We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location....BUT..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #128 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great location....BUT..”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The location is about the best thing about this place, except for a few friendly staff. The rooms are pokey, unless you pay top dollar. The first room we were shown wasn't even large enough to put two suitcases on the floor. I thought our room was meant to have a lounge, so mentioned this, then was put into a "larger" room of the same value? This room was only a little wider than the bed (with a lounge) and has a curtain behind the bed, pretending to cover the window....that doesnt exist. By the end of our stay we both had some sort of cold or sore throat from breathing the dank recycled air. The included continental brekky was very basic carb-loaded rubbish, but was in a nice location on the roof, which was also a nice place for a sunset drink (byo). This seems like a nice old hotel that needs a big upgrade into the 21st century.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    238
    71
    38
    19
See reviews for
76
266
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsville, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were pleasingly supprised at the Gaslamp Plaza. A very old hotel that was quaint and friendly. Right in the middle of all the action. The room, I'm guessing, must have been an apartment in the early days. I could just imagine living there. The rooftop breakfast area was delightful. The view to die for. The entrance walls were marble.
Very friendly and accommodating staff....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunckat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed here during Comic Con and was a pleasant experience.

Walking distance to shops and convention centre. Rooms were spacious and clean. Overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siggeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My husband and I stayed from M-F while attending a conference. We booked a mini-suite. The room was nice. It had a king bed and a sofa that might have been a pull out couch. The bed was comfortable. There was a small desk with desk lamp, a flat screen TV, and DVD player. You could rent DVDs for $6. Internet was $10 per day or $20 per week. There was a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and sink in the mini kitchen. The shower liner was an opaque beige so the light was a bit too muted in the bathroom. Everything was very clean and the people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. We were on the second floor facing E st and the corner of 5th, room 205. On Wed and Thurs we could hear the band playing at the corner bar but it wasn't too bad. Weekends might be a bit louder. The wine bar downstairs was worth going to. The rooftop seating area was very nice to sit and enjoy a bottle of wine. No fitness room but they direct you to a gym that you can go to for $8 per day. I would stay here if in San Diego again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fyrfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel because of the good reviews that it has received. I was in a wedding at another downtown hotel but the Gaslamp Plaza Suites was half the price. It is in a very convenient location to the trolley, airport bus and all the bars/restaurants in the Quarter. I was a bit surprised by how much the area reminded me of Bourbon Street especially on Saturday night. So be advised that there are lots of young, drunk people milling about at night there. The hotel itself was perfect for what I needed. My room was kind of an odd lay out without much natural light but I wasn't there much during the day so it didn't matter too much. I probably would have given the place 5 stars if I'd had a brighter, more open room but I can't really complain given the price. Everything was new and super clean which makes me very happy. They have nice touches like a full set of dishes, refrigerator, microwave, dvd player. All that makes it very comfortable. A free breakfast on their nice roof top is also a big plus. Simple, continental style - cereals, toast, muffins, coffee, juice, fruit-but still nice to have. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This hotel is in the midst of all that's happening downtown in Gaslamp Quarter as well as conveniently located to enjoy San Diego. The parking price of $28/night informed our decision of not renting a car. We found that to be the best option for this location. Public transportation was easy to use as we visited all the sites we'd planned to - zoo, Coronado Island, Tijuana, Seaport Village, Mission/Fashion Valley shopping, Mission & Ocean Beaches ... we met friends at the end of our week to attend a jazz concert at Anthology (walking distance) and we used our last full day in town to ride in their car to LaJolla.

The rooftop hosts a spectacular view. We would have liked more healthful choices for the continental breakfast ... however, it is free. There's a grocery store nearby as well as a coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave in the room.

Merry, the concierge, is a gem. Her insight helped to ensure our wonderful stay. We'll definitely be back. We've already recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

What a charming heritage-listed building this is. After a long life as an office block it's now a both a hotel and timeshare, so every suite has a kitchenette. Fantastic location on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter with its restaurants, theatres, bars, night clubs
and other retail outlets. One block from the Horton Plaza shopping mall, two blocks from the trolley and not far to walk to the baseball stadium.
A very basic but all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet is included and is
available on the rooftop terrace. Great view over the Gaslamp
Quarter, harbour and Coronado bridge.
Not many other general facilities except WiFi in rooms, a single
coin-op internet terminal (neither free) and a small book exchange.
Room and dry cleaning service is available and there are some
vending machines. Very helful tourist advice from the staff. No car
park, so if you have a car, the local and valet parking is a little
expensive.
Even though our suite was one of the smaller ones in the building,
it was still larger than many hotel rooms in this price range.
Nicely decorated in vintage drapes and wall prints. The suite
includes most of the expected facilities: comfortable QS bed,
lounge, small dining suite, wardrobe, chests of drawers, desk with
chair, two TVs (Cox-Analog 65 channels), two phones and a DVD
player.
What is missing is a dressing table and mirror. (The desk could
double for this if there was a mirror.) Only one suitcase stand.
The ensuite is large enough, but needs more towel rails and clothes
hooks. The shower has no light so when the curtain is drawn, it's
very dark. Plenty of high pressure hot water.
Noise: A big issue on Friday and Saturday nights. There is a dull
but tolerable roar from the street until about 2am. But we really
lucked out when some of our nearby guests were here to party and
created noise havoc in the corridor and in their rooms until about
4am. The glass doors and wooden internal walls offer little noise
barrier.
The hotel has signs everywhere: "THANK YOU FOR NOT SMOKING".
They also need signs with: "THANK YOU FOR NOT SHOUTING, SWEARING AND SLAMMING DOORS".
Generally we would recommend the Gaslamp Plaza Suites, but just be
wary of weekends, and ask for a suite with a separate bedroom (it
costs a little more) and is a long way from the elevator lobby.
(Unless you are in town to party all night.)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#145 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Property: Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing