We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Quiet, Clean, Friendly, Excellent Sleep, Cute...I Could Go On”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jamaica Plain, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet, Clean, Friendly, Excellent Sleep, Cute...I Could Go On”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hostel is....
- in a quiet neighborhood
- quiet but very warm/welcoming in general
- IMPECABLE CLEAN
- Well equipped with anything you need- coffee, tea, pancakes, TV, extra blankets, hot showers, very cozy matresses, ping pong table....
- Beautiful- the pictures are true to the experience
- great for hanging out- the kitchen is big, they have a TV room, and a really nice patio with a hammock
- friendly: Met many people of all ages and ethnicities, who were all interested in striking up a conversation.
- safe: check in desk at the front, key cards, etc.
- the most environmentally friendly hostel I've ever seen

Only negative is that shower water pressure is low (to be environmentally friendly)....and that is definitely not a big deal.

If you want a party hostel, this is not your place. If you want a hostel with all of the above qualities, it IS your place.

Room Tip: Stayed in the India private room- it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
What an amazing review. Thanks!
We are working on the water pressure issue. We are hoping we can get the best of both worlds in our newly remodeled bathroom.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    50
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
32
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I went to San Diego on a small budget with a few friends and we couldn't ask for more! For $25 per person the hostel was a bargain! The staff were welcoming and the community really warm. With a piano, a pingpong table, kitchen, and an ATM, I couldn't ask for more.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ShunYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for your great review! We hope to see you all back again soon.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Private
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Throughout my travels, I always wanted to take advantage of the savings of staying at a hostel. Yet, I am definitely not the stereotypical gone wild/binge drinking traveler that hostels are equated. Still, I am a part of the growing sector of travelers reconsidering hostels now that they are expanding their services to take into account families and non-partying guests. This is one of those hostels.

If you read the reviews, even the party-goers gave rave reviews of the facility and staff! Here a few details about the Point Loma Hostel:

Security - The hostel and rooms are accessed by the card key system used at hotels. There is a female only bathroom and a single shower for added privacy. There are signs posted everywhere to ensure that rule is maintained.

Kitchen - Facilities are modern. Labels are provided for groceries, as well as cubby holes for additional items. There are two sinks and two gas stoves. Filtered water is provided. Each morning free pancake batter is available. Of course all dishes, cookware, cutlery and seasonings are provided.

Dorms - The bunks are made of wood with a real twin mattress. Towels and a fresh fitted sheet are provided at check in. There is a locker for each bed and extra community lockers. Each bed has a lamp, fan and a wall socket. There is also a socket inside each locker to safely charge electrical devices. The lockers are not large enough for a bag larger than a standard backpack.

Kitchen - The facilities are modern and in excellent condition. There are two sinks and gas stoves. Labels are provided for groceries, as well as cubby holes for other items. All dishware, cutlery, cookware, seasonings and towels are provided. There is also filtered water and free pancake batter for breakfast. There is a grill outside.

Amenities - Full kitchen, wash/dryers, ironing board/iron, grill, television room, wifi internet, computer terminal, surfboards and more

Walking Distance - grocery stores, eateries, library, the park and bus station

The biggest issue is the location. Point Loma is not walking distance to the main attractions in San Diego. A car will be required or a bus pass. If you do not plan to get drunk or stay out late every night, a bus pass will be fine. San Diego is an easy city to explore by bus.

I still prefer a hotel over a hostel, but I would stay at this particular hostel again. In fact, I plan to the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for this 5 star rating!
I am so glad you gave us a try and will be coming back again. Next time you are here we will have an expanded breakfast, WiFi in all the rooms, and a newly renovated woman's bathroom.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
446 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I've been staying here quite a few times when deciding to do an extended stay in san diego. The area its located in is a great neighborhood much quieter then staying downtown, but in regards to nightlife there is nothing here since its in a residential neighborhood. Really to get around if you are staying here you need a car the place does cite bus service. By the way this is one of the rare hostels in san diego that will allow californians to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

2nd stay at this hostel, both were good experiences. I felt quite safe. The place is clean. The staff are very warm and helpful. This hostel has a fabulous kitchen with all the "upgrades." Beds are very comfortable. Loudness of nearby airport is a detraction, but planes stop between 10pm & 6 or 6:30 ish a.m. & hostel is relatively quiet at night. The hostel provides free earplugs, very helpful & generous! I love the no alcohol & no smoking policy very much. I liked that there were families and several people over aged 35-50 here. Seems the partiers stay closer to the beach. Makes for a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatou, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

First hostel with my friends during our road trip in California. The hostel is great, the accommodations are clean and modern - a huge kitchen, a TV room very comfy where we spent quite a long time because of the rain in May, and a patio perfect for sunny days. Warm welcome.
Far away from downtown without a car, and around a 30-minute-walk from Ocean Beach.
++ : home made pancakes for breakfast, delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionV31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tczew, Poland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

THIS is the best hostel in the world I've ever stayed at! NO KIDDING! What's more, it's better than all the hotels I've stayed at and I mean it [I've stayed in some 5-star ones as well...] You feel like at home here! It's nice, friendly, clean, with carpets on the floors, bedside lamps next to each bed as well as fans and sockets! WOW! You'll find a washing machine there, a table-tennis table, a kitchen for your own use, a cozy lounge with books...and anything else you want! And you want what left me speechless when I came back with my team from Ocean Beach? The beautiful piano! Sorry, I couldn't help playing it (which led to a next-day-quarrel with two of my friends whom I'd woken up...) GO and stay there even if it's not on your way! Hope I'll be back again one day there!!! :D ( BIG thanks to the founder and owner!!!) Wish all hotels looked like this one - the world would be a fairy tale!

Room Tip: just stay there! Period. :]
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiano_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
966 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#147 of 279 in San Diego
741 reviews
Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
#1 of 65 in San Diego
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma

Property: Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma
Address: 3790 Udall St, San Diego, CA 92107-2414
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Point Loma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Chill in our Air-conditioned hostel featuring a laid-back atmosphere with a beautiful, sunny courtyard complete with table tennis, gas BBQ, and plenty of spots to relax. There is also a large, open kitchen that's perfect for cooking and sharing your favorite meals and a comfy, spacious lounge with a big screen smart TV that you can stream Netflix on. FREE WIFI throughout building. Weekly dinners, barbecues, and Taco Crawls are conducted by helpful hostel staff. The Point Loma Hostel is located two miles from San Diego's famous Ocean Beach in the relaxed neighborhood of Point Loma. Ocean Beach and its accompanying nightlife, cafes, restaurants, shops and weekly Farmer's Market are just a short 5 min drive/bus ride or 20 min walk away. Nearby, Sea World and Mission Bay are just a 5 minute drive or 20 minute bus ride away. Balboa Park, with its museums and the world famous San Diego Zoo, and Downtown San Diego are 15 or 30 minutes away by car and bus respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing