We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Cottage on a Pier Over the Water”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #100 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Unique Cottage on a Pier Over the Water”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is the only place in California that you can 'sleep' in a cottage on a pier over the Pacific ocean. The cottages were clean, open and quaint. Very pleasant. Of course the views are great. We were on the north side, so we enjoyed the sunsets. Parking for 1 car is in front of the cottage, but any other parking is on the street and hard to find, as it is a beach area. The surf is louder being over the waves rather than staying in a hotel on the beach. Construction was going on right next to our room, so had to close shutters the entire time, with no compensation from the hotel. The price is a little high, but the experience is very different.

Room Tip: Decide on south for sunrise or north for sunsets... Because of the tide if you do not choose a cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoho92649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    59
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
76
99
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our cottage seemed to be recently refurbished. We stayed in #19 2br - 2ba. The views from any point in the common room were spectacular. The roar of the, larger than normal, surf was loud and clear with the open windows, but never got annoying; Very soothing. The furnishings were practical with a touch of beatnik. The kitchen is complete with appliances and dishes. The Showers in #19, OMG! THE BEST SHOWERS IN CALIFORNIA. There was NO water restrictions and they both just poured on the H2O. Sort of a friendly RV club feel with all residents along the private walkway behind the cottages; The pier is about 25-30 feet above the beach sand before extending into the ocean. You park on the pier right in front of your cottage. Caution: 2 MPH speed limit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in Cottage #15 at Crystal Pier the second week of December for 4 nights. We are both 44 years old. The cottage was very clean and quaint. The view from the cottage is the best on the beach. It was very nice to be able to park our car in front of our cottage. We never had to contact management as the cleaning staff was so good every day. The cottage has everything you need including wi-fi. It is steps to the beach and to everything else to meet your needs such as pharmacy, grocery store, pubs, restaurants, fast food places, shops and etc. There are tourists on the pier during the day but at night you are completely locked in and secure. We slept like babies with the sound of the ocean. It was such a tranquil state of mind. We got the most rest we have gotten in a long time. There were days we left the windows and sliding door open to allow the breeze to come through. Such a wonderful experience. You can see the sunrise and sunset by walking on the pier. Just breathtaking views.

We loved having the best breakfast at Kona's within walking distance located at the beginning of the pier. You can bring your breakfast back to your room if you want a view from your deck. It was fun for us to watch everybody from the window of Kona's while we ate. We saw some interesting people doing interesting things. It was fun to watch all the surfers from the pier and see how many fish the fisherman could catch. There was a model photo shoot on the pier while we were there. In December, the pier has a huge Christmas tree lit at the end of it. It was so beautiful. You are in walking distance to everything. We went to the 710 Beach Club within walking distance and enjoyed Happy Hour specials. Tia and Monica were the best bartenders ever! We enjoyed the sky bar at the Pacific Beach Ale House as well. We enjoyed happy hour at PB Sushi with half price drinks and food. I do not recommend Sushi Kuchi, Butcher Shop or Basic Pizza (downtown).

The cottage is so conveniently located to the boardwalk, restaurants, clubs and not far from La Jolla, downtown, Belmont Park, Coronado Hotel and various other close sightseeing places. You will not be disappointed with your stay at Crystal Pier.

Room Tip: If you stay in the cottages near the office, begging of the pier, you will be over the beach and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croomsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in cottage #3 January 1st-2nd 2014. We were a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 Pre-teens). We loved the one bedroom plus futon set up. Being from Seattle, we really wanted to have that on the beach experience. These cottages did not disappoint. I loved being able to open the sliding door in the morning to the view of the beach and ocean. Cottage 3 offers a slightly larger deck, albeit part of it is technically a shared portion. They have a nice table w/ chairs and two reclining chairs for lounging on the deck. I agree with the previous post that the little white picket fences could use some paint -but nothing that distracted from the experience.

It was nice having the small kitchen, as we bought breakfast items and snacks at Ralph's nearby to save some money. The location is perfect for walks along the beach and the many restaurant options.

As for the room, it was fine. The cottages are older, so don't expect anything fancy. However, I appreciated that the bathrooms had magnifying mirrors and the shower heads have good water pressure. The hot water was on the hit side, so people with little kids should use caution.

Because the cottages sit over the ocean, you do hear the waves. If you are a light sleeper, you might find the wave noise too loud. We found it soothing and easy to fall asleep to. One thing I hadn't anticipated was the ability to feel the waves. Sometimes when a wave is big enough, you can feel a very slight movement in the cottage. At first we thought it was a small earthquakes (not being from California, it's hard not to assume that), but soon realized it was just the vibration for the waves.

We would definitely stay here again without hesitation! And, cottage #3 was the perfect fit for us!

Room Tip: #3 is on the south side and offers great sunrise / sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the 2 bed 2 bath units - we were on the North side - the cottage was lovely - fully equipped kitchen ( we made great steaks) - and it was very comfortable - Although it rained during our stay and was quite windy we were still able to enjoy the views from the patios and the walk along the pier at night with the Christmas Tree at the end was so lovely after the pier was closed at night - it was like we had it all to ourselves. Konos was fabulous for breakfast (huge portions can easily be shared) and there is a Ralphs just up the road for topping up on supplies. Overall there was nothing to complain about - parking next to the unit was great - we walked to restaurants, spent time on the beach - and the drive up the coast was lovely. I wish it was cheaper to stay here as I would go back again and again!

Room Tip: South side is sunnier but North side has better views and you can watch the surfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearhart, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

If you like funky you will be happy with this spot. I felt it was very uncomfortable, hard wicker chairs to sit in a big ugly futon that needs to be replaced, beds are very uncomfortable. Bathrooms need to be updated. But being on the pier was great. Will find another spot next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lori b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
331 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Some friends asked us to join them at the Crystal Pier for four nights and we are so glad we did. They had "cottage" A and we were in B. The view was no less than spectacular. Our room was fairly spacious with a living room and small kitchenette. Ours was the furthest out on the somewhat busy pier but we still felt fairly secluded. The room was clean and comfortable and we had a private deck for lounging and cocktails while watching the sunset. Not exactly inexpensive, but still worth it. Also, convenient walking distance to restaurants, shopping and of course, you are already on the beach. Keep in mind the cottages were built in 1930, so don't expect the Ritz.

Room Tip: Cottages a and B are the place to be for a perfect view and romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mywinetutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
879 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 279 in San Diego
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#123 of 279 in San Diego
211 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#229 of 279 in San Diego
170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

Property: Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Address: 4500 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2459
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Crystal Pier Hotel And Cottages
Crystal Pier San Diego
Crystal Pier Hotel San Diego
San Diego Crystal Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing