We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is right on the beach. Steps away from staircase to beach. Request an ocean view on 3rd floor. Rooms are beautifully decorated in Tommy Bahama style beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys and bikes are all included. Bathrooms are a bit dated. Expected nicer compared to the style of the room. Valet parking for $25 a day. Service was outstanding. Rachel at front desk was wonderful and super friendly. Provide late checkout for a fee. I booked that at soon as we arrived. There was some confusion with that. Needed to double check. Then room key didn't work. Just double check everything. Happy hour poolside everyday from 4 to 5. Perfectly located. Definitely expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Ocean view on 3rd floor. I wouldn't want one overlooking pool with ocean view. Get one on the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ew321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I have three kids under the age of 15, the beach access and the hotels amenities beats them all. Down in the lobby waiting for you are bicycles, or beach chairs, boogie boards, sand toys & umbrellas. Our room was great, the pool was very clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. If you needed anything, the awesome concierge Angela took care of it. Going back in September.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Cfdbear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Visited hotel on accident while walking from Amore's Pizzeria, walked in and thought it would be funny to see the price, we thought we couldn't afford it, we were going to stay at hotel circle that night... Eric greeted us and did a great professional job showing us two rooms and their amazing views without us committing to stay, explained their service, helped us choose where to eat and it was/is luxury without being too stuffy, we are Midwest folks. Short of it we canceled our other hotels and are staying 6 nights. I am thankful I walked in to see the price, if it cost more than it does it would be worth it, La Jolla in 12 minutes, SeaWorld in 4, Old Town in 7 and the views and easy parking and the views

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel for the fourth of July 2014. The staff was very friendly and the room had an ocean view that was magnificent. The food was great and never waited long for service. We accidently left a pair of boots behind and they were kind enough to mail them to us, free of charge. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationGirl411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The incompetence of the reservations desk and their accounting department is the reason my credit card was overcharged by over $1000. Way before we even checked into the hotel, they mishandled my reservations. And it was I who noticed their mistake and had to spend about an hour with the 3rd party booking company to have this hotel resolve my reservations. And even after they acknowledged their mistake, it took them over two weeks to refund my money. Meanwhile, they benefited from that charge on my credit card, interest free! It was like I loaned them that money for two weeks for free, only to have to argue with them in the end to get it refunded. And even now, one week after having checked out of their hotel, unexplained charges continue to appear on my credit card by this hotel. Once again, their "excuse" was something pertaining to the way the Controller handled the account. Meanwhile, the charge remains on my credit card until they resolve it, and God knows how long it's going to take them this time to refund me the money this time. The location of the hotel is perfect overall, but if I had to choose a second time, I would DEFINITELY NOT stay here again because I do not want to go through the nightmare of their business practices all over again. God help others who've fallen prey to their ineptitude also.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Mae-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Director of Sales at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for writing your review, we share our guests' comments with our staff on a regular basis. I am so sorry we didn't provide you with the best hotel experience, that is always our goal as a group. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again, so we can leave a better impression with you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. The décor is Tommy Bahama so a beachy feel. The bed are comfortable and sturdy! We were in room 325 which is a suite w/ a partial ocean view. The view was great. The Hotel was close to restaurants and the beach. The beach toys and chairs were helpful.
The car parking was $25 but I guess I'm used to paying for hotel parking. Breakfast was good

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank drdotbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is our second time staying here and both times this place has exceeded our expectations. The rooms are clean and large. It's walking distance to all the restaurants and shops in Pacific Beach. The kids loved the pool and spa and my wife and I liked how close it is to the stairs down to the beach. They have boogie board's, chairs and beach umbrellas while supplies last at no additional charge, a nice perk not to have to rent these.
The one downside to this place is they charge for a continental style breakfast, for 675 per night they really should throw it in.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sdavis71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,120 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,048 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £227 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing