We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #130 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Camp Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

From the time we entered the small lobby until the day we left service here was great. The staff accommodated our needs with a smile on their faces. Room are very clean and are decorated well. It's old building has great charm. The location could not be better, it's right in the heart of the Gaslamp district. Be aware that there is a lot of noise on Friday and Saturday nights. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbb599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    235
    71
    38
    19
See reviews for
76
263
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jacinto, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Beautiful hotel with great views. We stayed in the one-bedroom suite, very comfortable with classy decor. Loved the free breakfast in the rooftop as well. Highly recommend this place, it's nearby bars/clubs/etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRaygoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read a nice review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon.
Enjoy the rest of the summer.
Welcome Back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel was ideally suited for us, at the end of the main strip, but central to lots of local interests, withing walking distance of many. The suite has everything you need to enjoy your stay: continental breakfast, kitchenette, very comfy bed and plush pillows. We liked everything about this place, from the marble lobby and stairs, to the mirrored elevators, to the high ceilings and elegantly decorated, vintage-style suite. The people were very helpful, professional and friendly. Although we heard the street noise from our 8th floor room, it was not enough to prevent sleep. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite as a family of 4. Unlike other reviewers, we had no issues with the noise, and our room was on level 3. It's a beautiful building and eating breakfast on the roof is just lovely. Breakfast itself is pretty light on - but it does stop the tummy rumbles and gives you an excuse to stop for morning tea. No problems with the room itself - you get what you pay for. Merry's overview of what to do / see / eat whilst in San Diego whilst we ate breakfast was great - she is a real asset to the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maikaefer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

My Husband and I love visiting the Gaslamp Suites. The Staff is great, A big shout out to Merry, go on her walking tour. We have returned a few times. Always treated great. You are able to walk and enjoy downtown, You feel like you have stepped back in time.

Room Tip: If you can help it, don't bring your car. Parking is $30/day, Some of the hotel rooms are very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orihuela, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed in a mini suite which comprised of a lounge area, mini kitchen area, bedroom area and bathroom. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed, staff were very friendly and helpful especially Merry on the reception desk. The hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of the Gaslamp quarter which is full of bars and restaurants catering to most tastes. Horton Plaza shopping centre is a couple of blocks away and has all you need for a bit of retail therapy. Only downside was cost of parking at 30 dollars a day however we did not rent a car and can honestly say that we did not need one. We went everywhere we wanted to on public transport e.g. the zoo, Seaworld, Balboa park, you can get tickets for anything from 1 day to 1 month and we felt it was really good value for money.

Room Tip: Probably best with a higher room as they can be some street noise especially at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjhvh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#66 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#131 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Property: Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing