chairs, and a flat screen TV that gets cable (but no premium channels). The kitchen is small but adequate, with a full fridge, a stove, microwave and sink. They have plates, silverware, paper towels, etc. The bathroom was small but fine, with a single sink and a shower (no tub). They had a blow dryer so you don't have to bring one. The bedroom was small with a full or queen bed (not sure which) but the bed was extraordinarily comfortable.
Of course, the reason you are there is the view. The room has a deck area with two lounge chairs (and cushions), a table with chairs and umbrella, and a stunning view of the beach and ocean. Number 11 is back behind the shoreline, so you have the beach next to the room, and the ocean in front of it most of the time (depending on the tide). This side of the pier is the east, and the sun rises on this side (and you cannot see the sunset as well from your deck).
As far as food goes, we did not want to eat in a restaurant when we had such an incredible view, so we walked down Garnet and turned left at the second street and got huge hoagie sandwiches from the Greek Place, brought them back to the room and sat at the table and watched the beach and the ocean while we ate. The food was really good. On Sunday the beach was very crowded, and it was fun to people watch. The pier is open to the public and there is a lot of foot traffic during the day, but it is locked and very private at night.
On May 20 we moved to cottage "B." I don't know what to say other than it is the most incredible view I have ever seen. You simply can't get that view in a hotel on the beach. I admit that I have never stayed in an over-water bungalow in Tahiti, but this is the closest thing to it in California! It was unlike anything I have been in before and sets my new standard for the greatest ocean view ever. There is a difference between having a view of the versus being on the ocean. With unit B, you are on, above, and all around the ocean. A mere "ocean view" will likely never suffice now in the future. B is a studio, but it is very large and airy (actually larger than the one bedroom cottage 11). The deck is private, although you can see the people on the public portion of the pier and they can see you during the day. The room was just perfect. If you are looking for 5 star amenities, this is not the place. There is no marble or granite, but again, it is just perfect. The bed was fine (it seemed larger than in cottage 11) and it has a full kitchen, living room with couch and coffee table, a small table with chairs by the window, and a separate bathroom with double sinks. The entire ocean side of the room is glass from floor to ceiling.
We went to Kono's for breakfast (it is the corner of Ocean and Garnet - right across the street from the hotel) and it has its own outdoor dining area, but that is nothing compared to the view from the room, so we got our breakfast to go. We simply did not want to be away from the deck. Like cottage 11, the deck has two lounge chairs, and a table with umbrella and four chairs. The view is all water. It is very romantic, and very special. One night we went to pick up a movie at a nearby Ralph's (Red Box) and noticed that they had fresh sushi that looked fantastic, so we ended up getting it and eating in front of our deck and watching the sunset. It was great!
We brought our dvd player and HDMI cable and hooked it up to the TV (the original remote is present so you can change inputs) so that we could watch movies at night after it got dark. There are tons of bars within walking distance if you are interested in night life.
They have two-bedroom cottages as well if you have a family and want to bring the kids. The beach is right there, but for us, this place was just perfect for a romantic getaway without the kids. We already booked it for next year at the same time for our 20th anniversary.

Room Tip: Choose cottage "a" or "b" for the best view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dda4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The front office employees are so very helpful. One would think sleeping in a beautiful cottage on a pier over the ocean would be like camping in style. Nope. ... WiFi, morning wakeup calls, kitchens with all you need. Even cable! Love!

Room Tip: South was nice but if you like to watch the surfers, reserve north. Plus the sunsets on that side.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hbluvangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after Coachella festival and it was simply amazing. The Cottage was gbeautiful, the setting is amazing and the staff were fantastic and so helpful. We cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We had cottage 3 (1 bed) which is south side so you get the sun all day, plus you get an extra large deck in front of this and cottage 1 (2 bed)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterJessDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews