We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few nights at the Palomar for business...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #64 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A few nights at the Palomar for business...”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I loved the rooms - wood floors in a hotel room are great - no suspect carpet stains. The beds are huge but are too mushy. The location of the hotel is on the edge of the run down part of downtown (from 5th Ave going southward) that is in the process of being revitalized so there are a lot of homeless people around and some real characters at the 7 Eleven at the corner. It is just a quick walk though to the Horton Plaza and a ton of restaurants. Parking is really expensive so I am glad I took the train into town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattybaddy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    363
    152
    53
    36
See reviews for
160
472
54
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I love Kimpton hotels, and upon arrival, the Palomar in San Diego it looked to be completely up to par. Massive entry doors unlike anything I've ever seen, a gorgeous lobby and lobby bar, friendly check in staff, and a well appointed, modern, trendy room with a great view. I felt certain I would love this hotel as much as I have loved other Kimptons. I travel about 75 nights a year on business, and enjoy leisure travel with my wife as well. This trip was for a company meeting, and over 100 colleagues were staying there as well. I don't always expect that much out of a business hotel, but this proper missed on two major items. My TV consistently did not work, despite technical support being sent to my room multiple times to "fix" the problem. I also did not have hot water four out of my five morning showers. I don't mean the water wasn't steaming hot, nor even lukewarm or tepid - these showers were downright cold. Upon polling several of my colleagues, many if not most experienced the same problems with both the TV and hot water. It seems that this property may have overspent on appearance, but dropped the ball on some of the basics that would get me to come back. As a caveat, if you look at my other reviews, I am generally a very positive reviewer on trip advisor, not just a complainer with an axe to grind. Next time I am looking for a trendy hotel in San Diego, I think I will stick with the predictability of Starwood and stay at the W.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Hobbrooks,

I am sorry we ruined your business trip to San Diego and the Palomar. I am disappointed and apologize for the issues you experienced.

I would like to discuss your stay with you personally. At your convenience please contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm regards,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I am not even sure where to begin with this review so lets start with the beginning. We were planning a short get away to San Diego and we have had very good luck with the Kimpton chain. So when I started to check out the San Diego area, i noticed that there were 2 Kimpton hotels in San Diego. I places a note on the Kimpton InTouch facebook page to reach out to others for some recommendations. I got one reply from a member of management at the Palomar. She asked me to email her my needs and wants and she came up with the perfect room suggestion for us. At Check-In, the desk staff and valet staff were attentive and friendly. When we got to our room, there was a complimentary bottle of wine left for us since they new we were they celebrating a milestone. The room had everything we could ask for and more. It was close to everything we wanted to go and see. The concierge recommended several nice places for us to have lunch and dinner. I can not say enough good things about the staff as they went out of their way for me several times during out stay. This is a definite 5 star hotel in my book!!!

Room Tip: Make contact with hotel though facebook to get some questions answers and see if they might be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyMedic2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear IndyMedic2006,

I really appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Palomar. I am thankful you reached out to us through Facebook. I also appreciate the comments regarding our front desk and valet staff. It sounds like our concierge allowed you to live like a local!

We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorca
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here for four nights over new year and had a great stay. A perfect location to stay for exploring San Diego and the surrounding area. The hotelis situated in downtown so literally there is an abundance of restaurants shops, malls on your doorstep. We used valey parking, not cheap at 48 dollars anight, but the system worked for us. There is a public car park right across the street, which gives you the alternative if you wish, althogh we dint even explore the cost of it. Bedrooms are simply but comfortably furnished and the floors are all wooden, beds are very, very good as are the bathrooms which are spacious and have a full bath and shower.The hotel has an excellent roof top pool, "HEATED", as wellas a good gym area which gives you the basic equipment for a workout, good by hotel standards....The bare seves great cocktails and seemed to be patronised by many locals which is always a good sign. Reception staff were fantastically efficient and friendly as were the bell hops and valets for parking. Gald we chose this hotel and a definate reccommend. The best restaurant we found was and Italian called ASTI, located on the same street, three blocks away on the left hand side. Italian food and servise at it's best. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and thats what we got, couldn't here a thing...ask for a quiet room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobsonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Hobsonga,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at the Palomar. I appreciate the great comments about the room and location.

We hope you will be returning soon.

Warm regards,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my 3 other girlfriends. AT the time,, the hotel was called Se San Diego. We had a great experience. Rooms are very clean, modern and the bed is one of the most comfy bed i've ever slept in. We got a deal via travelzoo and only cost $99/night, which is a great deal. Location is great as well, right on the edge of Gaslamp district and easy walking distance to some nice restaurant, bars and clubs. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleLMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

all i am going to say about this hotel is that it is located in a great area in downtown, it is a great hotel with an exceptional staff. Anything we needed they immediately brought up to our room with a smile and they were just so friendly and accommodating that our trip was extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karim i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Karim I,

Thank you for your great comments on our location and exceptional staff. We look forward to your return soon.

Warm regards,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed for the new year's weekend and had an amazing experience. The rooms are very modern and clean. The hotel staff was excellent. I will be returning! A+

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tageoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Great_tix,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your great stay at the Palomar. We appreciate the A+ rating and your comment on our excellent staff.

We look forward to your return soon.

Warm regards,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#71 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#47 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing