We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin San Diego
Ranked #63 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

i travelled with a 6 year old and the pool was great for her, the location of the hotel is wonderful! right in downtown, walking distance from malls, restaurants, the beach and it has very easy access. it was a great option. the bed was very comfortable, we had breakfast there and it was all good. the staff was very nice and made a special milk shake for my daughter, i would definetly stay there again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Cindy N,

We are excited to announce that we just got our new pool furniture yesterday! As one of the few hotels in the area that offer an outdoor pool, we now enhanced our outdoor area with brand new furniture and lounge areas! Located on the third floor, you can enjoy views of the city as you refresh in the cool waters. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I invite you and your family to come and visit us again soon!

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Every time I visit San Diego, I aim to stay at this Westin. I like the location because even though it's in Gaslamp, it's almost on the edge of it, which makes the hotel a bit quieter. The hotel is convenient to be able to get to the main bars/restaurants in Gaslamp, but a bit of a hike to walk to the southern part of the area.

The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The front desk is helpful and efficient in checking guests in/out. Unfortunately, I've had very little experience with the hotel amenities so perhaps other reviewers can add more to that topic.

Room Tip: Aim to get a room on a higher floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank La_fl_drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

La_fl_drew,

It is great to hear that we are your main choice for staying in San Diego! Our location is a quieter alternative than staying in the heart of Gaslamp and only a few minutes walking distance away. Our welcoming and friendly staff is always there to make sure we exceed your expectations. Thank you for your review and I look forward to your return!

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My stay at the hotel was pleasant. I was disappointed to know that only in lobby did I get free internet, why do we have to charge in our days still surprises me. Room was small, however, very comfortable. Had the chance to have breakfast there a few mornings and the choices on the buffet were a little limited. It was nice to be greeted by the hotel GM one morning. The beauty of this hotel is that it was close to everything and all walkable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lise_Messier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Lise_Messier,

Our location makes us the perfect choice for staying in downtown San Diego. Our complimentary airport shuttle allows for a seamless arrival and we are walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy, the harbor and the convention center. It is easy to get to great shops and dining from our location. We even have discounted tickets to some of our local attractions conveniently from our concierge stand!

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have stayed at the Westin San Diego many times. Overall it is a great hotel and the personnel are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are pretty quiet but the hotel is on Broadway a busy main street so there is some street noise. The rooms come in many sizes and shapes as the hotel building has many angles. Bay View rooms are definitely worth the upgrade. The hotel has a take-out coffee area with Starbuck's coffee which is very convenient and nice for an easy breakfast. The woman who works at the coffee stand is extremely helpful and friendly. You can walk to the waterfront or the Gaslamp district easily from this hotel. We also walked to Petco Park for a baseball game.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay View room. Upper floors are the quietest and avoid the ice machine as it in an alcove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbie726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Barbie726,

I am happy to hear that you continually enjoy our Westin properties! We are a great choice for attending games and events at Petco Park, visiting the Gaslamp and the surrounding areas. We are tucked a few blocks away from the busy Gaslamp Quarter but closer to the harbor and Little Italy. Our guest rooms hold breathtaking views over the city and the waterfront. Our concierge desk can help you plan your trip around the city and even offers discounted tickets right here in the hotel! Thank you for your review and I hope to see you back in San Diego soon.

Kind Regards,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very nice hotel! The employees are pleasant and seem to really want to make you comfortable. The room was nice, neat, quiet, and comfortable. And the location was very nice. I ordered room service one night and the food was also good:)

Only things I would change is to include Wifi in the cost of the room. I used my hotspot so I avoided the fee (don't remember what it was) It's a nice hotel so I assumed the Wifi was included. They offer free Wifi in the lobby but you don't always want to go down to the lobby if you needed to get online. Also, the shower temp was not as hot as i like.

Regardless, it was still nice and I would stay here again! I really appreciate friendly staff who really seem to want to make you comfy.

Also there was a lady working in the little coffee shop by the bar who made an effort to give me breakfast even though she was not open yet. I had to leave very early and when I stopped by to purchase something she accommodated me. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Jessica T,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin San Diego. Here at Westin our goal is to make you feel like you're home. Our welcoming and friendly staff is there to make sure you have everything you need for your stay. From our Westin Heavenly Beds, to our restaurant and In Room Dining with SuperFood options, we have everything you need for your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin San Diego.

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We live in San Diego and staycation downtown often. Our usual hotel was booked, so we chose the Westin for my boyfriend's birthday. Morgan checked us in, graciously welcomed us, wished my boyfriend a happy birthday AND sent a birthday snack plate with a handwritten birthday note to our room. So thoughtful! Our room was great-we loved the views, the uber-comfy Westin bed and typical of the Westin was very clean and spacious. The location was perfect, just a short walk to the train/trolley, the Old Police Headquarters (shopping & dining), Seaport Village and the water. We loved this property and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendaleighna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Brendaleighna,

I hope that we become your new go to hotel for you San Diego staycations. Our signature Westin Heavenly beds guarantee a great night’s sleep and our location makes it easy to get around all of downtown. Thank you for recognizing Morgan at the front desk. We always appreciate feedback for our associates and I will be sure to share it with the staff. We know that our service is what separates us from the rest and I am delighted to hear we could exceed your expectations.

Remain Well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent one night at the Westin San Diego, and will never stay there again. We requested a rollaway in our Bay View king room, which was placed upright in the middle of our room. It was up to us to move furniture, etc. to make it fit. Given the incredibly small size of the room (along the lines of an hotel room in Manhattan,) this involved us putting chairs and tables up on the window ledge and jamming the bed in between a chair, the desk and the 45 degree wall. We hoped that housekeeping would adjust it when they came in for turndown service, but they never came by.

On a very strange note, our room was really damp. Everything felt very wet and humid. It was really weird. When we inquired about getting the shuttle to the airport for a very early flight, we were told that flight crew would have priority so we would be better off getting a cab. While it was good to know this in advance (and we used Uber, which was perfect,) it was a bit disconcerting that their customer service was unable to accommodate their own guests.

We stay at Westins a couple of times a year and are always really pleased with the rooms, service, etc. so this was a huge disappointment. We would never stay here again, nor would we recommend it to anyone. We should have gone to the Sheraton Harbor Island, where we had stayed before.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Salsl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa T, General Manager at The Westin San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Sals18 – Thank you for being loyal to the Westin brand. I was disappointed to read about your recent experience. We offer turndown for all guest based on request and would have been happy to take care of your rollaway. We also offer complimentary airport transportation based on space availability as seats can fill up quickly. We take advance reservations for all of our guests including flight crews. I hope you keep us and Starwood’s many brands in mind upon your return to San Diego.
Be well,
Alyssa Turowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#49 of 279 in San Diego
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin San Diego

Address: 400 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £100 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Diego Hotelprovides a retreat to one of downtown San Diego's landmark hotels. Experience The Westin San Diego's $15 million dollar transformation, introducing the brand's new modern design. The hotel now has a distinctly upscale, contemporary feel, inspired by soothing elements of nature. With a complete revitalization of guestrooms, restaurant, lobby, public areas, San Diego meeting space, two new Legal War Rooms, Tangent and a new Westin Fitness Studio, the newly refurbished urban retreat will transform every aspect of a stay into a revitalizing experience. The Westin San Diego is located a few blocks from the famous Gaslamp Quarter and just minutes from all of San Diego's major attractions: Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town and more. Enjoy Westin San Diego Hotel's panoramic views of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Island and the downtown cityscape from your guestroom. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access in the lobby and complimentary shuttle service to/from the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Westin
Wyndham San Diego Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing