We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with Amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #65 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great hotel with Amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I live in Pacific Beach and sometimes get a hotel downtown when going out on the weekends. It was my birthday and I decided to get a room. San Diego has plenty of nice hotels but Hotel Palomar really delivers. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Valet service is fast and friendly. Front desk and guest services are friendly, helpful and really make sure you enjoy your stay. I had a great overall experience here and will definitively come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bK732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    351
    148
    53
    36
See reviews for
159
454
51
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southeast Wastington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We escaped for the weekend and the Palomar SD was a great place. The hotel decor is awesome and staff wonderful. Kimpton is our first choice in any city and places like the Palomar are why!
The Palomar is located within walking distance to the Gas Lamp Quarter, Seaport Village, Harbor, Little Italy and more.

Room Tip: Salt is the best restaurant around! We went to the Gas Lamp Quarter for the food experience and fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I were down in San Diego for our "babymoon". I booked the Palomar San Diego without knowing much about the hotel. I can say with certainty that it was an absolutely amazing experience -- one of the best we have ever had. The hotel is beautiful -- the decor is hip, and the rooms are massive. What really stood out to me, however, was the service. We were greeted by Johnson Menezes at the front desk. From the moment we met him, he ensured that every element of our stay was taken care of. From helping us get reservations at the perfect place for dinner, or setting us up with an absolutely amazing room with a view, Johnson really looked out for us. I credit a lot of our fantastic experience to his expertise! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear MontyPal,

I am glad you had an incredible "babymoon" and had a wonderful experience with Johnson. Thanks for the great comments. Johnson is an asset to our hotel.

We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I travelled from Calgary, Alberta to San Diego and searched online for a hotel and ended up booking the Kimpton Palomar.

Man, we were not disappointed. When you travel to a new city, it's kind of a crap shoot to find a hotel based on pictures and reviews, because they are always mixed. Well, I can tell you this place won't disappoint.

From the minute we pulled up to the valet, we were greeted by Chuy, and our experience was first rate from there. My wife and I are early to mid thirties (for reference), and we were blown away at how great this hotel was. From the modern design, beautiful hardwoods, and modern rooms, I would liken this hotel to staying at a friends house that is that new, modern style. We felt comfortable from the moment we entered the massive front door till we pulled away to head home.

The staff are outstanding, very friendly and extremely helpful. Location is prime for San Diego, close to restaurants, music, the water, and even a few steps from drugstores, coffee shops, etc. As a bit of a techie, I always hope for lots of plugs to keep my iPhones, iPads and cameras fully charged and this hotel was great for that. The tv system is LodgeNet, so you can even control it from your iPhone/iPad using the LodgeNet app.

The bed - Holy moses, this is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. You usually return from vacation and look forward to getting back to your own bed. Not this time. I think of that king size bed every night. And the pillows are just as comfortable.

Bathroom - Travelling with my wife, occasionally we find bathrooms a little cramped for space but not at the Palomar. Tonnes of room, great stand up shower.

Cleanliness - Our room looked just like the professional photos.

Other - My wife and I were preparing for a night out and were standing outside the main door deciding where to go, when a crazy person started swinging her purse at people. The staff response was swift, and they restored calm for the patrons of the hotel. They are simply outstanding. Our main experience was with Chuy, and man, that guy is possibly one of the best I have ever met. Friendly, helpful, and informative. The three things you look for in hotel staff. From suggestions of places to see and things to do, Chuy made our stay first class. (See you next time dude).

The pool - Man, what a great pool area. The seating and bar area are amazing, best in class.

Must See - Go to Coronado.. great little day trip, and boardwalk area.

If you are a nerd like us and have watched the OC, Laguna Beach, etc... it is a short drive north along the coast.

La Jolla - Don't even think about it... just go there. It's beautiful.

There are only two complaints...

1) The weather in San Diego was foggy for the entire weekend we were there. Kimpton, you make everything else beautiful, so please work on the weather.

2) The Pool area and Bar... not really a complaint, but it's only open til 8 pm. We like a lot of other travellers go out and explore all day, and we would have really loved to have the bar and pool area open till 10, 12 pm? It's a shame to have such a great area and it's closed every time you get back for the day... not really a complaint, but just a suggestion. Even 10 pm would be great.

Thanks again Kimpton, we will be back...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoldenCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear HoldenCal,

WOW! Thank you for your amazing comments. Chuy is amazing and I really appreciate the great feedback.

Please come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Rey, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the Palomar on Saturday April 21st. I had been to several Kimpton Hotels in San Francisco and was excited to see what this one would be like since each one seems to have its own unique personality! I wasn't disappointed.

From our first minute there, we had a great experience. Chuy at the door was extremely helpful. I had made a reservation for a special deal online and expected a nice room but had no idea what we were in store for! We stayed in a King room that had to be 600-700 sq feet. Everything was modern but comfy and the bed was extremely sleepworthy :) I loved the robes and the fact that the hotel provided plenty of towels so we didn't need to call for extras which we usually do.

Everything was clean and the staff were very attentive, especially the manager, Johnson. The hotel is walking distance from everything so we didn't need to drive when we went our to meet friends in the Gaslamp district. The only downside which is not the hotel's fault is that if you self park your car you have to go three blocks away, but that seemed like only a minor hassle since one we were there we didn't need to go anywhere.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Cynthia S,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Chuy, Johnson and all of the Palomar team look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My stay at the Palomar San Diego was a great experience. The staff was all excellent, the room was very unique and what a great view from the balcony. You are walking distance to the Gas Lamp, great restaurants, a Padres game, the Bay and Horton Plaza.

Room Tip: Corner Suite was perfect for a couples weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Douglas G,

Thank you for the great comments on our staff, location and your room. Come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have stayed here twice now- 1st time was in August when we got married at this amazing hotel and then this past weekend for the Phillies/Padres baseball games. Let me tell you that this place does NOT disappoint. The location is great, the people are amazing, the food is to die for, and the decor- one of my fav parts of this place (hence having my wedding here for the amazing photo ops). The restaurant is very unique with it's food selection, the drinks are yummy, the rooftop pool area/bar is fun to lounge around (they even gave us a free sample of the BEST ceviche I've ever tasted), and the staff want to do what they can to make sure you feel like a welcomed guest. I look forward to many more stays at this hotel and hope that everyone reads this gives it a chance- because it's the BEST!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzielou80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Lizzielou80,

Thank you for coming back to the Palomar again! We really appreciate your comments. Our food is amazing! I am so glad you were able to experience Saltbox Dining & Drinking. Let us know when you are returning.

Sincerely,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#57 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing