We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Keating House
Nearby Hotels
US$602
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$849
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$619
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$685
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$665
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
129
43
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
43
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsben and dougb bbalboa parkgarden suiteflight pathaqua roomother gueststhe main housebankers hillfrench doorshob nobrose roomperfect hoststhe san diego airportenjoyed the peace and quietwithin walking distanceplanes landing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful breakfasts, great centralized location. Owners were visible, serving breakfast and answering questions, and always extremely helpful. Blue room was small, but clean. Claw foot tub is narrow and hard to maneuver, but water was always hot when I needed it to be. Individual room doors do not lock, only front door has a lock, but nothing came up missing. I will not stay anywhere else in San Diego. Too many good things about this place to look elsewhere. Great b&b!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank KMarieDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Keating House on our vacation to San Diego from Edmonton, Canada. We really enjoyed our stay. The hosts were very friendly and made helpful recommendations for restaurants and activities based on our interests. The house is charming, with lots of character and the location excellent for walking and exploring the city. We didn't even need our rental car! We stayed in the Aqua Room which was small, but we didn't need extra space because of the large common area and because the room opens to the back patio. The bed was soft, which I liked but was not good for my husband's back. As mentioned in other reviews, there is noise from the landing planes overhead. The noise did not bother us even without earplugs - although earplugs at night really made it a non-issue. The breakfasts were delicious - they put on a nice spread incorporating local ingredients into dishes like fritatas. They always had toast, fruit, tea and coffee - an excellent start to the day. We appreciated the hosts' presence at breakfast, available to chat and make recommendations for daily exploring.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tica535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The location is great. Walking distance to bars and resturants.The hotel room decor is not my style. We had a great view from our room. Very small lobby. But great customer service and quick check in process.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDMF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This B&B had almost everything you need. In terms of location, it was just right. A few minutes from Balboa Park, a beautiful place worth a few hours if not days exploration. It was about a mile from the centre, so 20min walk and had a few lovely eateries within a block or 2. It felt safe, the neighbourhood seemed chic and it was super well connected by public transport. San Diego has a lovely vibe to it and its more about taking in the feel of the place rather than specific attractions. However, would recommend Coronado for a bit of cycling and a jog over to the park at Sunset. The house itself has great character, full of curios and old pictures which give the residence an identity of its own. The room (blue) was cute. It was basic and clean, the bed linen was really lovely. Take the time to sit on the hammock out front with a glass of wine and watch the planes (quite amusing). Agreed with a few comments, that it does look a little worn out. I think the age of the house is a feature they are trying to emphasise but perhaps some sympathetic updating could be considered?

Finally, our main appreciation has to be levelled at Doug and Ben, who made this a personal experience for us. From check in, Doug took the time to run through some recommendations (spot on BTW), walking routes and suggestions. Ben even took our heavy bags up to the bedroom whilst we were checking in. Breakfast became a feature of our day, just chatting to them was a pleasure and we appreciated the efforts made to feed us a fruit-based starter and frittata entree of the day. The little orchids on the table and pomegranate garnishes would not be expected in a usual b&b. Finally, they took the time to plan a scenic route for us to take to Palm Springs, again, much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The owners, Ben and Doug, really makes this feel like a comfortable home. They are a wealth of information regarding what to see in San Diego. The best part about staying at a B & B are the people you meet - you don't get that kind of interaction in a hotel. Past reviews mention the airplanes - yes, the planes can be heard and seen. If this is going to bother you book somewhere else. The planes normally stop by 11 pm, but do start up again around 5:30 or 6:00 am. I found the planes more entertainment than annoyance. The parking is free here, and there is plenty of it. If there is nothing available on the street, you can park in the driveway. It is so close to a lot the San Diego attractions - most places are walkable, but taxi are available and not that expensive. The house is clean and tidy. The breakfast is ok, but if you stay there more than one night you basically get the same breakfast again. They serve up beautifully cut fruit, and then some sort of egg pie - along with their homemade bread. The owners do not eat meat and do not put poisons into their lush garden - so they are staying true to who they are with what they serve their guests. Also, they give a two hour span when you can have breakfast so it makes sense to have something easy to serve so they aren't in the kitchen all morning. If I had any suggestion it would be the house is getting a little worn and could do with some sanding and painting around the trim work and windows. It would help put a little shine back into the 1888 house. If you've never tried a B & B, this would be a good one to start with - very charming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews