We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in Sept ocean room-awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #107 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Anthem, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay in Sept ocean room-awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Thanks Laura for addressing any concerns we had! You made our stay wonderful-polite staff always been going 27 years -awesome job-always have a great time. This hotel maybe old but it does have memories and if you ask for services like towels etc you really do get what you want. Far more reasonable than your high dollar hotels like Best Western. It may not be glamor but keep in mind you get what you pay for. I can't complain in my 27 years here Hey you can't go wrong. I would recommend this to friends and family because they recommended it to me.

Room Tip: 4th floor is always the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear StaceyM,
Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your repeat business. We cater to numerous guests who come to the Surfer Beach year after year expecting quality, beachfront accommodations at a reasonable price,. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Sincerely,
The Surfer Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    178
    96
    56
    64
See reviews for
204
184
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is our 3rd stay at Surfer Beach Hotel. We stayed here even before they updated it. It is steps away to the beach and you can see & hear the water on the 3rd & 4th floors. This time the 1st night we were put on the 1st floor. This was not my choice but the hotel was sold out. The guy at the front desk tried to relocate me to the upper floors. He really did try. The next night we were on the 4th floor which was nice.
It is very laid back here and the hotel is not glamorous. However, it you want the beach, relaxation, and there is a great restaurant next door then this is the place. Pacific Beach has lots of spots to eat, drink & be merry.
From my understanding, the pool will be up and running soon. Also there is no air condition, however you can get a fan which helps when the sun shines in the afternoon.
This is a pet friendly hotel where the Best Western across the street is not. We have not stayed there.

Room Tip: Request the 3rd & 4th floors. The front rooms closest to the beach would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcborange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, Staff at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
The team at the Surfer Beach Hotel would like to thank you for your wonderful comments! We have been working hard to ensure that our service and rooms are exceptional. Comments such as yours are rewarding. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

The Surfer team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

NO AIR CONDITIONING IN ROOMS! Even an Ocean Front room was awful to sleep in with the patio door open & a box fan running all night. No hot water in our 3rd floor room. Party of 4 and we had 1 bath towel! Pool was drained so no swimming there. Very old property in need of updating! Customer service was good but way overpriced for quality of property. Go across the street to the Best Western which is also beachfront. Definitely worth the price to stay there. Clean, comfortable and air-conditioned rooms. Would not recommend spending the money for this place even though the location is great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We apologize that you were not happy with your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We do appreciate your comments and we do take them very seriously. Our team is very focused on providing a clean quality room with great service. It is disappointing when we do not meet the guest expectations. We will share your comments with the team and focus on improving.
Thank you
The Surfer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

It was horrible. The rooms are small, old and dirty. I wouldn't recomment this hotel to anyone. There is a best western directly across the street from The Surfer Hotel that I WOULD recommend. The location is great, but that's it. You should really think twice before booking a room here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We apologize that you were not happy with your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We do appreciate your comments and we do take them very seriously. Our team is very focused on providing a clean quality room with great service. It is disappointing when we do not meet the guest expectations.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the first time this past weekend and was very impressed by the great customer service and cleanliness of the hotel. Waking up every morning to the view of the ocean and hearing the waves crash through out the night (we left the sliding glass door open) was wonderful and the convenience of the surrounding stores and restaurants made it perfect! I travel to San Diego a lot and I am so glad I picked this hotel this time. It will definitely go on my list of places to stay when in San Diego!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the corner of the two rows have very close balconies, if you like privacy do not request th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice before and was scheduled to stay recently the night before a wedding. Unfortunately I came down with an illness the night before my flight to CA and was unable to make it to the hotel.

Even though the hotel has a 72 hour cancellation policy they were able to cancel my reservation the night before I was scheduled to arrive with no hassle and no charges due to illness.

Great location and nice rooms.

Room Tip: Great customer Service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I loved staying at Surfer Beach Hotel. It was our first trip to San Diego and we booked this hotel because it was right on Pacific Beach boardwalk and close to everything.
The rooms are not luxurious, but you have everything you need: microwave, small fridge, free wifi and everything is very clean.
The hotel was perfect for hanging out at the beach during the day and partying late in the night hours.
The front desk lady Laura was very nice and helped us figure out our way around and all her recommendations were on the spot. She took care of all of our requests and even got us discounts at the restaurant next door. I also liked that she is fluent in French and Romanian (I speak both languages)
Surfer Beach hotel will be my go to hotel whenever I go to San Diego and I go there often.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. It's worth it especially if you go with your significant other. The suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaMarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#124 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#226 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#148 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing