We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families just feet from the beach”
Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beach Cottages
Ranked #147 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for families just feet from the beach”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the family (3.5 year old and 9 month old) in a 2 bedroom on the second floor overlooking the beach. Location is perfect right on pacific beach. Room was nice, good size and friendly staff. Would recommend for families and will definitely come again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    61
    19
    14
    1
See reviews for
82
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent our honeymoon here in February over Valentines Day Weekend. The Beach Cottages were the ONLY hotel in San Diego that was willing to accommodate us for the weekend. We had a great time and will return often. The staff was fantastic. They staged balloons, rose peddles and candles in our room shortly before arriving.

Room Tip: Hands down the best price on the beach. Stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrylSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Second time around at the Beach Cottages and I enjoyed it the first time and loved it the second time!! We had a two bedroom overlooking the ocean with a private balcony. Last time we rented a cottage which was a little small but I was pleasantly surprised at how large and self contained the two bedroom was. I was travelling with six people and a baby and there was more than enough room. With the added convenience of a washer and dryer in the room made life easier. The rooms were clean and staff were friendly. The price was also very good. The location is amazing, even saw a baby seal come up onto the beach one morning for a play! Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: If you're after views the cottages themselves are not the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sevjacalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in a studio apartment room in the North Building this past week.

Best:

* affordable
* very clean
* convenient to beach boardwalk, public transportation, grocery store, pharmacy, and restaurants

Worst
* no air conditioning (I wouldn't advise staying here if the temperature is expected to be any higher that the low seventies.) The only way you can get an ocean breeze into the studio apartment is to leave the sliding door or the main door open. This could be a safety issue especially at night)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ddmobile111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Drove down from Sacramento and spent 3 nights. Got the spring rate deal...so unbelievably inexpensive. Room in the west wing had a deck overlooking the ocean...comfy queen size bed. Room outfitted with a small kitchenette (fridge, microwave, and table settings for 3 people). Room was neat clean and very cozy! No air conditioning. ..but you don't need it with the ocean breeze. Just steps from the beach and you are in paradise! We will definitely be returning next vacation!!! Run don't walk to the phone to make your reservation!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hwa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great place! I couldn't believe the great rate that we got for being right on the beach! I've walked the beach in San Diego many times and thought that I would never be able to afford something this nice and right on the beach. I will definitely stay here again! The staff is super friendly and knowledgable about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dduckrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Fantastic location on the water in Mission Bay. Lots of restaurants within easy walking distance - anywhere from next door to a mile walk. Grocery store and starbucks are across the street. Of course, most important, it's right on the beach / boardwalk.

We stayed in the north building apartments. Huge rooms that fit three adults just fine including two queen beds, a full couch and comfy side chair, a full-size dining table and stools at the kitchen breakfast counter. A full kitchen including stove, full-size fridge and microwave. Rooms were clean though a bit dated.

When we arrived, our keys could not open the door without a huge hassle. We reported it to the hotel and the very helpful maintenance guy showed up in 10 mins, tried a few things and replaced the lock. Worked great after that! Loved the speedy resolution!

The only thing missing from the provided amenities was a hair dryer - and since I don't think I've stayed somewhere without a hair dryer in decades, I didn't even think to pack one.

The biggest downside to this location is it's really, really, really loud. If you're into the non-stop bar scene (and therefore part of the crazy-til-3am noise), then you won't care, but otherwise, the constant drunken foot traffic in the alley in front of the apartments is hard to deal with. On top of that, the hour or so of restaurants tossing what I assume is glass bottles into the compactor between 2-3am is nerve wracking. All that said, grocery store across the street sells ear plugs!

On the whole, it's comfy, convenient and a good value!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Malia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,046 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#150 of 278 in San Diego
747 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 278 in San Diego
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
912 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#127 of 278 in San Diego
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Property: The Beach Cottages
Address: 4255 Ocean Blvd, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109-3954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Cottages San Diego
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing