We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #95 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Redlands, California
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and are quick to help with whatever you need. The location is right on the beach and the restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel. There is a secure place to lock up bikes.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yopatyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Yopatyo,

Thanks for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff so friendly. They truly enjoy welcoming our guests and sharing with them our lovely part of the coast. Thanks again for choosing the Surfer.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    180
    96
    56
    64
See reviews for
209
184
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We made a last minute booking to the "SURFER". We moved from here 10 years ago. All my wife wanted for her birthday was to spend a day at the beach. Well, we did, and each day extended our stay, 5 total. Each morning the Hotel Staff was super helpful and very accommodating, gave us a price break and even had upgraded our room on arrival, "Endless Ocean View". What an awesome gift for her 50th..
Thanks a Million.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, More Ocean the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Terry G,

Happy belated 50th to your wife. We are so happy that you happened up on us and decided to extend your stay. Thank you so much for the fantastic Trip Advisor Review. Let's make this a yearly tradition!

Regards,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Surfer is very convenient if you want to be close to the beach and boardwalk. They do need to to upgrade their beds and bedding, other than that the room was good. Great ocean views and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Tmg4,

Thanks for the compliments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look into your feedback about the beds. Thanks again for choosing the Surfer Beach Hotel.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location was perfect, right on the boardwalk. The room was a bit run down, and the balcony wasn't cleaned from the guests before us. There was a distinct smell of old cigarettes that bothered me as I tried to fall asleep. Some of the other guests were rowdy and yelling, threatening to jump into the pool from the 3rd floor. The bathroom was a bit small with only a stall shower and the room had a musty smell. The beds were a bit soft for my liking. Also the screen to the patio was ripped so we had to deal with bugs if we wanted to keep the door open to air out the room.

I enjoyed the free coffee and tea in the lobby and the location was wonderful. The front desk was pleasant, but the hotel needs an update and the cleaning staff needs to do a better job.

Room Tip: Make sure you get ocean view. We were in room 305 and it was nice to wake up to a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolesjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Nicolesjam,

Thank you for taking the time to write out your thoughts about the Surfer. I apologize for the issues that affected your stay and have followed-up to correct the screen problem. The Housekeeping Team is aware of the issue with your balcony and has been proactive in addressing those issues for our arriving guests.

We are a non-smoking hotel. I am sorry that another guest did not respect that or the quiet hours. I can promise you that we make every effort to enforce those rules. Our Front Desk is staffed 24-7 and we have security on duty at all hours to respond to those types of issues.

Thanks again for staying with us and we do hope you come back to experience the positive changes begat by your review.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nothing outstanding. Need better light in the bathroom.
Definetely need to improve cleaning of the room.
Recommend for budget and location.
This review needs to have 200 words and I don't have 200 words to say about this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiTaViana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear TitaViana,

Obrigado for writing back to us. I appreciate the feedback about the room. We are working with our newer housekeeping staff to improve their standards. .

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A large convention in the Gaslamp/downtown area had hotel prices in the $400 range so I opted for the more economical beach area (it's easily accessible by San Diego's transit system). The rooms are very basic but definitely clean. There is a small fridge, a large fan since the rooms are not air-conditioned, free wifi and basic cable flatscreenTV. The front desk were very flexible and allowed me to pay for a late checkout since my flight wasn't until the evening — I would've preferred it to be $10 cheaper but what's $10 when you're traveling...

This is my second stay in the Pacific Beach area and The Surfer was the nicer of the two places I've stayed. I would defintely stay there again.

Word of advice, book early if you want a room over a summer long weekend because rooms can get very pricey by the beach too during busy periods.

Room Tip: book early if you want a room over a summer long weekend because rooms can get very pricey by the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear KevfromCanada.

We appreciate the great review! Many of our guests pop over to PB while attending a downtown convention. Why would you come all the way down to San Diego and not spend some time on the beach? I am glad you found us and look forward to having you back.

Thanks again,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a great hotel ! We booked the jr suite-perfect for 4. Small fridge & micro was ideal for our stay. We were able to just park the car and enjoy all of our time at the beach. Staff very friendly

Room Tip: Jr. suite has small refrigerator & microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Suzi W.

It was great having you as a guest. Thank you for the excellent review. I am pleased that our hotel was "ideal" for your vacation. You are welcome back any time.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#176 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing