We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good for the price and location”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I've stayed here twice now. I choose it because of price and location.. It's literally right on the beach and is like $35 a night. However, It is definitely a party hostle. Everything is kind of damp and sandy, and most people are drunk. If you plan on sleeping without interruption or having any privacy - don't stay here. But if you're there to have a good time, it's perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebkrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    49
    27
    20
    24
See reviews for
Families
0
8
81
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The banana bungalow was killer! Most definatly the BEST vacation ever! I would stay there forever if I could!! Rate this a solid 10!!! :) location is great! Beach front! Perfect for teens and young adults! From the BB you can walk everywhere so no need for taxis or such things! I would go back in a heartbeat of I could.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The location is amazing. When it was written that it was on the beach, I had no clue it would actually be ON the beach. The rooms were nice, the ambience was great, the breakfast food was good, and it felt like we were sharing a house with friends from all around the world! The organised activities were fun to do, and I would definitely go back. Every time they appear on my Facebook's timeline it gives a bit of nostalgia. Do recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the banana bungalow in Pacific beach, San Diego. It was on the beach and parties were awsome. I met a lot of good people at the hostel and had a lot of fun. The only thing I did not like was some of the staff that were not polite and not welcoming. For example a gril from the staff was in the same dorms than I and she was making out all day and all night with another member of the staff...The lockers needed a 25 cent every time to open it...kind of ridiculous. Other than that it was a really nice stay and I will come back there for sure! So If you like to surf, party and meet a lot of people the banana bungalow is definetly the place for you!

Room Tip: Choose a privat room if you want more safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Overall I really enjoyed my stay here. The Pacific Beach location cannot be rivalled, the comfortable rooms are good value and there is a very positive, vibrant atmosphere in the hostel. However, major flaws prevent it from bring any better than this. If you demand high security in a hostel, do not stay here; it is very lax and the small lockers they have do cost. The bathrooms are kept surprisingly clean but I guarantee you will not leave her without sand everywhere imaginable. I also echo the reviews of others regarding staff; we found the majority of them to be unhelpful and unnecessarily rude. Overall, I would recommend this hostel to those in search of fun.. just don't tell me I didn't warn you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank te17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Okay so the location of this place is absolutely brilliant! You couldnt get any closer to the beach without actually being on the sand, and they have a lovely little outside social area which overlooks the beach. The social scene too is great and they have a lot of organised activities. Pacific Beach itself is a really great place too, although rather far out from downtown San Diego ( a bus trip and trolley trip away) The staff really ruined our experience however. Aside from one scottish man, and an irish girl,who were really lovely, the rest of the staff made us feel so unwelcome the entire time we stayed there, and were incredibly rude and unhelpful. It felt as if we were intruding or something. Not a nice experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Hi - I was here in Summer 10 - they looked after me beautifully - lovely Scottish crew welcoming - cool guys - right on the beach - meet lots of great interesting people. Keg parties - with a big keg of beer and a tube - the Scottish guy know how to work it. They also do acrobatics if you ask them nicely. See the beachwalk with everyone passing on skateboards, rollerskates and a wierd man dancing on the wall. TV for events, surfing lessons and kit - highly recommended. xxxx helena (hi to the boys - get Big Red to contact me (he likes burning man and has a skeleton hand tattoo) xxxxx I'm back safe xxxx h

Room Tip: Cook a meal for the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumba q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 279 in San Diego
663 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Hostel

Property: Beach Bungalow Hostel
Address: 707 Reed Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3961 (Formerly Banana Bungalow San Diego)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Bungalow Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay and play at San Diego's most popular backpacker's beach hostel! Beach Bungalow is close to San Diego's finest attractions, a renowned marine preserve at La Jolla Cove, and walking-distance from 150+ bars, clubs, restaurants, and shopping catering to students and surfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beach Bungalow Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing