We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,308)
Filter reviews
2,308 results
Traveller rating
1,747
389
94
47
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,747
389
94
47
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full ocean view boogie boards sand toys beach chairs ocean front junior suite la jolla pool area hear the waves board walk turn down service crystal pier hot tub view room first floor underground parking small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,308 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Escaped the snow for a couple nights in Jan 2019. King Suite with amazing ocean and pool view. Sleeping to the waves crashing on shore was wonderful. Staff, attentiveness, and amenities are all great. Will definitely return if in the area. Food service is limited, (albeit surprisingly good for what they make) but I expected that from a small hotel. It hardly matters since there are so many great restaurants around. Off season rates were decent for the area.

Room tip: splurge on an upper level ocean view.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We first stayed at The Pacific Terrace Hotel 5 years ago and were happy to get another chance to visit. The views from this hotel are gorgeous - even the partial ocean view rooms. Staff is extremely friendly. Parking is an issue in this area, so there is a charge for using hotel parking. Valets are lightning fast and friendly. Standard rooms are a generous size. Furnishings and design are starting to look a little tired, but everything was clean. Outdoor gates and signs show a little bit of wear and tear from the ocean (rust, etc) and probably could use some updating, but that’s not anything that directly impacted our stay.

The location is ideal if you enjoy the fun, youthful vibe of the area. We love seeing so many people out doing their own thing. There are countless restaurants within walking distance, or it’s fun to catch a ride on one of the many scooters, too. Pacific Beach is an easy drive from airport, downtown, Balboa Park, La Jolla, etc

Our favorite breakfast spot is Kono’s Cafe. Why waste your money for hotel food when such delicious, but still cheap breakfast is available at such a very short walk away?

Can’t wait to visit again!
.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MBrock205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrySPacificTerrace, Director of Digital Marketing at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MBrock205, First of all we are so grateful you found the time for a second visit! Thank you so very much for writing such a detailed review about your recent vacation. You certainly touched on all areas of your stay and we appreciate very much all of the feedback. So happy you enjoyed our beach views, comfortable rooms and found our staff so friendly-we will be sure to let them know. Also noted is your comments on the signage as we are currently in the process of updating. Looking forward to your next visit the next time your travels bring you back to Pacific Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the Best hotel’s in Pacific Beach. I really enjoyed it, every amenitie I needed. Food was great, bed was comfortable, hot tub was hot, view was gorgeous. Location location! Uber rides to nearby bars $5-6. Valet parking. Kept the rental in the underground parking. And a Free glass of wine!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Darren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrySPacificTerrace, Director of Digital Marketing at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Darren, Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and the 5-Star review, we appreciate it very much! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our amenities, location and comfortable rooms. and especially your complimentary glass of wine!
We hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I can’t believe how awesome this place is. Management is really doing something right. Every interaction we had the entire time was flawless. People truly want you to have a nice visit and have set up this place to be as enjoyable as any 5 star luxury hotel. I can’t rememebr a time I’ve stayed somewhere and felt as welcomed and not nickel and dimed for everything.
The location is perfect, bikes to borrow, free cookies, giant room with kitchen and pull out bed for kids.... it was all way more than I expedited for the low price.
My husband left his pants and they just volunteered to mail them back to him. I am truly so blown away that a reasonably priced family hotel has this level of service. We will be back!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rachellebrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerrySPacificTerrace, Director of Digital Marketing at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow, thank you so much for such wonderful comments and such a detailed review of your recent stay at the Pacific Terrace Hotel! So pleased you had such a great family vacation and enjoyed our great beach location, rooms and extra amenities. Most of all thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, we appreciate those comments as we always strive to give our guests the best experience possible, Very excited to hear you will be back, please make it soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019

The staff at Pacific Terrace were always friendly and helpful. The view from our ocean front balcony was spectacular! The hotel is near restaurants and shops and you can walk on the sand just outside the hotel! Nice place to relax and unwind.

Room tip: The 3rd floor ocean view room was spectacular!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews