We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place - Just beware of the showers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ITH Beach Bungalow Surf Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our first experience of staying in any type of hostel and we were more than pleasantly surprised. As I'm sure you've read before, the hostel is right on the doorstep of Pacific Beach, and when I say doorstep, I mean you literally take one step outside and you're paddling.

If you're a skater or a surfer or just a fan of either of these things then this is the place for you, you can't move for skate and surf shops, as well as skaters and surfers themselves. The hostel itself is really homely, everyone makes you feel welcome and we met some amazing people during our stay here, some of them were hostel staff.

We stayed in a 12 bed co-ed room and as horrific as this sounds it was absolutely fine. They have lockers for your things but you're better off just taking a lock for your case rather than wasting a quarter every time you want to open it (yeah I'm tight). The only thing I would mention is the showers. Out of all the hostels we stayed in this one had the worst shower. It was like walking into the gates of hell. You have about as much room in there as Matilda did in the chokey. BEWARE THE SHOWER.

Other than that the location is amazing, the people are amazing, the nightlife is amazing. You'll meet some awesome people and have just an awesome time! Wahoo!

Room Tip: Instead of paying to use the lockers provided, just take a padlock for your suitcase and keep everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

The staff were super friendly and always included everyone to have a good time. Always something happening on the deck and made it so easy to meet cool people. The tours they offered were rad and a great way to see San Diego, night life and during the day! It had a real family, community vibe which was awesome. The rooms were clean, couldn't complain. The location was perfect, right on the beach front, and the boardwalk was such a chilled place to just be :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

great atmosphere even greater people. the hostel is right on the beach and there is no fitness center or pool but you do get a work out between surfing, beach volleyball, and 'Coach' who has a football game going on every day. this is by far the best place to stay in San Diego. Young adults from around the world and things to do everyday that the hostel does. Such as going to Tijiuana and going to shoot guns.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennysult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My second stay at this hostel in as many years. Situated right on Pacific Beach. Cheap and cheerful, you get what you pay for. Always something going on on the deck. Real easy place to meet fellow travellers. Lots of fun nights out organised by the hostel. PARTY central! Love this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridge1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My favourite hostel ever. I met some friends for life in this place. The swimming pool is the Pacific Ocean and the fitness centre is the boardwalk and the Pacific Ocean again. Party central. If you don't like socialising to the extreme then don't go but if you want the best time of your life then get involved. LOVE THIS PLACE

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacy_ebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed at BB in August 2011. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay next to the pacific beach then this is perfect. Some of the staff were friendly but others were pretty rude. The staff sleep in dorms just like the guest. I was being shhhed at by a member of staff by talking to my mate at 9am in the morning, while he were recovering from a hangover. This place is NOT for people who are looking for a clean stay, the sand gets everywhere. I was expecting more places to party nearby but was very disappointed to what it has to offer. If you want to party on the deck that's fine but a better experience would be partying in the city!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187045James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed here in January with two friends(20 and 21 years old) and had an awesome time. This hostel has a great location(right on the beach) and a great atmosphere. The staff here are very friendly and pointed us in the right direction multiple times.
All three nights we stayed here there was a bunch of people on the deck playing drinking and playing beer pong, i wouldn't stay here if you are worried about noise.
The rooms are average/below average but its a bed in a good location and a very fun time.
I would most definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinMoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
#1 of 66 in San Diego
569 reviews
Downtown
USA Hostels San Diego
USA Hostels San Diego
#2 of 66 in San Diego
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
California Dreams Hostel
California Dreams Hostel
#18 of 66 in San Diego
2 reviews
Downtown
Lucky D's Hostel
Lucky D's Hostel
#3 of 66 in San Diego
734 reviews
ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego
#4 of 66 in San Diego
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITH Beach Bungalow Surf Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITH Beach Bungalow Surf Hostel

Address: 707 Reed Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3961 (Formerly Banana Bungalow San Diego)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: £21 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ITH Beach Bungalow Surf Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay and play at San Diego's most popular backpacker's beach hostel! Beach Bungalow is close to San Diego's finest attractions, a renowned marine preserve at La Jolla Cove, and walking-distance from 150+ bars, clubs, restaurants, and shopping catering to students and surfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your ITH Beach Bungalow Surf Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing