We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steps away from the beach, great location, awesome family getaway..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beach Cottages
Ranked #138 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Steps away from the beach, great location, awesome family getaway..”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have stayed here many times, and lucked out getting a last minute reservation for a 1 bedroom cottage. There were 4 of us and it was plenty of room for all of us. We like the cottage as it has a full sized kitchen and a patio with a grill. Only the front cottages have an ocean view, but no matter what cottage you are staying in you are only a hop and skip away from the beach. It is easy to maneuver all your beach items, bikes etc. right onto the beach. The kitchen is fully stocked and if something is missing, in our case a can opener, the office will bring one right to you. There is a Ralph's grocery store within walking distance making it very easy to buy groceries. The location is a bit of a party atmosphere with a lot of bars in the area, but we were not bothered by this at all. The parking is easy, as they have a large parking lot out front just for hotel guests. There is a courtyard of sorts that has a shuffleboard and ping pong tables. Just ask the office for equipment, though ping pong balls are .75 cents. The only negative was the shaky unreliable wifi. Everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: Cottages or anything in the main building. The "North" building is very close to bars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cocobog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    59
    18
    13
    1
See reviews for
78
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the family (3.5 year old and 9 month old) in a 2 bedroom on the second floor overlooking the beach. Location is perfect right on pacific beach. Room was nice, good size and friendly staff. Would recommend for families and will definitely come again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank brijcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent our honeymoon here in February over Valentines Day Weekend. The Beach Cottages were the ONLY hotel in San Diego that was willing to accommodate us for the weekend. We had a great time and will return often. The staff was fantastic. They staged balloons, rose peddles and candles in our room shortly before arriving.

Room Tip: Hands down the best price on the beach. Stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrylSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Second time around at the Beach Cottages and I enjoyed it the first time and loved it the second time!! We had a two bedroom overlooking the ocean with a private balcony. Last time we rented a cottage which was a little small but I was pleasantly surprised at how large and self contained the two bedroom was. I was travelling with six people and a baby and there was more than enough room. With the added convenience of a washer and dryer in the room made life easier. The rooms were clean and staff were friendly. The price was also very good. The location is amazing, even saw a baby seal come up onto the beach one morning for a play! Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: If you're after views the cottages themselves are not the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sevjacalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in a studio apartment room in the North Building this past week.

Best:

* affordable
* very clean
* convenient to beach boardwalk, public transportation, grocery store, pharmacy, and restaurants

Worst
* no air conditioning (I wouldn't advise staying here if the temperature is expected to be any higher that the low seventies.) The only way you can get an ocean breeze into the studio apartment is to leave the sliding door or the main door open. This could be a safety issue especially at night)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ddmobile111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Drove down from Sacramento and spent 3 nights. Got the spring rate deal...so unbelievably inexpensive. Room in the west wing had a deck overlooking the ocean...comfy queen size bed. Room outfitted with a small kitchenette (fridge, microwave, and table settings for 3 people). Room was neat clean and very cozy! No air conditioning. ..but you don't need it with the ocean breeze. Just steps from the beach and you are in paradise! We will definitely be returning next vacation!!! Run don't walk to the phone to make your reservation!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hwa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great place! I couldn't believe the great rate that we got for being right on the beach! I've walked the beach in San Diego many times and thought that I would never be able to afford something this nice and right on the beach. I will definitely stay here again! The staff is super friendly and knowledgable about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dduckrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,020 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 279 in San Diego
647 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
860 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,953 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Cottages

Property: The Beach Cottages
Address: 4255 Ocean Boulevard, 1 block south of Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Cottages are located right on the beach in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. We are conveniently located near many great restaurants, shops, night life, and San Diego attractions. There is a Ralph's grocery store located right across the street which makes it very easy to prepare your own meals in any one of our fifty fully equipped kitchen units, if you prefer to do so. Our other twenty eight units have kitchenettes that include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the tableware and glassware you need. The Beach Cottages is a perfect destination for a fun-filled family vacation at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Cottages Hotel San Diego
Beach Hotel San Diego
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Cottages San Diego
Beach Cottages San Diego Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing