We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Metz, France
1 review
“San Diego”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stay here on my vacation last month and it was very nice. The staff is friendly and it is cleaned. There is a good location for the hostel with lots of good places near it. I met some very nice people in the hostel. Would like to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFMetz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels and we hope to host you next time you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    132
    50
    16
    9
See reviews for
10
64
113
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a private room with a shared bath. This hostel has a pool table & a beautiful kitchen! Staff was helpful, place was clean. It is right in the center of gaslamp district which is a big partying part of town. This being said, they do not share in the parties. No alcohol allowed on the premises. Breakfast options were bread, peanut butter, jelly, oatmeal, cereal and some fruit. Now we were there on NYE & the surroundings were busy & loud way into the early morning. This did not bother us but for people more sensitive to noise, keep this is mind:)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mybell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and future guests your insight. Happy New Year to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Amazing hostel!
Localization: the best in San Diego (Gaslamp)
Very clean, organized. The staff is polite and helpful.The price is little expensive for a hostel, but it 's faire. I strongly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato_Santoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Renato, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so well! Safe travels and a Happy New Year to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Bars and restaurants right outside the door to the hostel! Lots of noise, so ask for an inside room if you need more quiet, but just a wonderful location in an old building with lots of character. Don't look for a spotless "perfect" hotel experience here, but for people who love the hostel experience and know what to expect, this cannot be beat! Ask for a look around first if you're in town and curious, the staff will be glad to help. I stay here every year when in town for a conference, and I'd do it even if the room wasn't half the cost of the conference location.

Room Tip: GO for inside rooms for the quiet, and go for a private room (with AC) if you need it. I prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your continued support and taking the time to leave a review. Safe travels and a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

As middle-aged adults, my wife and I have stayed here more times than I can count. The availability of private, en suite rooms and a Gaslamp Quarter location that can't be beat are the foundation. The staff have always, over the years, been great. (But oh how I miss the make-your-own pancakes.)

Travelers unfamiliar with the hosteling experience may need to adjust their expectations to the laid-back vibe. Hope for an interior room away from 5th or Market Streets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JimM529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Always happy to host return guests! No need to hope for an interior room; we will do our best to fill this request as long as it is made in advance! Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
443 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

If you want to be near nightlife then this is a good location its right in the heart of the gaslamp quarter of san diego. The issues i have with this place is that there is no free parking for cars you have to pay cityrates for your car which can be easily $15/day. Also, noise is a constant issue from the outside environment. However, location wise its very near the trolley stop so its easy to get around san diego without a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Greetings and thank you for your stay (and taking the time to leave a review!). Parking is definitely at a premium in the downtown area of San Diego. We are fortunate to have several lots/garages in a very close vicinity to our building that will charge you on average between $12-$20/day (while most hotels downtown charge about $35/day!). Whenever possible, I do strongly recommend people leave the car at home and take the bountiful public transit that is within blocks of our front door. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great staff, very friendly and helpful with finding my way around the city. I was very pleased with their service.

On arrival they let me check in early and gave me my keys, they also provided maps and explained to me I could get discounted zoo tickets from them. I unpacked my bags and returned to reception to take them up on the offer. They told me which trams to get and when they would be coming.

I would stay at this Hostel again, though it was cheap and cheerful, the staff made my stay so much better after a long trip from Flagstaff

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for the kind words, and I hope we can host you again in the future! Safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego Downtown

Property: Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Address: 521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re here to help you with the most central and accessible hostel in San Diego. Let our award winning staff ensure you receive the most comfortable and enjoyable hostel stay you’ve ever had. We offer a myriad of free tours and activities, and all of our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing