We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #127 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous location at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently purchased a timeshare here and came to watch a couple of ballgames. The location in the Gaslamp is terrific-we didn't have a car(parking is $40/night) since everything is walkable. The hotel is clean, pleasant and all you need if your main goal is a nice place to lay your head. It is somewhat dated which is part of the charm except when trying to get into the tub to take a shower. It doesn't have all the upscale amenities-no inhouse gym or pool. They do provide a carb heavy continental breakfast on the roof with some spectacular views of the city. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Plenty of good food in the area. Walk to the ballpark. All in all hard to beat it for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenhoward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    234
    70
    38
    19
See reviews for
74
262
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great rooms, unbelievable roof top views of the city, and friendly staff. I chose this place to propose to my girlfriend because of the roof top views. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating for setting up hours before we would return at night. The room was very spacious. I would recommend this place for anyone looking to enjoy either a romantic weekend or a fun weekend when going out downtown. Right in the heart of SD Gaslamp so you can walk/stumble back to your room!

Big thanks to Madeleine Kershaw for being so helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcafansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review and thank you for allowing us to be part of your proposal. We wish you all the best and Congratulate both of you on your upcoming wedding.
We hope to see you back here celebrating your 1 year wedding anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Other than the breakfast (which had an incredible view at least and you could walk half a block for some chicken and waffles) this place was pretty much perfect. Merry at the front desk was enthusiastic and helpful and had me and my girlfriend laughing. Room was clean and spacious, we walked everywhere. Bed wasn't the most comfortable, but not to the point of being uncomfortable. Would love to stay here again, especially at the price we got!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel was great. It was very central in the Gaslamp district. The hidden gem of this hotel was their roof top terrace. The view from here was amazing in the morning and evening. The free breakfast which came with the hotel was plentiful and delicious. The room was clean and spacious. The only down side was the valet parking was quite expensive but it seemed to be the same price across town. I would stay here again and recommend :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Llinos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We always appreciate when a guest takes their time to write a review about their experience staying with us. Thank you so much and we hope to see you back as our guests soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This convenient hotel in the middle of the Gaslamp quarter offers spacious rooms above (of all things) a popular Fondue restaurant.

My room was a quite comfortable suite, as were all my colleagues', and arranged as a suite with a little kitchenette that had a microwave and fridge. The road is a bit noisy due to all the revellers but not too bad. The staff were helpful and friendly and there is a rooftop area that offers a light breakfast in the mornings.

If you want to be in the middle of the action this is a pretty good choice. Not sure about the Fondue though as I thought that all stopped in 1978.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruggedtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent location within walking distance to everything, including tourist attractions, the trolley, shopping, buses and the beach.

Hotel is very quaint, room was small but clean.

Staff are very knowledgeable, friendly and offer good travelling advice. They really know their city and make you feel right at home.

Breakfast (included) on the roof top terrace was a bonus.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the only studio on the 3rd floor close to the elevator. We heard a bit of noise from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great location, great accommodation. Right from the moment of check in we were happy as we were upgraded to a corner one bedroom suite. The hotel is right in the heart of the gaslamp quarter. We were lucky enough to arrive on a Sunday so Monday morning Merry provided us with a wonderful orientation on the roof top at breakfast and then we went for a walking tour. As Merry says if you need anything at all just dial 0 and there will be someone to help you. The front desk staff is amazingly helpful and very friendly. The room was a wonderful size. We were very comfortable. Everything was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#69 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#128 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Property: Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing