We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for a beach getaway..and above average staff!”
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfer Beach Hotel
Ranked #100 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location for a beach getaway..and above average staff!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

So this was a last minute pick, we just wanted to be close tot he beach. It was perfect. Close to the beach (on the beach), view and sound of the ocean. Get a rm on the 4th floor facing ocean you will not regret. A special call out to the staff, Daniel? Sorry I can not remember :(

The hotel is a bit old and dated but you are on the beach. PB area is loud in general so it is not really the hotel's fault for the noise. The area is relatively safe but be careful at night.

Our stay was expensive but it was the holiday and it was last minute.

Room Tip: Fourth floor ocean facing is great. You will have a balcony to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear M G,

Thank you for the excellent review. We are glad you were able to secure one of our last rooms over the busy weekend. Having a hotel room right on the beach in the heart of summer is definitely an ideal cap to a vacation. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    181
    102
    56
    65
See reviews for
215
191
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I travel to San Diego for work every other month and normally stay in a different hotel each time in search of the "ideal spot". Well I will be back to the Surfer Beach Hotel in June. My view was amazing and I was just a short walk to the beach. I was able to surf right out in front of the hotel. Great location and staff was very accomodating and friendly.


Cheers,

Josh

Room Tip: Request 3rd or 4th floor for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Joshua K,

Thank you for the five-star review. We are always delighted to receive five star reviews but even more so when the reviewer has stayed around Pacific Beach and knows that we offer excellent ocean views at a great value. Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

For the price, this is the best bet at Mission Bay. Right on the beach, this is not my favorite beach, lots and lots of kelp/seaweed in piles on the beach and in the waves, kind of gross. But close to everything. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. NO air conditioning so make sure to make use of the fans at night available in the closet. We were there in June and it was already getting pretty hot. Housekeeping cannot count though. Every time we could only get 3 towels for the 4 of us. We left them on the rack to preserve water...they took them all and left 3 (twice). We always had to ask for more and they promptly brought us 3 more (only needed one), next day housekeeping took even the clean ones and you guess it left us 3! Parking is a nightmare. PAY FOR PARKING, we saw many cars being towed that did not have parking passes, whether they were guests or not, not sure. But trust me $15 a day is worth it when there is no parking. We paid for parking but there was none available in their lot! Daniel said he would comp us a day and it would pay for the underground parking next door until a space came available. Then an employee gave us his space, until one showed up. Daniel and the parking lot fellows DO NOT get paid enough to work here. Talk about rude customers and parkers without passes freaking out about getting towed when signs everywhere said they will get towed. We actually took some guilty pleasure in watching the cars get towed that didn't pay. Daniel was obviously stressed out, but was great with us and helped us out a lot. Good job man! If you don't have a reservation for the on ground restaurant, good luck, you will wait 2+ hours. We opted for street tacos at a local vendor (super yummy and way cheaper than the restaurant) and watched a man juggle fire on the beach. Great stay and will be back! Thanks!

Room Tip: PAY FOR PARKING, there is none if you don't. Get reservations if you want to eat at the on prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lscordis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Iscordis,

We appreciate the kind comments and your thoughts about the Surfer. I will pass along your compliments to Daniel. I will also be addressing the concerns about the towels with the Housekeeping Department. It is with detailed comments like this that we constantly look to improve our standards at the Surfer.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night and wish we would have stayed longer. We had a blast! The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location can't be beat. There are tons to do close by which is a huge plus. We loved it and will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TLOGUE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear TLogue1,

Thank you for the five-star review. Our beachfront location is the reason guests first choose the Surfer but our staff and their service is how we get guests to come back again and again. We hope you become one of our favorite repeat guests! Thanks again,

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I wanted to be on the beach with an ocean view and easy access to dining for our recent San Diego trip. This hotel definitely delivers on that! You are literally steps to the beach and boardwalk, and there are several dining and bar options in the area. If you want nicer rooms and amenities and are not so picky about the ocean location, there are other options for that nearby. This was our first time staying on Pacific Beach and while there is certainly a young, party crowd, there were also plenty of families and we never felt out of place (we are in our late thirties).

While the room showed some wear and the effects of ocean air, it was clean and functional, with an ocean view from the bed and balcony! The accommodation is pricey for the quality, but it is a trade off for location and we were comfortable with that. There are no AC units in the rooms. One night the room got pretty warm (and we are from Phoenix so no exaggeration). We put the provided box fan in front of the screen door with the patio door open and this was more than enough to cool the room. Obviously this might pose a security concern for some, particularly on the 1st floor. Also there was a young man shouting a very charming party invite to some girls across the pool which we heard quite clearly with the door open. We just chuckled, but if I had a sleeping child it might not have been so amusing.

The service was... decent. There was a bit of confusion on our reservation and I did not get the feeling anyone was too concerned with accommodating us (as is typical when you use a booking website), but it did get resolved to our satisfaction in the end. The $15/day parking spaces are small, but it was not a problem for our Prius. I will review the restaurant separately, but be prepared for some service mishaps and delays during peak season there as I think they have a lot of unseasoned staff. However, if you can get a patio table at sunset, do it! the beach view and people watching cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have easiest pool and beach access, but may make it difficult to keep the door op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkosten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Bkosten,

Thanks for the positive review. We appreciate you sharing your trip and memories with potential guests. I am happy that the situation with your booking was resolved to your satisfaction. Thank you for choosing the Surfer Beach Hotel.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I am a repeat customer because of the location but also because of the staff! They are very friendly and helpful!the rooms are clean and they all seem to have a view! The pool area was very clean and I liked the limited access

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelelittle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Michelelittle21,

Thank you for the five star review. We really appreciate your compliments about the staff. We have a strong team who are very proud to share the Surfer with our guests. It is wonderful that they make such a positive impact each time you visit. We thank you for your repeat patronage.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We ended up at Surfer Beach Hotel after we canceled our suite at a different hotel close of Marine World, as we decided to be closer of the beach. I was impressed at the beginning , the clerk who answered the phone was very patient with me as we decided at the breakfast table in Los Angeles with the whole family when, and what rooms we need for our stay and for how long . I found out later that his name is Umit, he kept the same patience with us at the checking in. A second surprise was the front desk lady, Laura, which was the nicest hotel clerk that we met. She was helpful with our accommodation , as we decided to extend our visit with two days and every time we asked for a restaurant or surroundings to visit she helped with the best recomandation , she offered an excellent service. The room's view was breathtaking , at the ocean and we plan to come back in September , we loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doisavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Doisavin,

Thank you for the five star review! The Front Office Manager, Umit and our Front Desk Agent, Laura are fantastic members of our team and are always providing exceptional service to our guests. Thank you for recognizing them as we do share all of the reviews with the entire staff and it is great to see our associates being called out. I am glad that you were able to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,038 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#216 of 278 in San Diego
437 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#221 of 278 in San Diego
173 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Property: Surfer Beach Hotel
Address: 711 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing