We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was better than the one on our honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel in San Diego for two nights over our Spring Break. We had a wonderful experience! We stayed in a beautiful ocean front hotel for our honeymoon that we thought could not be beat. The Pacific Terrace Hotel has now taken the top spot for our favorite hotel! We would like to make a family tradition of it and come each year to the hotel. Next time we will take our two children.

It is family friendly and great for a quiet get a way for just a couple. We stayed in an ocean view Jr Suite with a king bed. It was very spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was soft and cozy (I am very pregnant, and it was the best night's rest I had had in a while!). The customer service was amazing. The hotel is very close to many attractions. Sea World and Old Town and the Gas Lamp district are very close. I am a very picky person when it comes to hotels. I am not easily impressed- The Pacific Terrace Hotel exceeded all of my high expectations. Thank you for my relaxing vacation! We will see you next year!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tallmom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Terrace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

I was on a buisness trip with a group from my work (30 of us each in our own room). Some of us got Jr Suites with nice views, I got a regular first floor room with a view of the ocean through the pool area. Which was blocked by the plants they have. They waived the parking fee for us in the garage because we stayed for 11 days. Granted I would have been reimbursed if they charged us anyways.

The staff was very accomodating. I wanted a microwave in my room, and they brought one up to me. However the way they plugged it in, I kept killing the power strip it was plugged into. Which didn't help at 4 am when I was getting up. (Jet lag from East Coast) The staff would always recommend a good place to eat for me. both nearby and further away. They gave me directions to both Target and Walmart (I forgot to pack a swim suit).

The TV was nice and big. Being able to listen to the ocean at night was a plus, expect on the weekends with kids who were there to party checked in, then I couldn't sleep well. The pool was very warm, which helped with the very cool breeze coming off the ocean.

Ok now the negatives.
I contacted the hotel before my trip to inquire about HSIA. They said it was wireless in the hotel, and there are no wired connections in the rooms. Ok fine, I took a wireless laptop with me. I decided not to bring DVD's with me (since I was traveling for such a long period of time), relying on my Netflix streaming account to watch movies online. BIG mistake!!! The conneciton signal in the room was a 3 bar, 4 if I was lucky. There are no Desk level electrical outlets, so you have to search for one for your computer. In this age of Internet access, I would expect a wireless signal of at least 4 to 5 anywhere in the hotel. Oh well.
I meant to ask for turn down service at a different time, because when I got back from work, I would turn my own bed down. But the little chocolates they provided are nice.
Thier breakfast was a JOKE. It was easier to make my own in my room (after I got the microwave). Of course we headed into work at 6am. so breakfast wasn't even being served yet. I didn't see any dinner offered, as other people have written.

I highly recommend this hotel for a little get away. Being on the beach is nice. I walked to dinner most nights, when I was eating close.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverjay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised with a good sized room and a terrific beach view. Katherine, the concierge, was very helpful to us in finding the best activities to do with our two girls ages 7 and 4. We never left the hotel without directions or discounted tickets to our activities courtesy of a great staff. On site breakfast in the mornings was also terrific. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cincyoh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This is a really nice hotel in a great location. The front desk staff are awesome. We stayed one night and got the internet special of $115/ night for a partial ocean view. Otherwise, it is way more. It is definately worth this price, but not sure about 300-400 dollars. There are many places within walking distance. Overall, we loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newtravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We love most everything about this place but there are a few issues that bother me. The staff is great, the location can't be beat and the hotel has personality. We have stayed here two years in a row and a trend I have noticed, perhaps economy based, is that if they have vacancies you can walk in off the street and pay 1/3 of the regular price. I get it from a business point of view but I am paying $400 a night and the guy next to me is paying $150-200. Here's an idea. Lower all the prices a little bit and maybe that would book out more rooms for a longer period so the hotel would not have to lower themselves to a business practice straight out of ebay. In the past they offered a continental breakfast now they are trying to make the very little dining room more then it can be. I think they should shift back to continental and have a small fee that someone pays associated with their room if they desire. Stop the hot meals, it was painful to watch people cram into that space staff included. There are several restaurants within a short stroll that are decent.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hulasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Our stay here was above and beyond our expectations. The staff treated our stay like we booked a 5 star hotel. They were friendly, helpful, accommodating, and polite. We did not want to checkout. The property is beachfront so even lounging at pool you see the sunset and ocean. Nice 42" plasma tv, I think 42". Rooms were cozy and since we were on the first floor we could walk right out to pool. The beach was nice. Many places to eat nearby and hotel provides dinner info for surrounding areas. The walls are kind of thin, so be prepared to get up at 8am. I prefer to sleep late when I have no agenda. Valet parking is $20.00. I recommend this hotel if you are searching for nice hotel and do not want to pay for 4 or 5 star prices.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This hotel was amazing - the appearance, the cleanliness, the rooms, the staff, the location - the list goes on. The staff went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
976 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#9 of 278 in San Diego
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £188 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing