We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
310 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the location. It's right on the beach and very close to tons of restaurants, bars and shops.
The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. They had a fridge and micro and coffee. They do charge $25/day for parking, and the outlets were poorly placed, but other than that everything was positive. The staff was really friendly too.
My favorite part was the patio. Our private one was large and spacious. The general patio was wonderful too. We enjoyed a nice glass of wine by the outdoor fire pit for a cozy little sunset. I'd go back just for that.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jgiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    336
    79
    41
    30
See reviews for
750
732
40
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I spend 3 great nights at the Pacific Terrace just prior to the Thanksgiving holiday. The service was outstanding from the front desk to housekeeping. They were always greeting us with a smile and to ask if they could help us in any way. The views from the hotel out to the Pacific were amazing. Sunsets were spectacular. The rooms were well appointed, The grounds and lobby were keep sparkling clean.

The location was perfect, close to downtown and La Jolla to walk the coast and see the seals. You can walk or use a bike (provided at no charge) to wander the boardwalk along the beach for quite a distance. The hotel was easy to locate from the highway and in a nice area.

The breakfast buffet was good. Fresh made warm cookies in the evening as well as fresh fruit at the front desk.

If we ever to return to San Diego which I hope to this is the Hotel for us.

Room Tip: If you possible and can do it get a Presidential Suite. Right in the middle of the hotel. Great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canuck55Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Pacific Terrace is the place to stay if you want to stay at the beach in San Diego. We have stayed for the last 4 years and hope to make it a tradition.. Pool is warm, views amazing, the staff could not be any friendlier. Easy access to restaurants, beach , walking. The rooms are still has nice as they were 4 years ago. A lot of the staff have worked there just as long and continue to be fantastic. Can't think of anything bad.. Fantastic hotel and staff.

Room Tip: When making reservation and traveling with kids would confirm needs. Bigger room less view. Some hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgnia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We only were able to stay one night, due to meetings in another part of the state, but I wish we could have stayed here the entire time we were in California! Amazing views of Pacific Beach. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Upgraded us to Ocean View room since hotel was not full. Rooms are beautifully decorated and large with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Hotel is located within walking distance to lots or restaurants and shops in the area. Will definitely stay again and actually have decided to plan a trip around staying at this hotel next year!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The5Rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Me and my partner stayed here as part of our road trip and this hotel is out of this world, look no further. On arrival the staff were very friendly and accommodating. They gave us a voucher to get a free glass of wine at the bar or sent to our room. Each evening free warm cookies were put in the bar so as guests could help themselves. Throughout the day there was free water, lemonade and ice tea. This hotel stood out miles compared to any of the other hotels in PB and any other hotel I have stayed in for that matter. It’s the little things in life that make all the difference and the added little extras they gave to all guests. Each night we were given a turn down service and given chocolates on our pillows and a breakdown of what staff would be on duty the following day and the weather etc. They were so informative. The view itself was absolutely stunning. We had a partial ocean view and it was incredible. I loved just sitting on our balcony and watching the sunset. There are so many wonderful things about this hotel, you have to experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: Ask 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel for one night on Thursday November 21. We have two children age 6 and 21 months. We have travelled quite a bit throughout N. America and Europe (luxury, budget and everything in between) and as long as things are clean we are generally happy and optimistic people.

As we were only staying one night mid-week between trips to SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo I decided to book a cheap, internet special, non-ocean view room. When we arrived and requested a cot in our room the front desk offered to upgrade us to a suite so we would have more room. We stayed in room 303, I believe it was called the St. Kitts suite. It was amazing! It was very roomy and beautifully decorated. There was a large four person table, couches, chairs and a large TV. There were two beautiful, and comfortable, queen beds. The bathroom was huge with a very large Jacuzzi tub and a TV mounted to the wall. My six year old daughter was thrilled to watch cartoons while playing in the tub. The toiletries are Tommy Bahama, not a brand I am familiar with but very nice. Our baby wasn't feeling well so the front desk provided us with several menus of restaurants that deliver right to your door. They have Keurig coffee makers in your room which was perfect for having fresh, hassle free coffee. The windows facing the beach are very large and we enjoyed our morning coffee on the balcony while watching surfers tackle the waves. The only potential problem is that the railing bars on the balconies are horizontal. This is definitely dangerous for families with children who like to climb and would be a building code violation at home. A minor complaint.

We had the buffet breakfast in the morning (only $14). It was on the smaller side but was quite tasty and well rounded. The only thing I could suggest would be that they put some hot chocolate pouches out with the tea selection. My daughter was looking for some. We felt quite burnt out from 4 days walking around Disneyland and 1 day at Seaworld so we decided to skip going to the zoo and just have a lazy day. The hotel staff was wonderful with helping us do this. Although check out time is at 11:00, we were allowed to continue to use the hotel facilities. We kept our car in the parkade, used the pool and hot tub, sipped the complimentary lemonade, and rinsed sand off ourselves in the outdoor shower. The staff even offered to keep the jug of milk for the baby in the fridge in the breakfast room for us until we left. The hotel is on a small cliff just beside the beach so you need to walk down a few steps to get to it. The sand was soft and my 6 year old daughter loved jumping in the waves and making sand castles. The woman at the front desk gave us a fun restaurant lunch suggestion (Fat Fish) and gave us a coupon for a free appetizer there. She also suggested that we go see the sea lions in La Jolla which both children loved.

I am a very smiley person and I found all of the staff to be very friendly and smiley back to me. Even when we realized, to our embarrassment, that we had no American cash on hand to tip the bell hop with, he was very friendly. The friendliness of the staff, the beach, and the lovely accommodations made this my favourite part of our California adventure. I hope to come back again and stay a bit longer to really get to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLcoolBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. booked thru expedia and got a very good deal for a night. my friend and I decided to stay one more night. the weather was excellent and so the hotel, views, location and service. closed to lots of restaurants on the broadwalk as well as a in the surrounding area. very clean suite, good accommodations with big balcony overlooking the ocean. you can sleep with the balcony door open which is great so you can hear the sound of the ocean. used the pool too although i'm not a fan of pools. breakfast was charged 50% of value so it was USD 7/person and it was plenty. would strongly recommend it but you should look for a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank billiken17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing