We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin San Diego
Ranked #61 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Not quite good enough”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the Westin while attending a conference that was held at the hotel. At >$300/night my expectations were somewhat higher than for a cheaper hotel. The Westin delivered standard hotel amenities and several irritations all of which added up to nothing better than an average experience.

It started with the shuttle from the airport. i called on arrival and was told it would take around 10-15 minutes for the shuttle to get back to the airport. After more than 30 minutes I called again to be told that at least 2 shuttles had been to the airport since my first call which was just not true. My guess is that they had filled up at the 1st terminal and had not bothered calling at he 2nd. It was 40 minutes from my first call until the arrival of a shuttle at the terminal where I was waiting.

My room and the public spaces were pretty standard for a hotel in this class. All was as would be expected except for a trendy but impractical shower arrangement. A mixture of a raindrop shower and another head positioned so that the water flew straight out exactly at face height without any way to alter the direction of the spray. I would have been happier with a bucket and ladle. That aside the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

The desk had no convenient power outlet. The nearest one seemed to be by the side of the bed about 10 ft away. The wifi tariff can only be described as extortionate. For a hotel costing that much a night there is no excuse for adding that sort of extra charge particularly at an outrageous rate.

The hotel has a very spacious gym but fairly sparse equipment. There are a few treadmills and elliptical machines but only one (recumbent) bike. The equipment is in good repair and modern.

The restaurant is okay but not really good. There is a breakfast buffet with a reasonable selection but the eggs are cooked with a type of oil that makes them taste nasty. I asked for an omelet cooked with butter which seemed to cause some confusion initially but to give them their due it ended up looking and tasting very good. Now if they can just ditch that oil completely....

Finally, a little kudos where it is due. I lost a special pen with sentimental value in one of the meeting rooms and after reporting it to the receptionist at check out someone from hotel security called and left a message on my cell phone saying that they had received a report of the loss and would let me know if it was found. It hasn't turned up but I appreciated the call very much.

It isn't likely that I will stay at the Westin again. It was much too expensive for an average hotel and that wifi charge was the final straw.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Jane E-I am glad you joined us for your business conference. While we are happy to offer complimentary airport shuttle service, I apologize that you waited longer than the quoted time. We offer the Westin Heavenly Shower II, a brand signature. I am sorry if the configuration was confusing as it is certainly able to be modified for guest preference. Also, all our desks offer power outlets on their front; it appears you may have missed this and contributed to your frustration. Wireless access is complimentary in our lobby although there is a charge in guestrooms for premium connection speed. Our restaurant Coast offers a variety of tasty dishes. I am happy to hear our staff accommodated your request for special preparation of an omelet and that you enjoyed the taste. Lastly, I am glad to hear our staff touched your heart when they followed up on your lost pen. I certainly understand the importance of sentimental items. We do hope you keep us and Starwood’s many brands in mind upon your return to San Diego.
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    322
    85
    34
    19
See reviews for
155
254
56
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mariposa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

From bellmen to front desk, to housekeeping, to concierge, to servers, to service express, everyone deserves
HUGE applause!!! Kevin, Juan, Korena, Amanda, Rebecca, Morgan, Megan, Nicholas, Lorenzo and Andrew, thanks for a relaxing four-day stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeAnnAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
LeeAnnAllen -from the entire team here at the Westin San Diego, thank you for this incredible feedback. Our staff is our greatest asset and we pride ourselves on warm and efficient service. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We can’t wait to welcome you back on your next visit to San Diego!
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposa, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Having breakfast at the Westin we were seated by Juan. During and after the meal Juan was very attentive and personable. We appreciated the conversation and his ability to make us feel at home. The meal was excellent also!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredSheriffJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
RetiredSheriffJim -from the entire team here at the Westin San Diego, especially Juan, thank you for sharing your experience. We are lucky to have Juan on our team. I will share this feedback with the restaurant as they will be thrilled to read it. We can’t to welcome you back on your next stay in San Diego!
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is for an extra shout out to Annie the bartender for saving my business trip. I was in town for a court appearance and had forgotten to pack a tie. I got in late and had to be in court too early to shop in the morning. While at dinner at the Westin's bar, and before I could finish my tale of woe, Annie took off her own tie from her neck and gave to me! She asked for, and expected, nothing in return. Besides that, she was a great bartender/waitress for my very good late night dinner at the bar.
The hotel is very good and in an ideal location for business trips to San Diego. I can recommend the Westin without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Paul F - On behalf of everyone at the Westin San Diego, especially Annie, thank you for taking the time to write this review! We pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and clearly Annie did all she could do to ensure you had a successful meeting. I will share this story with the entire hotel as an example of true five star service. We look forward to welcoming you back to America’s Finest City soon.
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland,ohio
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I love most Westin hotels and this is one of my favorites. It's clean and the rooms are spacious. Everything I need (food and shopping) are close by.
Not far from the water or the airport. The hotel van is always on time to pick me up and the staff is very friendly.
There is a mini frig in the room and a 60inch tv.
The pool is very small but it's usually not too many people there at one time.
And of course the shower is my favorite!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tayshan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Tayshan1-it is so amazing to hear that we at the Westin San Diego are your favorite of the brand! I can’t think of a higher compliment. Our guests consistently enjoy our convenient location close to the airport especially paired with our complimentary shuttle service. I’m glad you enjoy our amenities as well, such as brand-new 60 inch TV, mini-fridges and Westin Heavenly Shower II (a signature of the brand). We are excited to be one of the only downtown hotels that offer a pool. We can’t wait for your next stay with us!
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights on business. Everything about the hotel was terrific, from the friendly and professional greeting at the front desk, to the quiet and comfortable room, to the lobby space near the Aroma coffee bar where it was easy to get a quick bite plus coffee in the morning and get connected to the Internet at a convenient work space. The location makes it is easy to walk to downtown sights and also easy to access the airport and highways by car.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Helen P-I am glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay during your recent business trip with us! A seamless and welcoming arrival, comfortable room and amenities such as complimentary wireless access in the lobby and our coffee bar Aroma help us provide a pleasant experience for all our guests. Having many of downtown San Diego’s attractions such as shopping, restaurants and nightlife just steps outside the door is a huge convenience as well. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was looking for a hotel in San Diego and decided to try the Westin because of its location. I was not sure what to expect. I was delighted. The staff is wonderful - professional without an air of stuffiness, happy, and interested in your every need. i can't say enough good things - from the bellman to the maid. Rooms were modern, clean, and most importantly, quiet. I slept very well which is a big deal for me. The heart of the Gaslamp District is only a couple of blocks away - a safe walk. We couldn't have been happier with our accomodations and will definately return. The hotel bar had great staff, a wonderful drink menu, and one of the best bar pizza we have had. If you are looking for a great place in the heart of San Diego, this is it. The only negative I could see is that the 10th floor carpet has a couple of unsightly stains that represent the hotel poorly. This is not the case for the rooms, which are modern and very clean.

Room Tip: We requested and were given a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Michael D-from everyone here at the Westin San Diego, I am thrilled you decided to try us out and had such a pleasant stay! A clean, comfortable room coupled with friendly staff is how we aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all our guests. Our premier location, within walking distance to all of downtown but just out of the madness, is a perfect start for your stay and helps guarantee a restful night. We can’t wait to welcome you two back to San Diego!
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#28 of 278 in San Diego
991 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,455 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,002 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego

Property: The Westin San Diego
Address: 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Hotelprovides a retreat to one of downtown San Diego's landmark hotels. Experience The Westin San Diego's $15 million dollar transformation, introducing the brand's new modern design. The hotel now has a distinctly upscale, contemporary feel, inspired by soothing elements of nature. With a complete revitalization of guestrooms, restaurant, lobby, public areas, San Diego meeting space, two new Legal War Rooms, Tangent and a new Westin Fitness Studio, the newly refurbished urban retreat will transform every aspect of a stay into a revitalizing experience. The Westin San Diego is located a few blocks from the famous Gaslamp Quarter and just minutes from all of San Diego's major attractions: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town and more. Enjoy Westin San Diego Hotel's panoramic views of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Island and the downtown cityscape from your guestroom. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access in the lobby and complimentary shuttle service to/from the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Westin
Wyndham San Diego Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing