We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what I wanted”
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #102 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for what I wanted”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. Every room (except maybe the bottom floor) has an ocean view. That in itself gets a star. As a hotel, it's a bit run down, but seriously, it's right on the beach. I don't want to feel bad about tracking sand in the room, and the lack of carpeting was a good thing. It included a fridge and a flat screen tv, so there are 2 more stars. The bed was ok, not super comfortable but we slept fine. Ear plugs were offered on the nightstand for those who cannot handle the "noise" of the waves, but we loved it, and with the sliding glass door closed, honestly, we couldn't hear it. Noisy family upstairs but they only bothered us one night of our 4 night stay. The last star goes to the employees. We were treated like friends upon arrival, and every day thereafter. Coffee/hot chocolate was available 24/7 in the lobby, and no coffee maker in the rooms. Although not a standard 4 star hotel, it's perfect for a casual trip with basic expectations. And, the view... I would recommend for sure!

Room Tip: ask for a 3rd or 4th floor room. better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsbean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear ItsBean13,
Thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recognizing the staff. It is important to them that our guests feel welcome and the fact that you felt like the "staff treated you as friends," shows that they are doing a good job. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    180
    99
    56
    65
See reviews for
213
188
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snowflake, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms well furnished. However, although they had breakfast, the coffee and juice was gone (or machines broken) and the sausage biscuits were prepackaged and the size of a 50 cent piece. We went somewhere else. That still wouldn't have given them the 2 stars.

My 2 star rating is for their dishonesty. I left my phone charger plugged into the bedside lamp. When I went back for it a few hours later, it wasn't in their lost and found. I insisted on checking the room, so they called housekeeping who verified they had it on a cart. Twenty minutes later, still no charger. They wanted me to come back tomorrow, but I was headed home. So I asked them to mail it.

A few days later, I called to verify they had sent it. They claim they never found it. I reminded them that it had been put on a cart by housekeeping and they only reason it would be gone was if they had taken it. They asked me to call back in 10 minutes and, lo and behold, they found it. But they wanted my credit card information to mail it to me. I refused to give them the information because, under the circumstances, they should mail it to me -- and I don't trust them with that info now.

Beware the road construction is HORRIBLE!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Irene H,

I am sorry about your dissapointing experience but I believe your review was posted to the wrong hotel. We do not serve breakfast at our hotel nor do we have any roadside construction happening at our hotel. Although I can understand your frustration, please post this review to the correct hotel.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager, Surfer Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I needed relief from the Polar Vortex winter of 2013-14 and we found it at the Surfer Beach Hotel on Pacific Beach in San Diego.

We were welcome from the moment we called for our reservations and when we arrived at the front door. Aorusha made sure that we had a great room with a great view and could lull ourselves to sleep with the sound of the ocean only a stones throw from our balcony lanai. Every night was a unobstructed view of the sunset and every morning a walk on the beach was 20 steps away.

People watching was a breeze with the beach walk right outside the hotel and coffee and great dining was right on the property in Woody's and World Famous restaurant.

Our room was comfortable and isolated from any loud noise from the beach. The bed was firm and made up daily by an attentive housekeeping staff. The shower was cozy but adequate and the sink area was well lit and had good space for both of our needs. Could have used places in the lamp fixtures for plugging in phones etc but we had enough outlets after looking around a bit.

Location was fantastic and the hotel was cool in a retro beach scene sort of way. It felt just righting the room rate reflected the ease of access to the beach that ran for miles.

We appreciated the care given by the staff in suggesting transportation, printing boarding passes and making sure we had a great experience.

The place was not perfect with a slowest elevator and s less than neat area behind the coffee shop and no in room coffee maker but the location could not be beat. We loved the time we spent there and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We had 415 which had a beach view and could see downtown and Mission Bay as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Scott V,

Thank you for your excellent review. I would say that the biggest pride we take in our hotel (even more than our amazing location) is the service offered by our staff. They work incredibly hard to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thank you for recognizing Aorusha and the rest of the team's efforts to go out of their way to ensure you enliven your experience. Your review as shared (as all of our reviews are) with all of the staff and Aorusha was recognized in front of all for her excellent service.

Thanks and again and we look forward to your return trip from the deep freeze!

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I have been staying at Surfer Beach Hotel one week in April and one week in September for five years. It's almost time. 4 weeks and we cannot wait! We have seen many improvements over the years and the staff is awesome ! See you soon !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPhillips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear LPhillips12,
Thank you for the kind "anticipatory" review. We look forward to welcoming you for your return trip to the Surfer Beach Hotel. You are just one of thousands of people who call the Surfer Beach their second home and we are honored to have you as one of our esteemed repeat guests. We look forward to your visit next month!

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a no frills hotel. A prime locale is all we needed. I lived in SD for 6yrs. I wanted to show my Fiance San Diego. Now personally the area is not my cup of tea. College-y douchey but for this trip I just wanted beach and a bed. We watched the sunset from our room and walked the boardwalk at night..throughtout the day I brought him to all sorts of other spots. The hotel is no 5star spa whatever you want to call those snob like hotels. it's a here is your clean room with an ocean view. Really the room is just to sleep in. So for the price and locale it was perfect. I would stay again..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstarbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear kstarbop,

Thank you for your 4-star review of the hotel, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Although Pacific Beach is a younger town in general, it tends to slide toward the college vibe every March as it is a top Spring Break destination. Thanks for staying with us and bringing your fiance to experience one of San Diego's few true beach front hotels.

Regards,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. We had what they called the family unit. Two queen beds and a pull out sofa. The beds were terrible. The sheets were full of holes. The pull out should not be even attempted to sleep on. The carpet was dirty. The view is obstructed by looking on top of a restaurant roof so you get to smell that all night long. Save your money go else where.

Room Tip: Go down a block to the ocean side inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsjames3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear MarsJames.
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. It seems that our standards were below par for your recent visit, and I can assure you this is unusual for us. We steam clean our carpets regularly and also intend to provide quality bedding for all of our guests, Unfortunately, you are correct about sofa sleepers, they are intended as convenience for guests, but by their very nature (as any houseguest can tell you) they are not the most comfortable sleeping option. We are replacing the mattresses on the sofa sleepers at this time and the mechanisms are changed out regularly as well.
I again am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. Please contact me personally at adam.dellarocca@trigildservices.com if you would like to discuss this in more detail.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Nice place - very friendly, and helpful staff. A great location, a laid back and relaxed area. You can hire bikes close by near the pier - a friendly place as well. Lots of cafes close by as well. this is beach front heaven. No complaints - make this a compulsory place to stay if your in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 Star Review! We appreciate you taking the time to share with others your opinion. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#126 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#172 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing