We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT THE SAME HOTEL AS WHEN WE STAYED 10 TIMES BEFORE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel has gone downhill.... they must be affected by the economy. No wine time at 5 pm.....only 1 glass when you check-in.....toiletry products downgrade.....the bed height is way to high to get into bed.....bumped my toes several times..not enough tv channels..they still have cookie time at 4 pm but now you get looks from the staff if you take too many....:-( ....maybe next time when we will stay in SD we will try another hotel!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: only stay on the 3rd floor with an ocean view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chanel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Director of Sales at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for posting your review, our staff reads each and every one and we really take the comments to heart! We did convert from the wine hour to a happy hour about 5 years ago, in response to the guests asking for more drink options and specials. Our in-room toiletries are all from the Tommy Bahama resort line, and the feedback we get from our guests is that they love them! I'm glad you enjoyed the cookies - the warm cookie smell coming from our kitchen at about 4 o'clock each day is hard to beat!
We look forward to having you back with us soon, and thank you again, for taking the time to write.
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Terrace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We received excellent service at this hotel, especially by Dan S., especially with his help with valet, luggage, and dinner recommendations. Pat was also excellent in maintenance. The ocean view exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. You won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel staff great, rooms great, fresh baked cookies every afternoon great, breakfast great, drinks available for pool or lounging great. Views wonderful. Stayed one night partial ocean view. Rest of time in ocean view. I agree with other reviews that ocean view is the best forwatching surfers, people on the boardwalk and fantastic sunsets. (But if you get a partial ocean view you see up or down the beach either to the right or left, but not both ways.) Had never been to Dan Diego. Found public transportation downtown and marina area was okay and took cab back at night. rented car to LaJolla area, and the drive was sooo worth it, just beautiful. Fun places to each within walking distance. Dinner outside watching the ocean (they have warmers turned on at night) A rooftop bar for drinks and sandwhiches one night. Great fun area.

Room Tip: We thought we did not want an ocean view room right in the middle directly above the pool, might be...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tam0460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I've done a fair amount of traveling at some very high end hotels and I can say without reservation that this was my best hotel experience yet. Staff and accommodations were impeccable. Tremendous value. I probably would not have intentions of staying in San Diego again accept the Pacific Terrace will likely lure me back. Incredible experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

So I passed a really hard winter in Montreal , Quebec. I told myself where am I dreaming to go this winter. I dreamt of San Diego , California. I researched a hotel on the beach with the amenities I was looking for. travelling Solo posed a challenge. I am so happy and grateful I chose PTH. It was everything I dreamt about to get myself back together and relaxed. The staff was so so wonderful, friendly , accommodating and super friendly. I was a little afraid, but from the minute I got there I knew I was going to be happy. The Hotel is so beautiful!! I felt so pampered. I was right on the beach and near the pier and all the beach life I wanted. I was close to the boardwalk so I was able to do my exercises , walking and biking. Breakfast was not included, I had to pay....but it was worth every penny!! outstanding...wonderful staff and the food was so much and delicious. The pool was clean and beautiful and after a hard day of activities I would go into the hot tub(Jacuzzi) to relax. The room was more than a princess could dream of.

when I first arrived, they made a mistake and placed me in a room without a Balcony or deck and I firmly opposed, because it was the first thing I asked for when I booked....I was expecting a difficult argument. The manager immediately put me in the 1st floor suite....which was suited for a group of kings! I could not believe my eyes! I got scared and ran to the front desk and asked them if the price had changed and she said "no" that I would pay the same price because they made the mistake, and they included free beach towels, and bycicle. Yes the place is pricey, but if you can afford it ....it is everything I ever dreamt of and I would go back.....I worked very hard for this trip and they made my dream come true.

One of the best parts was I was not far from LaJolla, which I dreamt of seeing because I had no car, I rode my bike there....thank god I'm in shape. I loved PTH hope to go back again and share it with someone else....Go there if you can!

thank you, Lena Mastroprimiano

Room Tip: you must call them and confirm what type of room they are putting you in!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mastroprimiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our grandson, escaping Chicago's cold, and it was delightful. We had a room on the first floor, with a lovely patio right by the pool, and it was really convenient. The room was spacious, the beds ridiculously comfortable and the bathroom well-appointed. Every person on the staff was pleasant and made a point of greeting you. Great atmosphere, plus we could walk to many shops and restaurants. The proximity to the beach was awesome, and the
pool with its wind-buffering glass panels was great. Plusses were the complimentary beach chairs and toys, but there was a $14/day for "beach package," which I gather meant the towels we used each day. Valet parking was $25/day, but we were able to find free street parking every night. Overall a great place to stay in a fabulous location, and we will return.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I cannot say enough about this hotel. It is a gem.
Perfect location for laying on the beach or cruising the boardwalk.
The rooms are exceptional. Very large with a patio that leads to the pool or to a daily wine tasting.
You can go from your room to the pool to the beach back to the pool and then to your room without missing a beat.
The ambiance and location made for a very romantic anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor next to the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#9 of 278 in San Diego
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £188 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing