We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with Kimpton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #64 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with Kimpton”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This beautiful Kimpton hotel is perfectly located in downtown San Diego. A short walk to the gaslamp district, a few blocks from the waterfront, and a short taxi or bus ride to the zoo. They have mastered the art of hospitality. Our room was beautiful, the service was stellar, and there is simply nothing negative I could say about this hotel. We will surely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDyers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks so much for such a great review. I'm so happy you had a nice stay and our staff took great care of you.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    366
    152
    55
    36
See reviews for
161
474
53
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel at the end of our 3 week road trip. We couldn't have asked for a better end to our holiday. The service and staff were fabulous. Special thanks to Leo (Front of House) and Dallas (Valet) for your recommendations and for making our stay with yourselves so enjoyable. Our room was a brilliant size and kept immaculate. We would recommend this hotel as the perfect location to explore San Diego. We did appreciate having our own car and we did find the parking costs high (as we did in every US city). We will be back for another visit. We would also recommend a visit to The Zanzibar restaurant in the East Village (a few minutes walk from the hotel). The food was excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was by the elevator and we didn't hear a thing. The room was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: There are recycling bins in the bedrooms and there are the usual towel and bedding environmental recommendations.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks Martin B for the great review. Leo and Dallas are our Rock Stars and I'm really happy they showed you a great time in San Diego. Please come back soon and check out Saltbox on your next visit.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I went there 2 weekends ago for our anniversary.

Cons:
. Be prepared to spend $40.00 in parking
. Saturday's in the summer they host pool parties. If you want to use the pool you have to pay $15.00/per person
. The hotel is close to all the fun bars and restaurants, the only problem is that is it located at the end of the "good part" of the Gaslamp District. So be prepared to see homeless people and all sorts of weird people.

Pros:
. The hotel holds free wine tasting everyday from 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
. Close to restaurants and bars
. Clean hotel with friendly staff
. Quiet room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks Muchara and I'm really happy you enjoyed your stay. Wine hours are a fun way to meet other guests and enjoy some complimentary wine.

We hope to see you again soon.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Nice stay. Room was near the elevator and did not hear a thing...service was fabulous and appreciated the teams attention to service. Restaurant served up a good breakfast, very fresh and cooked to order. ..

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks Sammyham for the great review. I'm so happy you enjoyed the service, hotel and Saltbox also. Let us know when you're coming back to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I cant believe how bad this hotel's custoemr service is. I booked a room on 5-9-2014 for what I thought was on 6-20-2014. Two minutes after I booked the room I realized that I booked it on the wrong day. I called the hotel 30 seconds after this to tell them what happened. When I spoke to the reservation rep he told that I had to talk to my credit card company. At that time the credit card company was closed. I contacted them first thing the following morning and they contacted the hotle and the Manager said that I could not change the reservation and or cancel it. They knew that I made a mistake and they still charged me. I own a business and knowing that a customer made a simple mistake I would have rescheduled the room stay. At the end of the day I paid $285 for a night stay there and I cant stay. :-( Horrible customer service. Keep in mind that if you have a problem here they may not care.

Jim Lopez

916-825-7693

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I am glad we were able to talk and get this straightened out Jim. If you need anything further from me please let me know. My email is mark.vancooney@hotelpalomar.com.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Looks nice but has many problems. We checked on to find that we were not supplied soap ,shampoo and conditioner. Once we had asked to have some brought up we realized there was no hot water . Hours later this was fixed . We have attended the wine function in the lobby for multiple days and the wines are yet to be changed . The tv remote works part time and we were just asked to leave the pool area on a nice sunny day due to them having a function and the business function was more important . Well we have a couple more days here what will the bring ? Not sure if we will use a kimpton hotel again

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I am really sorry you had such a rough start to your stay with us. I can be reached by email at mark.vancooney@hotelpalomar.com. I would like to discuss your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Our visit started off great. We were greeted by the valet attendants and concierge who took our luggage to our room. The hotel has a nice decor and feel to it. As a frequent Kimpton hotel visitor throughout the country, I was pretty excited.

When we checked into our room, I saw a lot of scratch marks on the furnitures and floor. It's probably the dark brown color which brings out all the blemishes so that turned us off a bit. We decided to take a dip in the pool and had a great time. When we returned to our room, we realized our shower only had hot and hotter water.

This is when it took a turn. We called the front desk and they told us they'd be sending up an engineer which took like 30 mins while we stood wet in our bathing suits. When they finally came, they couldn't fix the water temperature. I called the front desk again and asked if we can shower somewhere else since we've been dripping wet for almost an hour at this. Finally they gave us key cards so we can shower in another room.

However, when we returned to our room, guest services came up and upgraded our room to a very nice suite on the 17th floor... I have to admit, I was sold. THANK YOU, Kimpton staff!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank akwok210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I'm sorry for the rough start akwok210. But I'm really happy our staff turned it around. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,947 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
972 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
2,415 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#69 of 279 in San Diego
1,524 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing