We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved this place...”
Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beach Cottages
Ranked #140 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
greeneyes67
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just loved this place...”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stumbled across this hotel & decided to stay a few nights. Lucky for us they had availability. All the employees here are very friendly & helpful. The hotel is right across from the beach & has spectacular views. We stayed in a "standard" room in the main building. The room was small, but clean & we had a nice deck in front to enjoy the view. VERY affordable. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greeneyes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    61
    19
    14
    1
See reviews for
83
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our family reunion this year involved two boys age 4 and 6, three adults, and two 70-year olds. The location of Beach Cottages, right next to the beach, is unbeatable. We had 3 motel rooms in the west wing (3rd floor) and a two-bed apartment in the main building, and stayed about two weeks. Views of the ocean were great from all rooms and the balcony of the apartment was a super place for us all to hang out and rate the sunsets. All accommodations were very clean and comfortable. The apartment kitchen was well supplied, and they found me a suitable roasting dish for the large lamb leg we ate for Easter. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful, especially the front desk people who went out of their way to make our stay a delight that we look forward to repeating next year.

Room Tip: Motel room 353, in the west wing, has the best view of all from its balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GarneauMeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had an amazing 3 night stay in this awesome location in Pacific Beach! First, the hotel room, although older in style, was very clean and fully equipped for our family. We stayed in the 3rd floor of the hotel portion (not the cottages) and I would highly recommend this. We would sit in our room with a full view of the Pacific Ocean and could leave our screen door open to hear the waves crash! Plus the boardwalk is full of life...bikes, longboards, rollerblades, tandum riders, runners/walkers and more! So fun to take a stroll down the path and enjoy a great breakfast minutes away or ride a bike/board all the way down to the Mission Bay area. Second, the parking was priceless. Just nice to have your car secured and very close. Third, the staff was very helpful, even once after hours. Also, the pingpong court/shuffle court were so great...with pretty lights strung in the courtyard...felt like old-timey traditional resort fun in a great setting. Our kids loved it! WISH THEY HAD A HOTTUB or two, though. With that set-up, would have been nice to use a hottub in the evenings. We really had a great time and would love to return again sometime!

Room Tip: Just know that there is no a/c. We didn't need it in April, but we had to have the maintenance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlyArmyFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is in a prime spot at Pacific Beach - right off the boardwalk and in walking distance to many good restaraunts, shopping, and the popular Mission Beach. There is a grocery store across the street which was a bonus for us because we had a room with a kitchen.

We stayed on the first floor of the main building in a good sized one bedroom with two full beds, a sofa/sleeper in the living room, a good sized dining table and kitchen with all the cooking essentials. The bathroom was very small, so it was nice to have a vanity outside of it. The decor is very outdated, but the bed was comfortable. My only complaint was that the rollaway beds are stored outdoors under the stairwell , uncovered but with sheets on.

If you are concerned about noise, some of the studio rooms are right next to a bar and liquor store.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank servantsheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

After leaving the over-priced glitz of Las Vegas this was the perfect place for us to stay. It was clean, comfortable, priced well and right on the beach. The staff was helpful and cheerful and we really enjoyed our stay. Sure the rooms aren't updated but we had everything we needed and wanted. We could here the people next door so it might not be as enjoyable during the busy season, but we were happy with our stay and plan to go back again next winter.

Room Tip: For a view of the ocean in the 'west' wing you'll want to be on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbdenverco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Wonderful place ON the beach in Pacific Beach, San Diego, CA. The cottages are at beach level but behind a half-wall and glass enclosure. There are 3 gates that give access to the boardwalk and beach right outside the property. Check out the pictures. During the summer, you may want to stay in the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms/suites as there is no a/c here. The cottages are wonderful as you can open the window and hear the ocean! You can sit outside your cottage and BBQ dinner and eat at your private patio table while sipping your glass of wine. You can walk to the grocery store across the street. Dine at the restaurants next door or down the boardwalk, play pingpong or just listen to the waves crashing. Been going back to Beach Cottages for many years. But I must warn you to make your reservations well in advance as it's hard to get in and once you do, re-up every time...you will LOVE this place!

Room Tip: The ocean front cottages are old but have full kitchens. The beds are mostly doubles so opt for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

One and two bedrooms available. Full kitchen with standard size refrig and stove. Ocean and sunset view from the 3rd floor units. Walk right out onto the boardwalk or sand. Busy part of Pacific Beach so you can walk to 24 Hour Fitness, grocery store, bars, restaurants, library and downtown. Trader Joes is 3/4 mile. Queen beds got new mattresses in December 2012.
Decor is very dated basic 1970 furniture, drapes and counters. If you don't mind the old furnishings, this is a good place for multiple night stay.
Ping Pong and barbecues in common area. Free internet and parking. Well-managed family owned business.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank ready29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,038 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#146 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,996 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
901 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Property: The Beach Cottages
Address: 4255 Ocean Blvd, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109-3954
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Cottages San Diego
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing