We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pendry San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Island Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
150
136
54
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
136
54
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgaslamp quarterprivate bathgreat locationdorm roomgreat kitchencommon areasfree breakfastclean sheetsstayed here for nightscentral locationfantastic staythe gas lamp districtenjoyed my staynoiseearplugsnightliferoommates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Exactly what you are looking for in a hostel. Super nice staff willing to help with their local knowledge. Things were clean and much better than I expected. They run a tight ship without being uncool about it. The no booze rule is little weird....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

We appreciate the compliments! We do work really hard to make sure the hostel we work at is one that we would like to stay in, too. With regards to the no alcohol rule, currently Hostelling International USA does not allow alcohol, this may change in the future, but it keeps us from having to police people in the hostel and check ID's. Thank you for your business and taking the time to review us! Safe travels and have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at the hostel for a week, we arrived on the 1st of May. The hostel was very clean, our room was spacious and comfortable overall exactly what we were looking for. However the staff exceeded all my expectations, they are so friendly and eager to help, they answered all our questions, gave us great tips that not only saved us money but really made our stay in San Diego the awesome experience it was. The location is also perfect, the hostel is right in the centre of Gaslamp, there are endless bars and restaurants in the surrounding area, it's a few minutes from the tram which runs to malls, little italy and old town San Diego, from Old Town you can easily make your way to the beaches and attractions like Balboa Park and Sea World. In the hostel lobby you'll find simple directions (made by the hostel staff) to get to the main attractions in San Diego and the surrounding areas, we used these a lot and found them so helpful. There's also a blackboard which is changed daily that gives the weather forecast, ideal activities to do that day, restaurant and bar recommendations etc.
The hostel itself is great, the location is perfect but it's all the little extras that really make it awesome. We didn't want to leave. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a nice place in the centre of town but particularly to those who don't know the area or are travelling for the first time, this is a definitely the place to go

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words and I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so well. Safe travels and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 5 days and interacted with many people - reception, room service, etc. This was a really good experience. If you are looking for a hostel, this is a great one. The employees are knowledgeable and friendly. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, you may be disappointed. The social atmosphere is good, location in SD is perfect for access to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

You're kind words are very nice to hear, and we are very happy to provide a good experience for you. We strive to ensure all our guests leave with a positive experience of Hostelling International and San Diego. Safe travels to you and I hope we can host you again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I've arrived at this hostel may 1st, probably the cleanest hostel i've seen in my life, staff very helpful especially if you need to store luggage before you are flying out or even take a shower, staff very helpful ( especially "Vo" who went out of his way to help us with nice dinner location). My only dissapointement is that you cant drink alcool anywhere wich makes the ambiance a little boring on a rainy nigth. But I do understand the positive side of it. Thanks to you guys and did I say it was clean and looking very nice??

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolling1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Your kind words are appreciated. A note about the alcohol policy: currently the Hostelling International (HI) hostels in the U.S. are alcohol-free, this is something that may change in the future but is currently out of our hands, unfortunately. Thank you again for your stay with us and taking the time to leave a review! Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I've stayed at the Downtown HI San Diego about 5 times now and I have always been treated very well...that's why I keep coming back. The staff is so helpful and full of fun. With the new renovations the hostel looks just awesome and the kitchen is state-of-the-art. The breakfast is served up with visual impact and the breads, cereals, and fresh fruit sure beats the pancake breakfasts that a lot of hostels provide. The mattresses on the bed are so comfortable you are guaranteed a great nights sleep. The hostel is kept very clean by a viigilent housekeeping staff and they are more than happy to supply you with any additional linens you might require. The neighborhood is happening and there are all kinds of restaurants, bars and coffee shops where you can sit outdoors and enjoy people watching. I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you so much for your business and kind words. We are happy to host you, and we'll see you on your next trip to San Diego. Safe travels to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews