We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get to the Point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Get to the Point”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The plentiful free street parking and the large kitchen island are the best features. The hard working staff puts out pancake mix to griddle your own. Plus fruit, granola and yogurt are yummy for brekkie with o.j. and the coffee.

Because of the current drought in CA, the hostel discourages hand washing of dishes, cups, and utensils. Running the dishwasher saves more water and is way more sanitary. Plus there's no need to set your alarm clock. Southwest and Alaska Air start flying overhead at 6 a.m. from the adjacent San Diego International.

Room Tip: There are no MEN showers Upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CafeConCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    50
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
32
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After a good hostel experience at the Mississippi River Headwaters State Park I decided to try it again. Over the weekend I stayed at the Point Loma Hostel. I was greeted by Danielle who was extremely pleasant and gave me a tour of the facility. Since my stay was over the weekend and during the summer the facility was quite full. My big requirements are a comfortable bed and clean restrooms. I had BOTH!! The hostel is located in a neighborhood and was close to the places I visited..downtown, the harbor area, Cabrillo National Monument, Point Loma Lighthouse, Mission Park and the airport.

I didn't spend much time at the facility because I was extremely busy being a tourist. Unlike the other hostel I visited most of the guests at this one were much younger than me. Everyone did follow the rules about quiet time which was good. All in all it was a good experience and well worth the $33/night.

Room Tip: The facility does not have central air conditioning but has a stand-up fan in each room and mini-fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, 18 May 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We now have central heating and AC throughout the entire hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here on Memorial weekend. The hostel is located in a neighborhood area, so if you're looking for things to do, this may not be the best place. Public transportation was not very convenient (not a good thing when trying to get to the beach). They were working on the women's bathroom, so there was limited shower/bathroom space. The bathroom had one toilet, which didn't smell too great. Otherwise, the rooms were average. The lockers were convenient (bring your own lock). My room faced the courtyard, which did get a bit noisy with the other guests. Breakfast consisted of pancakes, maybe cereal and yogurt. However, the hostel is one street away from a grocery store. The front desk was not often staffed; I felt like I was bothering the staff if I had questions, having to pull them away from other chores like cleaning and laundry. In short, if you're not stuck on the location, I'd recommend their other hostel downtown instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently stayed here for 4 nights. Overall our stay was very good just a couple of quirks as I have stayed in hostels before, there seemed to lack a bit of atmosphere around the place. This doesn't mean that the stay was not nice as it was just different to what I expected. It is a very quiet hostel which is great for relaxing. It is in a good location as it is just a 20 minute bus ride into the heart of downtown San Diego. They do appear to be trying with the atmosphere as they put together $5 meal nights and other little activities, that you can sign up for. Breakfast is included every morning and you then have full access to the kitchen for the rest of the day. Coffee and tea is there throughout the day which is a great touch. The laundry on premises. There is only 1 toilet upstairs and 1 down stairs for men which gets a bit frustrating also as there was always someone using them. In regards to the female situation they only had 1 shower in the whole hostel and there wasn't any notice for women to be more considerate with time in washroom especially when they advertise to be an energy efficient hostel. The airport is very close by and when the planes start flying over head in the morning it may well wake you up, so its recommended to pick up some ear plugs that are complimentary in the living area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here with our two kids (3 and 6). The staff were very helpful, the common areas were very clean and the outside courtyard was very pretty with fairy lights and lots of plants and a hammock and ping pong table. Our room was small but cozy and clean with double bunk beds. Everything worked well and you can't argue with free pancakes for breakfast! Only thing to remember is to bring some earplugs as it's very, very noisy in the flight path, as well as doors opening/closing with people coming and going. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for your review!
We have added fee ear plugs for you to use and have extended our hours to midnight.
We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I loved staying at this hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The family-like atmosphere made it a home away from home. My only problem was finding parking, and that can't really be helped. Nights were quiet and the my room was comfortable and cozy. I will definitely stay here again, and am looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Aircraft noise stops at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are looking forward to you staying with us again. Thanks so much for your review!
Staff do our best to make every guest's stay the best it can be. We are glad you had a great time.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at H.I. The location makes this hostel worth it. The property needs some updating but it works. It's close to many downtown restaurants and bars. It can get loud, late at night with guests coming late. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is simple and good as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for your review! I believe this review is for our Downtown location, I will make sure to pass it on to them.

Cheers,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Dolphin Motel
#9 of 278 in San Diego
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#33 of 278 in San Diego
2,158 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
#1 of 65 in San Diego
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma

Property: Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma
Address: 3790 Udall St, San Diego, CA 92107-2414
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Point Loma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Chill in our Air-conditioned hostel featuring a laid-back atmosphere with a beautiful, sunny courtyard complete with table tennis, gas BBQ, and plenty of spots to relax. There is also a large, open kitchen that's perfect for cooking and sharing your favorite meals and a comfy, spacious lounge with a big screen smart TV that you can stream Netflix on. FREE WIFI throughout building. Weekly dinners, barbecues, and Taco Crawls are conducted by helpful hostel staff. The Point Loma Hostel is located two miles from San Diego's famous Ocean Beach in the relaxed neighborhood of Point Loma. Ocean Beach and its accompanying nightlife, cafes, restaurants, shops and weekly Farmer's Market are just a short 5 min drive/bus ride or 20 min walk away. Nearby, Sea World and Mission Bay are just a 5 minute drive or 20 minute bus ride away. Balboa Park, with its museums and the world famous San Diego Zoo, and Downtown San Diego are 15 or 30 minutes away by car and bus respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego, Point Loma Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing