We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood treasure”
Review of Keating House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keating House
Ranked #7 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neighborhood treasure”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This place was wonderful. We stayed for three nights in July 2014. The fresh homemade bread and fresh fruit every morning were amazing. The entrees always had fresh ingredients too. Ben and Doug were great hosts and made us feel comfortable. When we first arrived (first trip to the city) Ben brought out a map and showed us neat things to do. Everything is in walking distance if you want to spend a great deal of time walking around, but if you have a car, everything is only a quick drive away.
We stayed in the Blue Room. The claw foot tub is original (I believe) to the house. It is beautiful, but it was difficult to move around in the thin tub. The space was adequate for a short stay and each morning the company at breakfast was fun.
Next time we visit San Diego, we will be staying there again!

Room Tip: The Blue Room was on the back half of the house so we did not have any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    42
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
103
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have been staying here for 5 or 6 years, and are always happy to return. Great hosts (Ben and Doug), great location in walking distance to all the things we like to do in San Diego, great breakfast, great company at breakfast, and many great restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We like the Music Room for its original Victorian wall paint and its wonderful bathroom. It's al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 933JudyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Keating House is a lovely property and the owners, Ben and Doug, were wonderful hosts. The house is very conveniently located in a quiet residential area within a short walking distance to area restaurants, Balboa Park and Little Italy. The home's gardens are beautiful with a nice seating area in the back yard. I stayed in the Aqua room and enjoyed being able to open the french doors to appreciate the fresh air and sound of the fountain and the birds singing. Ben and Doug provided great recommendations and directions to area sights and restaurants. Even with 12 guests staying there, it was quiet and I only saw a couple of them each day. The only slight negative is that the bed was very creaky, but despite that it was still comfortable. I also appreciated that I was able to leave my baggage while exploring for the day and then return in the evening to use the restroom in the back to change clothes before my red eye flight home. Other reviewers have complained about the airplane noise - I didn't think it was that bothersome, but I was in a ground floor room and I grew up next to O'Hare.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJS_vacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excellent place to stay- B&B is designed in a Victorian motif and kudos to Ben and Doug for an excellent job. The locale is very safe-as is most of San Diego and I routinely walked from the Gas Lamp District to/from Keating Inn~ 1.5 miles distant. Public transportation is excellent if you prefer the bus. There's no TV in the rooms as expected with a Victorian design but who needs it! Ben and Doug are wonderful hosts. There's a little shop two blocks away if one needs necessities. Also, there's a restaurant (Hob Nob) established in the 1940s, just two blocks down, which serves excellent home-cooking at a very reasonable price. In summary, Keating Inn is fab beating one of these fancy hotels hands down!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hosts love what they do. Breakfast is prepared on demand in the gorgeous dining room. The house is lovingly restored and has garden spots to sit and enjoy the birds and tropical foliage. I was able to walk to the zoo as well as downtown. Quiet, residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantorboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Az.
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The B&B is close to everything. Walk to Balboa Park and it's museums, gardens and zoo. Little Italy is very close with great restaurants. The Keating house is very quaint, the breakfast is wonderful, but, we had Quiche three days in a row. We would have appreciated something different each day (pancakes, stuffed french toast, etc.) The inn keepers Doug and Ben are very helpful and recommended some great neighborhood restaurants. Give it a try,you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Keating House this past December and we loved it, as we always do! It is beautiful, peaceful, and Ben and Doug make their guests feel at home. Ben shares more tips for good walks, restaurants, and anything else you could ever want from San Diego than most locals would be happy about. And Doug makes healthy and gorgeous breakfasts that taste delicious! We suggest the Keating House to all our friends visiting San Diego. And on this past visit some of our friends from the area came by and were so impressed that they want a stay-cation at the Keating House! And about the planes... yes, if you are sitting outside in the garden (which you should make a point of doing) you will notice the planes. Inside our room, we never did.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmrChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Inn at the Park
#126 of 278 in San Diego
551 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,128 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 278 in San Diego
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keating House

Property: Keating House
Address: 2331 Second Ave., Between Juniper and Kalmia Sts., San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Victorian B&B located within walking distance of downtown, Balboa Park, Zoo, little Italy, and harbor. All rooms have a private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keating House Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing