We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Friday Night Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin San Diego
Ranked #60 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
“Great Friday Night Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was in town for a long weekend and had the pleasure of being at the Westin. Enjoyed a few drinks at the bar on Friday evening and the service by Jackie was wonderful. Though it was very busy, she was very attentive and took great care of us!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
ChristinaDiaz,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Westin San Diego. It is always wonderful o hear great feedback for our associates and I thank you for recognizing Jackie. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. Our bar has a great happy hour and daily specials for our guests to enjoy. I hope that you can join us again soon!

Kind regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    301
    78
    30
    17
See reviews for
146
237
54
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here during Comic Con, mostly choose because of availability and decent pricing during the convention. Room was nice, modern and suited our needs while we were there. Beds were very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Was a manageable walk to the convention center (about 20 minutes), but also had a shuttle service right outside. They also had all day happy hour for convention attendees with your badge, which was nice, and made the bar a little more affordable. I would definitely consider staying here again, but next time might look for something a little closer to the convention center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Sara T,
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay over Comic-Con weekend! As one of our busiest weekends of the year, we know that service is still our number one priority and I am pleased to see that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. Located walking distance from the convention center, we are north of the center and offer a quieter surrounding than the busier Gaslamp District.
Kind regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I just stayed here while I was taking the bar exam because I live 25-30 minutes away from downtown in no traffic and did not want to deal with the drive. The service is outstanding! The hotel room was clean and the bed was so comfortable that I slept like a rock even with the stress of the exam. Great place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Erin C,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Westin San Diego! We are great choice for a quick trip or for a long vacation. Our signature Westin Heavenly Beds guarantee a superior slumber and you can even take the bed home with you by purchasing exclusively through the Westin at Home online store, Pottery Barn and Nordstroms! On behalf of the staff here at the Westin, we hope that you did well on your exams!

Kind regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I have been to this Westin many times but this time I booked the Presidential Suite. It was just an amazing experience with my family. If you have teenage kids this place is big enough n has excellent panoramic views. Shopping is within walking distance n it's not too far away from airport. The down side is that it's near the Courts and at night you expect some concerns about security. Generally these people do leave you alone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DG0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
DG0tt,

Our presidential suite lies at the top floor of the Westin San Diego giving you 180 degree views of the city and harbor. Newly remodeled, the Presidential Suite covers the entire 25th floor with 2 master bedrooms and a spacious living area. Our central location allows you to walk to Little Italy, the harbor, the Gaslamp Quarter and to Seaport Village. Great shops and dining are just minutes away. It’s a great place to enjoy your next San Diego vacation.

Kind regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here for my last day of the San Diego Comic Con. Since I only booked 1 night I really wasn't expecting much but boy did the wow me. The customer service was awesome, from check in to hailing me a cab. I truly have no complaints. The room was very nice and clean. So many Hotels have taken the coffee out of the rooms, which annoy me, but thus one had both coffee and tea. I was tired after walking all day so when I got in I hopped right in the shower and used the coffee robe they provide. The bed was amazing. I slept like a baby. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I got a king room that overlooked the pool. Nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shereneshaysherene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Shereneshaysherene,

We know that service is what sets us apart from the rest. I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations for your quick stay with us. Whether it’s for one night or for a week, we strive to make all our guests feel like they are at home. Our signature Westin Heavenly bed and Drench rain shower guarantee a renewing and refreshing stay. You can even take the experience home with you at our Westin at Home on line store!

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was separated from my business team members and had to walk to the semnar we were attending. This hotel is within walking distance from the major event centers located on Harbor, next door to the Gas Lamp district and yet more quiet than most (as my team members shared thier location was really noisy). The room was well appointed, clean and the staff was incredibly friendly. I loved the simple yet complete gym facilities and it looked as if many were enjoying the roof top pool. The food options were healthy and yet there were plenty of naughty cheat foods as well. I love thier soap, lotion and shampoo. Would definitely stay again, the price was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Kristin B,
Although we are not in the heart of the busy Gaslamp Quarter, we offer a quieter option near the harbor! We are central to the Gaslamp, Seaport Village and Little Italy and our 25 floor hotel offers breathe taking views of the harbor and the city. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our SuperFoods menu! Westin is committed to help you eat well wherever you are. And you can always find quality when you stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Westin San Diego while I was at a week-long conference at the San Diego Convention Center. We both were very impressed with the hotel's amenities and styling resulting from their recent renovations. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and had a nice view of Broadway and downtown San Diego.

We really appreciated being a few blocks away from multiple trolley and bus stops that allowed us to visit Balbou Park, Little Italy, Old Town, the GasLamp Quarter, Tuna Habor, and the Coronado Island ferry at the Broadway Pier within 40 minutes or less. I also enjoyed grabbing a superfood breakfast bagel or burrito at the cafe located inside the lobby next to the hotel restaurant and then walking each day to the Convention Center.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They resolved a billing issue for me and enhanced our stay with free in-room internet access (unrequested). They also gave my wife advice on bus routes to visit nearby beaches and helped her book a 2-hour bicycle tour of Coronado Island at a discount. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay here again.

The one warning I would give: Be careful about meal prices at the hotel's dine-in restaurant. The restaurant staff did not display prices for the breakfast buffet anywhere, so my wife and I were shocked to receive a $50 bill ($25/per person) for the buffet. Had we realized it would be so expensive, we would have likely ordered something off the menu or eaten somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Andrew S,

I am delighted to hear you had a great stay at the Westin San Diego. Our location makes us a great option if you care attending a conference in San Diego. Our full service hotel has all the amenities you need and our staff is there to make sure you get great service. Not only are we walking distance to the convention center, but we are also right next to the trolley station and great shops and dining. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you and your family back in San Diego soon!

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego

Property: The Westin San Diego
Address: 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Hotelprovides a retreat to one of downtown San Diego's landmark hotels. Experience The Westin San Diego's $15 million dollar transformation, introducing the brand's new modern design. The hotel now has a distinctly upscale, contemporary feel, inspired by soothing elements of nature. With a complete revitalization of guestrooms, restaurant, lobby, public areas, San Diego meeting space, two new Legal War Rooms, Tangent and a new Westin Fitness Studio, the newly refurbished urban retreat will transform every aspect of a stay into a revitalizing experience. The Westin San Diego is located a few blocks from the famous Gaslamp Quarter and just minutes from all of San Diego's major attractions: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town and more. Enjoy Westin San Diego Hotel's panoramic views of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Island and the downtown cityscape from your guestroom. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access in the lobby and complimentary shuttle service to/from the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Westin
Wyndham San Diego Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing