We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #127 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, nice place”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a 3-4 star hotel, but it was better than I expected. We went there because of the good price, and because it was in a great location within San Diego, the Gaslamp Quarter. Only issue was the lack of counter space in the bathroom.

Room Tip: there's some street noise, so get a higher room if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BratLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    235
    71
    38
    19
See reviews for
76
263
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town south africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, there was no one to help us with the luggage.
I booked this hotel on Booking.com $687excl taxes for 3 nights!!!! and the room on the picture was NOT the one we got. It was not spacious like on the picture and the corridor/ entrance "wall" is glass with a door. I know this is a historical building but think the people raving about this place could not have stayed in our room. Very disappointing !!!
I AM SORRY I DID NOT LIKE THIS PLACE AT ALL - the room was so small with a double bed (small). They would not waive the first night charges and we had to pay. Booking.com asked them if they will give us a credit and they refused.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I have read your review and I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations. I looked into this and you made a reservation for a one bedroom suite through booking.com, as mentioned, in your review. The photo of the room type you were checked into is displayed as the 4th photo in booking.com photo gallery. This is a photo of the bedroom which is equipped with a queen size bed. The living room area is not displayed, but that room is equipped with a sofa sleeper. We are a Historical Landmark, listed in the register of Historic Places. We are trying to preserve the originality of the building and therefore all of our guest rooms have entrance doors with glass panels. Once again, I am very sorry you were disappointed and that you decided to check out. I hope you did find another suitable accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Great location & great staff. Room was outdated and the carpet very dirty - not at all what I expected after looking at pics on the website. Breakfast on the rooftop ok : great views, very basic food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivimilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I am a little puzzled as to what pictures you are referring to. All of our photos on our web site are current and true. All of our rooms have been completely remodeled, the last two floors being finished as late as March of this year. If you didn't view the photos on our own web site, I would welcome you to contact me so I know what web site you are referring to.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Don't reserve a small studio. You will end up with a full sized bed (even though we requested Queen) that barely fits in the closet they call a room that doesnt have even a closet. We could hear club music all night. Our view was of a dark ugly alley. We complained about the size of the room and were never given anything better. Jennifer and Sean (manager) were unhelpful and didn't care. We liked the location and the rooftop only. We took a refund after the first night since they were unable or did not want to provide a bigger room for the week. If you stay here you have to book a suite or don't stay at all. Warning the pastries are inedible so you need to like Cheerios or raisin bran for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waterlilyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
First of all, I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We offer many different kind of rooms. The room type you reserved is the smallest of the rooms we offer and it comes with either a full or a queen size bed. We will always try to adhere to any request of bed size but there are times we just can't accommodate all requests, as we would like to . The small studio does face the back of our building so there is no view. The price on this small studio is also less than all of our other rooms. We have many guests that want this type of room due to the much lower price than the other rooms we offer. It does come with all the amenities we have in the other rooms except for that the size, as you mentioned, is small. So again I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If there is anything else I can do for you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in June and had a great time, everything about the hotel for the price we paid was extremely good. Booked 2 mini suites and they were awesome. One of my adult sons has autism and he coped with the hotel and its surroundings, we managed to park just opposite using our temporary disabled placard. Hotel staff were ok but you only really see them on reception.The situation of the Hotel is excellent, we visited the zoo, balboa park, old town, Cabrrillo monument, La jolla, seaport village, Carlsbad and other attractions. All of which are within easy reach of the Hotel.
It is at night time where the location of the Hotel comes into its own, great affordable restaurants and bars a few minutes walk away.
Didn't care much for the wine bar below the PLaza suites but its not for everybody.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank autism travel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I lived in this hotel for three nights in the middle of July. The rooms are spacious and really nicely furnished. I see some reviewers have complained about noise from the street but that was no problem for me or my friends. The breakfast view on the top floor was better than the food. That said the view is really good! The valet parking is affordable at 30$ a night and the front desk were helpful. No free wifi, though!
I got the rooms at a fraction of what I believe this hotel to be worth which may have increased my enjoyment of the stay. Overall though, the gaslamp plaza is a really good hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindrelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your very nice review of our hotel. I am glad you felt the Gaslamp Plaza Suites were a good value for price paid.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Overall we had a great experience. This hotel is located steps away from great shopping and restaurants. We were on the second floor and booked the least expensive room. The bed was only a full but for the price we were fine with it. The rooftop terrace is great and we were able to take a bottle of wine up there and enjoy the view before dinner. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all travelers wanting to stay in the Gaslamp quarter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline6462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
791 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 279 in San Diego
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#130 of 279 in San Diego
209 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Property: Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing