We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This is a really nice hotel in a great location. The front desk staff are awesome. We stayed one night and got the internet special of $115/ night for a partial ocean view. Otherwise, it is way more. It is definately worth this price, but not sure about 300-400 dollars. There are many places within walking distance. Overall, we loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newtravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2009

We love most everything about this place but there are a few issues that bother me. The staff is great, the location can't be beat and the hotel has personality. We have stayed here two years in a row and a trend I have noticed, perhaps economy based, is that if they have vacancies you can walk in off the street and pay 1/3 of the regular price. I get it from a business point of view but I am paying $400 a night and the guy next to me is paying $150-200. Here's an idea. Lower all the prices a little bit and maybe that would book out more rooms for a longer period so the hotel would not have to lower themselves to a business practice straight out of ebay. In the past they offered a continental breakfast now they are trying to make the very little dining room more then it can be. I think they should shift back to continental and have a small fee that someone pays associated with their room if they desire. Stop the hot meals, it was painful to watch people cram into that space staff included. There are several restaurants within a short stroll that are decent.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hulasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Our stay here was above and beyond our expectations. The staff treated our stay like we booked a 5 star hotel. They were friendly, helpful, accommodating, and polite. We did not want to checkout. The property is beachfront so even lounging at pool you see the sunset and ocean. Nice 42" plasma tv, I think 42". Rooms were cozy and since we were on the first floor we could walk right out to pool. The beach was nice. Many places to eat nearby and hotel provides dinner info for surrounding areas. The walls are kind of thin, so be prepared to get up at 8am. I prefer to sleep late when I have no agenda. Valet parking is $20.00. I recommend this hotel if you are searching for nice hotel and do not want to pay for 4 or 5 star prices.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This hotel was amazing - the appearance, the cleanliness, the rooms, the staff, the location - the list goes on. The staff went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

This place was recommended by close friends. To summarize: great rooms and views;
exceptional guest room interiors; very helpful/pleasant staff.

Negatives: DON'T STAY HERE AT SPRING BREAK IF YOU CAME TO RELAX.
They charge $20/night to park which is gouging.

Overall: 9 out of 10

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

This was a very good hotel. The price was right (even though it was the off-season discount), everyone was friendly, room was clean, balcony led right out to the ocean, beach was nearby, lots of places to eat were very close, and there was very little about it that I think could have been improved. They even came up with a free glass of wine on my first night.

That said, there were a few things. The bathroom was just a little tacky and badly maintained (though clean and not bad enough to affect my enjoyment any), they charge $20 parking - which if you're paying full price would seem almost like an insult, but I paid half so it didn't bother me too much... there is no onsite restaurant. All of the extra charges (parking, etc) made me feel like I was being nickel and dimed, and if I'd had to pay full price it wouldn't have been worth it. They did have a "continental breakfast" one morning - which was a danish and an orange juice - and $9 for an omelet and some sausage. While I can understand them charging for the hot stuff, you can get a better continental breakfast at a place half the price.

Go on the off season and you'll have a great time for a decent price... go when it's full price and you'll probably feel a little cheated. Not because it's not a great stay - it is - it's just not worth $500 a night plus parking.

Oh, and watch out for the birds.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank duskglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

I really like this boutique hotel and Pacific Beach especially. The rooms are nice. The staff is friendly and it's right on the beach. The hotel currently serves a complimentary continental breakfast with *interesting* one-piece-only rules that are given to guests by a very sincere employee. Instead of being offended that we were policed for our breakfast picks, I was actually sort of tickled! (I always have a piece of fruit and coffee, so it was no big deal.)

Another good thing about the location is that I never had to leave the area. Small shops, restaurants, the beach, the boardwalk -- all were right there. I never felt the need to visit the other attractions. The hotel met my need to veg out, hear waves, and never have to jump in a taxi during my stay.

Last thing: housekeeping can be pretty slow. If you are someone who needs your room cleaned daily and before noon, make sure to let them know beforehand.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravelFactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,127 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,051 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £231 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing