We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$240
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$250
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$299
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$251
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$262
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$795
US$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$326
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
223
267
81
43
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
267
81
43
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracemini suitecontinental breakfastone bedroom suitenoisy at nightvalet parkingsmallest roomhear noisemini kitchenwithin walking distancehigher floortwo blocksbalboa parkhomeless peoplebars and restaurantshotel is in a great locationper day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had such a lovely experience at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites. From the staff to the location and the beautiful room, it could not have been better! We got into town early and prior to check in. Sean at the front desk was so helpful and accommodating. He stored our luggage, provided directions from the airport via the public bus. The hotel was inexpensive, but absolutely luxurious. We have a suite with a separate bedroom. It had two beautiful bathrooms, lovely new carpet, drapes and furniture. What a special hotel in a special town. The room was quiet, there was great natural light, it was spacious, and so centrally located. I really encourage you to try this hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaimielaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in! The hallways were so pretty with marble floors and glass doors, we felt so classy staying there.

Pros:
-in the HEART of the gaslamp! Every night spot we wanted to go to was in walking distance
-bed was super comfortable
-staff were amazingly friendly
-dvd kiosk to rent movies
-beautiful rooftop terrace to enjoy (the free) breakfast
-room key gives lets you cut in line at their lounge, Vin de Syrah

Cons
-sofa bed was somewhat uncomfortable
-valet parking was stinkin 28 bucks a day!
-its prime location means it can be hard to sleep from noisy the party animals down below if your room is facing 5th st ..so just wake up and go party too, problem solved

Room Tip: rooms facing north have less street noise at night valet is $28 a night, try parking elsewhere room key gets front of line privelege at its lounge/bar
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerkfacedeersandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our first time trying Gaslamp Plaza Suites. We were quite pleased all around. The appearance of the lobby was beautifully done. We encountered many different employees at the front counter, and all were helpful and nice. We opted to self-park our car, which was very convenient in the public parking lot right next to the hotel. For $20, we had 24-hour parking, The hotel did offer valet parking for $28. We chose the smallest room in 504 and were pleased. It is very small, but we had a queen-sized bed. Our window looked out into the "bowels" of the hotel, showing us pipes and inner walls, but this was ok with us. It insulated us from the loud street sounds of the Gaslamp, and it showed us that our room was quite private. We never heard a sound from other rooms, so, for us, the privacy of the room meant more than the view. Rarely do we sleep well the first night in a hotel, with new sounds around. But in this room, we slept pretty well for the first night. We visit San Diego every six months and have stayed in several different hotels. This was our second try in the Gaslamp Quarters, and we have finally found a hotel we will return to with Gaslamp Plaza Suites. Their promotional price for our winter stay was just $83 a night, which was exceptional. They do offer a continental breakfast, which was mostly breads and cereals with coffee and juice. The view from the rooftop, where the continental breakfast is served, is breathtaking. Our only complaint (and it's a small one) was that there was no luggage stand. That would have been helpful. Wi-fi is available in the room for $9.95 a day. Otherwise, it's free if you take your device down to the lobby. We will be revisiting Gaslamp Plaza Suites when we return in August.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanticAuburnites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very nice hotel in the middle of San Diego's Gaslamp district. Close to light rail. Suite was reasonably priced and very big. Great view from the breakfast area on the roof but a less than mediocre breakfast. Still worth sitting up there and looking out, though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We booked this hotel through our timeshare and had no idea what if might be like except for the beautiful room pictures on their web site. We were delighted with the activity in the area, we were able to walk to at least 50 restaurants, bars etc in just a few minutes. We really enjoyed the openair rooftop restaurant which offered a wonderful continental breakfast each morning.There is no better way to start the day by relaxing and looking out at the ships sailing by in the harbor. We found people were up there at all times of the day, reading, tanning or just sitting under an umbrella. Our room was truly as it might have been decorated when the hotel opened around 1908.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor if you don't want to hear the music from the bars. We were on 4 and could hear it faintly-we also enjoyed it. Our relative stayed on 9 and heard nothing.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back!

Madeleine Kershaw
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews