We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay again. Disgusting!”
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #101 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Maybe Would have stayed here for college spring break but Over priced! Staff rude. No air conditioning and smelly. Our room doesn't look anything like the website pictures. Shame on Trip Advisor for representing this property! Best Western next door would be much better.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear CamBrew,
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay. We have a variety of views from our rooms, with the most affordable rooms not having a view of the ocean. However, our hotel is located steps from the sand, so many choose these rooms for their value. I apologize that you felt our team did not accommodate you properly. Please email me personally at adam.dellarocca@trigildservices.com so that I can hear more detail about your stay.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights. The first night was in a standard room and the last two were in a junior suite. The process of getting moved from the one room to the other was a hassle. The front desk/housekeeping did nothing to get our new room ready quickly once the other guests checked out so we could get moved.

The restaurant next door has great food and overlooks the ocean/beach.The hotel pool was drained and in need of repair/closed. Some of the other amenities listed on the hotel's website were not available. Parking is tight, do not plan to show up with a large vehicle. My mid sized car was hit in the parking lot the last night we were there.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small. Junior suites are better if you don't need two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Tammy L,
Thank you for your review of the Surfer Beach Hotel. We regret that your stay was not perfect. The week you stayed we had an unplanned emergency with the pool, which has been rectified. I am sorry that it took a while to move you from one room to another. We prioritize these room moves, but it does depend on when the departing guests checks out of their room. Thank you again for your review. We hope you have a chance to stay with us again in the future,.

Sincerely,

The Surfer Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

You cannot beat the view and accommodations for the price of this hotel. This hotel is right on the beach/boardwalk and walking distance to several bars/restaurants. The staff was very accommodating to get us on at least the 3rd floor throughout our stay(I'd highly recommend a room above the 2nd). There is free parking between the Best Western and The Surfer so try to park there otherwise the hotel charges $15/day. The comments about this being a party hotel had me nervous but I didn't notice any extreme noise or issues sleeping and I'm a light sleeper. There wasn't any air conditioning but we were able to keep the doorwall to our private balcony open at night which kept the room cool. The only negative I have for this hotel is the shower. We were in a king ocean view room on the 3rd floor and besides the fact that the shower is tiny(which I could deal with) the shower head came up to my chin which made showering for myself (5'8" tall) and my husband (6'2") very uncomfortable. Our first night we stayed in a similar room on the 4th floor and it looked like there was an extender put on the shower which was SO much better in helping the height and the water pressure; hopefully they will change out all of the short ones! Had a great time here, will definitely stay here again when we're back in SD!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AMC1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear AMC1201,
Thank you for your five-star review of the Surfer Beach Hotel. The staff here are very dedicated and are encouraged to be rewarded with positive reviews. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are consistently making upgrades and changes to the hotel to better accommodate our guests. Your comments are important to us as we make decisions about those upgrades. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you with us again soon.

Sincerely,

The Surfer Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Thanks Laura for addressing any concerns we had! You made our stay wonderful-polite staff always been going 27 years -awesome job-always have a great time. This hotel maybe old but it does have memories and if you ask for services like towels etc you really do get what you want. Far more reasonable than your high dollar hotels like Best Western. It may not be glamor but keep in mind you get what you pay for. I can't complain in my 27 years here Hey you can't go wrong. I would recommend this to friends and family because they recommended it to me.

Room Tip: 4th floor is always the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear StaceyM,
Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your repeat business. We cater to numerous guests who come to the Surfer Beach year after year expecting quality, beachfront accommodations at a reasonable price,. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Sincerely,
The Surfer Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is our 3rd stay at Surfer Beach Hotel. We stayed here even before they updated it. It is steps away to the beach and you can see & hear the water on the 3rd & 4th floors. This time the 1st night we were put on the 1st floor. This was not my choice but the hotel was sold out. The guy at the front desk tried to relocate me to the upper floors. He really did try. The next night we were on the 4th floor which was nice.
It is very laid back here and the hotel is not glamorous. However, it you want the beach, relaxation, and there is a great restaurant next door then this is the place. Pacific Beach has lots of spots to eat, drink & be merry.
From my understanding, the pool will be up and running soon. Also there is no air condition, however you can get a fan which helps when the sun shines in the afternoon.
This is a pet friendly hotel where the Best Western across the street is not. We have not stayed there.

Room Tip: Request the 3rd & 4th floors. The front rooms closest to the beach would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcborange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, Staff at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

The team at the Surfer Beach Hotel would like to thank you for your wonderful comments! We have been working hard to ensure that our service and rooms are exceptional. Comments such as yours are rewarding. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

The Surfer team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

NO AIR CONDITIONING IN ROOMS! Even an Ocean Front room was awful to sleep in with the patio door open & a box fan running all night. No hot water in our 3rd floor room. Party of 4 and we had 1 bath towel! Pool was drained so no swimming there. Very old property in need of updating! Customer service was good but way overpriced for quality of property. Go across the street to the Best Western which is also beachfront. Definitely worth the price to stay there. Clean, comfortable and air-conditioned rooms. Would not recommend spending the money for this place even though the location is great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

We apologize that you were not happy with your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We do appreciate your comments and we do take them very seriously. Our team is very focused on providing a clean quality room with great service. It is disappointing when we do not meet the guest expectations. We will share your comments with the team and focus on improving.
Thank you
The Surfer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It was horrible. The rooms are small, old and dirty. I wouldn't recomment this hotel to anyone. There is a best western directly across the street from The Surfer Hotel that I WOULD recommend. The location is great, but that's it. You should really think twice before booking a room here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificbeach15, Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We apologize that you were not happy with your recent stay at the Surfer Beach Hotel. We do appreciate your comments and we do take them very seriously. Our team is very focused on providing a clean quality room with great service. It is disappointing when we do not meet the guest expectations.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 278 in San Diego
1,057 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#134 of 278 in San Diego
219 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#219 of 278 in San Diego
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#199 of 278 in San Diego
462 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
973 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £94 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing