We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, facilities, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lima
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hostel, facilities, location”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, having no idea about the location and definitely chose wisely - a stones throw from the beach in a really cool, laid back district with plenty of bars and cafes.

The hostel has a good-sized well equipped kitchen with plenty of free breakfast (pancakes, toast, tinned fruit, eggs) the rooms are clean and cleaned regularly and there is plenty of storage for stuff in the dorms.

Staff are friendly and always around to offer advice, including useful printed directions and bus routes for getting to various areas of the city, airport, Greyhound terminal etc.

The only issue I had was that there was no running water when I arrived due to the plumbing BUT the hostel apologised massively and offered free nights accommodation - in the end I'm glad I stayed put as the problem was sorted and I could enjoy the hot and powerful showers (...not always the norm in hostels)

Recommended!

Room Tip: I chose a 6 bed (3 bunkbed) girls dorm which was nice. A heater was available as one night was prett...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank HolFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    78
    25
    13
    15
See reviews for
12
43
225
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Rochelle, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent a month at OBI and I can assure you this is a great place !! We met the best people ever at this place, the staff is awesome too and they have lots of free stuff too, specially an amazing free breakfast ! Totally worth it and highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, great help even on the phone requiring info. Some nights with great food deals! Awesome chef. Location is perfect. Close to beach, shops, restaurants. Everything is possible to do by public transport. Take a day pass if you go to La Jolla. 7 dllrs vs 4x $2.25

But the best is the room with the bed and the curtains for your privacy as well as the awesome mattresses!!!

Well def return again! Very clean hostel with great atmosphere

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This hostel is awesome, the people are awesome, the neighborhood is a place you want to visit, the staff here is really good, the bedrooms have extremely comfortable beds, the bathroom is clean and it has a lot of showers and toilets. Book this hostel!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yuri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Came here during Christmas 2011 and had an absolute blast. Great people, great scenery and lots to do around the area. I enjoyed the free breakfast and BBQ nights! We also had a bonfire night too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Loved this hostel! Was next to beach! Brilliant shops around very arty an brilliant for a relaxing travel. Easy to get to main city via bus at top of road. Colourful and such a chill relaxed environment free meal on some nights! Recommend this hostel! Also free pancakes!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hostel facilities are great, people were lovely plenty of activites and ways to meet people. Staff were helpful and went out of their to help you. Overall place is clean friendly and provide free meal some nights. I'll be back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels Ocean Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels Ocean Beach

Property: USA Hostels Ocean Beach
Address: 4961 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3112 (Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels Ocean Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beach just 2 blocks away, a newly remodeled hostel with all new rooms, beds, and hang out space, and a free shuttle to area attractions and downtown, there’s no better beach choice than us! Formerly Ocean Beach International Hostel, now with new owners and new management, you get the best of the Ocean Beach vibe and the amenities that USA Hostels is known for. You’ll make great memories here as we have loads of activities designed to help you make new friends and have new experiences. Join us for our beach bonfire with hot dogs and s’mores, show us your beer pong skills or relax after a day of sun and sand at our ‘family dinner’. If you want a beach break we’ll take you to the Zoo, SeaWorld, Downtown or La Jolla and even drop you off at the airport for free! Our dorm rooms feature USA Hostels exclusively-designed ‘privacy pods’ that not only provide screening from roommates but a reading light, shelf, usb plug and outlet. Free security lockers are also provided. Most rooms have a sink and some rooms are with full bath. Amenities include a FREE shuttle to the Zoo, SeaWorld and downtown. We loan out beach gear and have low cost rentals to try your hand at surfing too. We’re surrounded by restaurants, bars and shopping in the heart of Ocean Beach but also have plenty going on at the hostel to keep guests busy. Check out our list of activities and amenities below: Hostel Activities: • 4x a week free shuttle to the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, USA Hostels downtown Gaslamp location and airport • La Jolla free shuttle twice a week • Beach bonfire 2x a week with free hot dogs and American camp fave S’mores • Weekly Beer Pong tournament • Coastal bike ride tour twice weekly • Yoga class twice weekly • Weekly farmers market • Pub crawl twice weekly • Hostel dinner nights FREE Amenities including: • Daily breakfast of baked goods, oatmeal, fresh juices, fresh fruit, coffee/tea and more • WiFi • Lockers • Bed linens and bath towels • Beach towels/mats, umbrellas, chairs and coolers • Guitars, board games and foozball Discounted: • Surf lessons • Wet suit rental • Bike rental • San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Harbor Cruise tix ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your USA Hostels Ocean Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach International Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing