We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing stay at The Beach Cottages”
Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beach Cottages
Ranked #140 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay at The Beach Cottages”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have been staying at this property on and off for the last 25+ years. You could not ask for a better location and price. This property is literally steps from Pacific Beach. The property offers cottages, apartments, and motel rooms. The main building has amazing ocean views from the second and third floors. The room in the West Building is a little more updated. In this location you have your own private balcony with side ocean view. This is a excellent location for families with children. The property is secured at night and offers game tables for kids, and outside barbeques. The staff is very accommodating at this location. Parking is also free at location. Restaurants are within walking distance and there is a bus line in front of the hotel is you prefer this mode of transportation.

Room Tip: Room in the man building have a great ocean view and rooms in the west building have a private balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisameasaarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    61
    19
    14
    1
See reviews for
83
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have stayed at Beach Cottages many times over the years, and it has gotten progressively unpleasant in the more recent years. They used to keep the property freshly painted and polished, but they are letting it get all run-down. They've made it all these years because the same people go back year after year...because you must re-up your reservation for the next year before you check out this year.
All of this has made the staff very arrogant in the way they treat the customer. They really don't care what you do because they know someone else is waiting to get on their waiting list. Oh, wait...there is no waiting list! You have to start calling the front desk after October 1st for possible reservations for the following summer. Then you have to give them a deposit...so they keep your money for 6-8 months until you check in with the rude staff.
I have recently tried other area hotels and have found some amazing places since I gave up on this place. And I encourage all to try a different place...my vacations have been wonderful since we got to sample true hospitality at other hotels.
Arrogant and dilapidated...and at these prices! That is unless you enjoy kids careening off one another in the courtyard on skateboards and scooters all night long.
Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mojogrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in the main hotel. Rooms are very basic – no air conditioners, no hair dryers, pay for ice, etc. Rooms are older but very clean. The kitchenette was a nice addition but very few plates, etc and no freezer. Appreciated have parking that was free. Front staff was helpful but not overly friendly – hardly looked up when we passed thru. The cleaning staff was very friendly. Maria went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed. The location to the beach is wonderful – just out the back gate. Our room had a great view of the pier and with the window open a nice breeze. This hotel is located on the main walkway and during the weekend there was lots of people bar hopping around all day and night. Lots of noise and traffic. The price was great and lots of things were within walking including the grocery store so we hardly drove anywhere. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NShaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I have been coming to the Beach Cottages since we were dating...16 years. My best friend has always come with us, back then we partied and it was a great location to walk to the bars! Since we have families now we don't do much of that but it's still the perfect place to vacation! We have turned our annual San Diego trip into a week long vacation and have added many more families that join us each year! The kids are always safe inside the gates of the cottages and being in one spot with all of our families makes vacationing that much more fun! Sure the beds could use a little make over but who comes here to sleep!? The full kitchens and bbq's all around the courtyard are perfect and we safe so much money by not eating out. We are blessed to be able to spend a week here every year. We love it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleonardoscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is the 3rd year in a row my family has stayed at the Beach Cottages over Memorial weekend and this isn't a tradition we'll ever be ending. We can pick rooms in a way that accomadates many of us. We've stayed in the actual cottages as well as the hotel rooms and are just as happy in either. The staff is fabulous, you're close to anything you can think of and it's well worth every cent. We tell everyone we know how much we love staying there!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I spent my last here before taking a flight back to Europe. The hotel was great to get a good night's sleep and as I was lucky and got a room on the 3rd floor, facing the ocean, I was able to enjoy the beautiful sunset and listen to the waves. The view is really unbeatable, but you will have to get a room on at least the 3rd floor, facing the ocean!
The room wasn't very modern, but clean and comfortable. I wished I had spent at least 2 nights or longer.
The staff at the reception is very helpful. They arranged for a cheap shuttle service to the airport.
Would always stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, directly facing the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotzgnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greeneyes67
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stumbled across this hotel & decided to stay a few nights. Lucky for us they had availability. All the employees here are very friendly & helpful. The hotel is right across from the beach & has spectacular views. We stayed in a "standard" room in the main building. The room was small, but clean & we had a nice deck in front to enjoy the view. VERY affordable. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greeneyes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,038 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
666 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#146 of 278 in San Diego
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,996 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
901 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Property: The Beach Cottages
Address: 4255 Ocean Blvd, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109-3954
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Cottages San Diego
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing