We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for the Gas Lamp District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #58 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is perfect if you want to go out in the Gas Lamp District as it is just on the edge of one of the main streets and a short walk from the bars and restaurants. The hotel is modern in a boutique style. The staff were very friendly. Valet parking was a bit pricey at $39 per night but I appreciate space is restricted in such a central location and the staff were very helpful and got something for me that i had left in the car. We were given a free complimentary breakfast and also complimentary wine hour 5 to 6pm which was a nice touch. Our room was slightly noisy as we were on the 3rd floor and so above the bar and near to the road. If you want a bit of quiet I would request a higher floor. The concierge gave me some good recommendations for bars and restaurants and everyone was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We had a lower floor room so could hear the noise from the bar and road. Ask for a higher floored r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ThreeShotsAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks peachangel, I'm really happy we were the perfect location for you. It sounds like you got to experience the best of San Diego.

We hope to see you soon.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent a quick overnight stay recently with my husband. We loved the room, the hotel bar, and the very modern decor and vibe....but best of all, we loved the customer service. Kudos to the staff who made us feel welcome even before our stay began. If you are attending a Padres game or just want to hang out in the Gaslamp District...this is one of the top spots when visiting beautiful San Diego.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks Rhonda for the great review. I'm glad you and your husband loved the hotel, Saltbox and our awesome staff. We hope you're able to return soon. Go Padres!

Cheers,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I love the aesthetics of this place. Everything is modern, but low-key and chic. The walls have texture, there are minimalist touches everywhere. The bedding, beds, and pillows are A+ quality. I loved, loved, loved the overhead rain shower. The staff, as I have experienced at other Kimptons, seem very happy -- and that means a lot when you are a weary traveler. The pool is small but nice.

When I checked in, I was particularly exhausted, so I went immediately to the spa where I booked a massage with Carla. As someone who has been getting massages for almost 40 years, I have to say that Carla was the best of the best. I treated myself to a 90-minute massage -- not cheap -- but well worth it. She was amazing.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks marabel100 for the great comments. I love hearing about our luxurious hotel and caring staff. Great to see that you had such a great massage at Se Spa.

We look forward to your return.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After meeting the friendly Valet Parking Staff ($39 per night parking includes unlimited in and out privileges), we checked in to our one bedroom suite. The Palomar is ultra modern and has great attention to detail. The overhead rain shower was a nice touch. The hotel is centrally located at the north end of GasLamp District. The concierge is first class. Wonderful complimentary coffee in the lobby. The new restuarant- Saltbox- has a great new menu and fair prices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuitcaseStories2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I'm so happy you were able to enjoy the hotel, Saltbox, our complimentary wine, coffee and a great room. Thanks SuitcaseStories2014 for such a great review. Next visit make sure you spend some time at Se Spa. They will leave you feeling revived.

Warm regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

So often, one stays in these cool, stylish hotels and you feel out of place if you don't wear your Bvlgari on the toilet or flash your Astin Martin keys at the hot, scantily clad desk attendant. Well, I have neither, but was just as eagerly welcomed at the Palomar in San Diego. Only disappointment were the very friendly desk attendants, neither of whom were scantily clad. I was made immediately welcome, they accommodated both my early and late checkout requests (my plans my last day were cancelled and I was stuck waiting all day for a redeye back east) and the hotel itself couldn't have possibly been more comfortable. With my predicament my last day, they simply watched my luggage for the day and let me spend as much time as I wanted at their amazingly appointed pool (cabanas, lounges, poolside bar and poolside food service...just great). Comfortable, stylishly appointed room, rainshower (that didn't leak all over the floor like most), great location (about 6 blocks from access to the 5), friendly staff, friendly valets...just not something one expects at a hotel that could be a lot snobbier and get away with it. There was one particular food service attendant who was an immense help in getting me my poolside food on one day they weren't serving up there because of a private pool party. I was on crutches so had a hard time getting around so she arranged to get me my lunch delivered to the pool anyway. I wish I had gotten her name because I would have liked to send her personal kudos here...she is a great representative of the hotel. Bottom line, if you're going to be anywhere near downtown SD, the Palomar is a must stay. I am certainly going to be seeking out other Klimpton Hotels if this is the high standard to which all their properties aspire. And if you slum it with a BMW and a Tissot like me, you'll still be just as welcome!

Room Tip: The 16th floor suites are amazing, so if it's a special occasion stay there. Or slum it in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Wow George E. Thanks so much for such a great review. I'm so happy that you found the Palomar luxurious with a smile. That is exactly what we strive for, spirit, style and delight.

We look forward to your return.

Cheers,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is a gorgeous hotel and the rooms and beds are very comfortable. Stayed here for a family trip in San Diego, the staff was mostly friendly and helpful. Nice views, but not worth sitting outside unless you want to listen to bad dance music during their pool party or listen to the AC units chugging away.
I'd love to give the hotel a better rating but, here were my complaints:
The lighting was confusing. It was near impossible to figure out how to turn on just a dim light in the main room as the lights are pre programed.
And the rooms were dirty. Under the beds are filthy-not sure if they are ever cleaned under there. In my families room they had tattered pillow cases and there were smudge marks all over the wall (mind you after complaining they were comped their breakfast at least).
Also, the bell hop accepted a double tip. My mom was unaware he had already been tipped (generously) by my dad downstairs and he still accepted a tip from her once we got to the room. Sorry, but that's in poor taste.
The front desk staff is responsive, but dirty rooms are a big turn off for me, especially for such nice hotels.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Svigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I'm sorry we ruined your visit to the Palomar Svigil. I would be happy to discuss your stay personally. My email is mark.vancooney@hotelpalomar.com.

Sincerely,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Palomar was in a great location for restaurants, bars and shopping. The trolley was at the top of the street and so easy to use. The hotel was very boutiquey and stylish and the room was of a similar style, beds were comfy and the bathroom was excellent with a big overhead shower. My only complaint was on the Saturday we decided to go to the pool it was very busy with no beds or chairs available ( I know that my negative point is trivial ) but there was not a towel available to put down on the deck so we just left. The hotel staff were excellent and very attentitive. Free wine and coffee in the lobby was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkerclan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I'm so happy you were able to enjoy so many of the great things we have at the Palomar. I'm sorry our pool was busy and you were unable to enjoy the sunshine on our pool deck. Please let me know if you are returning. I would be happy to assist with your return.

Cheers,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 286 in San Diego
2,119 reviews
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#72 of 286 in San Diego
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-5101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#21 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £146 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing