We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Ranked #70 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Holtville, United States
1 review
“Happy Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others. The rooms were very clean (including carpet), soft comfortable queen size beds and pillows. The staff at the front desk were courteous and helpful. There was also plenty of parking. Although we didn't get a chance to use the pool I could see it from my window and it looked very nice and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay via TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you enjoyed your guest room and our amenities. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    368
    150
    59
    40
See reviews for
310
205
52
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I rate one star overall because in this day and age, in this type of hotel, it is beyond inexcusable to have such an archaic business center. While that may seem harsh, I put it to you this way: how would rate a hotel where the bathroom did not work? Or you were on the 10th floor and there was no elevator? These are fundamental services these days - these are the tickets of entry for these types of properties. To not have them properly set up is indeed no different than a broken bathroom.

Let me say this, it is a "nice" center. It is pretty and clean. But we need it to work, yes? However, as I have seen with some corporate hotels, they are so petrified of anything harming the computer as it would be an expense to fix it, that they are so over the top locked down as to make them unusable. A simple task such as confirming and printing baseball tickets was completely impossible as the email filters would only show the headers of those emails. It took me over 30 minutes, using my own lap top, saving the tickets as a pdf on my own computer, sending a new email with that as an attachment to print that I well assure you that my wife or any other person who does not know work arounds would have found it completely impossible. So for most people, it would not have worked at all.

Further, albeit not a deal breaker, if you are not actively putting key inputs the computers completely shut you out every 60 seconds and you have to start whatever it was you were doing, all over again.

This business center is of little use other than printing your plane boarding passes.

I have stayed in holiday inns with better centers.

All of that said, the property is "pretty," the rooms adequate, and the coffee bar is nice. It seems appropriately priced if you ignore the essentially useless lack of computer/printer/business center access. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE ON BUSINESS for those reasons. You will be shut out of Outlook... don't even get me started about remote server.

I am rating service and value as terrible - because again - how would you rate a hotel you spent $250 for a night that the bathroom was broken in? It is a fundamental failure. IF the center actually worked, I would say this property is appropriately priced, in comparison to other hotels in the area, for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonTravel_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orcutt, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I would have given this hotel a high rating but they only offer free wifi for certain room packages. And you have to pay to park or get lucky and find parking on the street. Otherwise the hotel itself is nice. The rooms are updated and spacious. The bed was really comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 310shawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We do offer packages that include internet and parking. We hope you will stay with us again when you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I like the hotel, first level is so nice and the location is perfect; but he first day (friday)roomcleaner,OMG poor, do not know if is the same cleaner on the next day, because on Saturday totally diferent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We value your feedback and will be sharing it with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have only positive things to say about our stay. You know things will be good when the first thing they do is hand you a warm, melty, soft chocolate chip cookie. That was delicious. And you can ask for one at any time. Its a really nice looking hotel. The pool are is nice and big. Plus, they have an indoor pool that's opened 24 hrs! We had the room with 2 queen sized beds. It was just the right amount of space we needed. They offer complimentary toothbrushes, combs, sewing kits, razors, shaving cream, deodorant, etc. It is located near many stores and restaurants and the trolley stop is right in front which can take you to DTSD and the Qualcomm Stadium. I loved this hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your fabulous review! We are happy that you and your friends had a wonderful time at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I dont know how booked your room,because they offer you for extra cost pool view,late checkout,late check in,aplience inside your room, looks like if you dont pay extra, you will get the worse room. In my last trip the bhatroom was dirty under the seat cove and the air exhaust.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Genaro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your sharing your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we will be sharing your review with our staff to help improve the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The restaurant was way to expensive to eat at, even for breakfast and the coffee house was way to expensive for a breakfast sandwich and a sandwich for lunch. a five minute walk to a Starbucks was much cheaper and the breakfast sandwich was better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank 955sherrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will share your review with our staff. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Address: 7450 Hazard Center Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-4539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#35 Green Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#65 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley is the premier hotel in Mission Valley and is centrally located between Hotel Circle and Qualcomm Stadium, home of the San Diego Chargers. Boasting beautiful newly renovated guestrooms with a California casual design paying homage to the nearby world famous beaches. The renovation included new beds and mattresses, new carpet and vinyl wall coverings, a unified and highly functional desk, dresser & hospitality unit, new chairs and drapery, new lighting and colorful art from a local photographer, 37” flat screen TV’s, and new exterior double pane windows and balcony doors to soundproof any highway noise. Each oversized guest room is amply appointed for the business or leisure traveler.Relax by our sparkling outdoor pool and whirlpool surrounded by tropical palms. Also enjoy our indoor lap pool and 24-hour Precor Fitness Center with cardio and resistance training. Start your day off right with a delicious breakfast in Fountain Café featuring a Mediterranean-influenced atmosphere. Also dine in Windows Lounge overlooking the pool patio where you can grab lunch, dinner or just a cocktail while catching your favorite game on one of our many flat screen TV’s. Our hotel is also perfect for your next meeting or private function, with 17,889 square feet of banquet space. Our friendly, accommodating team looks forward to welcoming you with our signature, warm DoubleTree by Hilton Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookie at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel San Diego
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree
Doubletree Mission Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing