We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfer Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
302
203
112
61
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
203
112
61
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific beachocean viewsunset suitesound of the waveswithin walking distancecan't beat the locationan older hoteli highly recommend this hotelrestaurants and shopsgreat roommini fridgela jollasurfersbalconyumitparkingpb
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

These guys were absolutely great. An external online booking site had booked us in and overbooked the hotel (we were about the 5th person with that problem) when we showed up expecting a King oceanfront room and they were full up! They called 3 other places trying to find us suitable accommodations and finally settled us in at a beautiful hotel nearby, with a King and a bayfront view, and went so far as to cover our parking. They even added a VIP card at a nearby restaurant because they overheard us saying we were starving after travelling all day. Matt at the front desk and all the management get a big thanks from us and a very high recommendation. We were looking forward to our stay there and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mmcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear MMCLA,

Thank you for the five-star review. We certainly are apologetic about the misscmmunication with your last minute booking. Unlike the bigger chains, we do not make it a habit of overselling the hotel, relying on last minute cancellations or no-shows. So on the off-chance it does happen, our staff are very concerned with ensuring the satisfaction of our guests. I am pleased that the Front Desk Agent Matt and Umit, the Front Office Manager, were able to meet your needs and take care of you. I have followed up with them and the rest of the staff to point out an example of the excellent service we strive to provide all of our guests.

Thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
43
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Manager checked us in. Great little place overlooking the ocean and boardwalk. Lots of things to do around here. Walking, surfing, eating drinking and people watching. Sand and water 30 feet away. Good price and good attitude will stay here again when in area

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your positive review. It is a pleasure to read the comments from our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return trip.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great location, friendly staff, room was clean and quiet. Not a 5 star hotel by any means, but clean and comfortable. Within walking distance to many shops and right on the beach. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Leslie,

Thanks for the great review and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay. It is important to us to hear from our guests and we appreciate you taking the time.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is positioned perfectly. Great places to eat and a wonderful view right there. The couch did have a tear on the arm and the sheets had a couple of holes in them but over all the room was really clean. We ended up in the Handicap accessible room so everytime we showered the floor would get soaked but we always had plenty of towels.
The first two nights the room was very quiet and peaceful but the third night (Saturday night/Sunday morning) was extremely loud. The room above us started thumping their music about 3 am, running around everywhere and yelling to one another until about 5 am.
Overall it seems like a great place to stay but seems that weekends could get loud. I wouldn't even want to try it during Spring Break season.

Room Tip: Try not to be on the first floor if you don't have to be. Could help with some of the excess noise.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Tiana A,

Thanks for sharing your honest review of the hotel. It is our intent to provide guests with a clean and comfortable stay. I am sorry that other guests interrupted the tranquility of your stay. Although Pacific Beach does get loud during Spring Break and party weekends, we do our best to limit the exposure to our guests. We have a 24-hour Front Desk who enforce quiet hours after 11pm and we have overnight security.
Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel while in san diego for marine boot camp graduation. Location is convenient, parking is a little tight, location is great. Walking distance to everything you need. Beach view room was excellent!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Mcheer,
We pride ourselves on offering good value for those looking to sleep to the sound of the waves. Thanks for recognizing that and sharing your review. Congratulations to the Marine Corps grad as well!
Thanks again,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews